Moving Goats Around

27 Feb

I am once again moving goats around.  This time it is to get ready for March kids.  We won’t be waiting much longer before they get here.

Gidget and Blaze

Gidget and Blaze

I’m especially worried about Gidget.  She’s not due for three weeks, but it feels like she’s completely lost her ligaments.  She should wait for at least two weeks before she even thinks about kidding.

Pregnant doe_2199ews

When I took the girls that were still with boys and let them out into the main herd, it caused all kinds of chaos.  You’d never know that they are friends.

head butt collage

Betty Lou butting Wanda

Everyone was fighting and bouncing.

goats playing_2082ews

Moose bouncing in front; Sallie and Casey fighting in back.

The boys were a lot nicer than the girls.  I put Boeris up with Fionn.  It was just a couple of pushes.

Boeris (back) and Fionn

Boeris (back) and Fionn

Then Fionn went back to his lazy day.

buck_2436ews

The two little bucks were fighting more than the big boys.  You can see the video of their fight HERE.

After fighting and wandering out in pasture, the girls came back up and rested.  I love the details on Bambi’s face.

Bambi

Bambi

She is such a pretty girl.  Finally, here’s one of PJ as the photographer’s choice.

PJ

PJ

I figure I can’t go wrong with that!

Tomorrow I need to finish rearranging goats to prepare for the next little ones.  Hopefully it will still be a couple of weeks, but I figure I better be prepared.

If you want, there’s still time to join in on Friday’s Hunt.  The items are at the top of my sidebar.

Scavenger Hunt Sunday items in bold.  I’m also sharing with Fun Friday Favorites, Camera Critters, and Saturday’s Critters.

30 Responses to “Moving Goats Around”

  1. brokenteepee February 27, 2016 at 6:02 pm #

    I’ll have to live babies through you this year…..

    • Teresa February 27, 2016 at 6:03 pm #

      I hope Gidget waits. I’m really nervous about how early they would be if she has them now. Then you can kid vicariously!

  2. treadway February 27, 2016 at 7:01 pm #

    I bet you felt like you were at/in a three-ring circus for a while!

    • Teresa February 27, 2016 at 7:16 pm #

      I always feel like I’m living in a three-ring circus. LOL

  3. Jeanne February 27, 2016 at 8:09 pm #

    Enjoyed the video — their horns really clash and crash!

    • Teresa February 27, 2016 at 9:07 pm #

      These two were mostly playing. The big boys are really impressive when they fight. Glad my big boys are lovers, not fighters.

  4. Jim February 27, 2016 at 8:38 pm #

    I feel that PJ is the youngest, she is sooo very cute. Don’t work too hard. I never realized what all kind of work goes into raising goats.
    ..

    • Teresa February 27, 2016 at 9:08 pm #

      PJ is one of the twins born last month. Definitely the toungest. They do take a lot of work.

  5. brokenbarn February 27, 2016 at 9:01 pm #

    PJ is so cute! Hope everyone waits a few more weeks. Let me know if you need help checking during the week.

    • Teresa February 27, 2016 at 9:06 pm #

      Thanks. Mom will be around to check, but she might call if someone needs help.

  6. Margaret February 28, 2016 at 2:26 am #

    Well the circus act all seem to work well. I see you have the letter ‘T’ on Bambi! They are all gorgeous even when fighting.

    • Teresa February 28, 2016 at 7:21 am #

      Well, I’m not sure about the well part, but it does all seem to work out somehow.

  7. Eileen February 28, 2016 at 5:47 am #

    Hello, they are all so cute! I hope all goes well with Gidget! I am looking forward to see all the adorable kids. Thank you for linking up and sharing your post. Happy Sunday, enjoy your new week ahead!

    • Teresa February 28, 2016 at 7:21 am #

      I am looking forward to kids too, but I do hope Gidget waits at least two more weeks.

  8. Tamar February 28, 2016 at 8:16 am #

    How exciting to be having new kids soon!

    • Teresa February 28, 2016 at 8:46 am #

      It is. I just hope it isn’t too soon.

  9. Andrea February 28, 2016 at 8:49 am #

    They are so sweet and goofy and pretty and cute all at the same time. How can not smile when visiting with goats?

    • Teresa February 28, 2016 at 9:20 am #

      I agree! They do make me smile.

  10. Täysin arkista February 28, 2016 at 11:03 am #

    These all picture could have been put under topic Sillies. Spring is a funny time for animals as well as for humans. Hope Fionn sees something from under that grand bang. And all goes well for Gidget.

    • Teresa February 28, 2016 at 11:35 am #

      They were beyond silly yesterday. They were absolutely crazy!

  11. Mama Zen February 28, 2016 at 11:51 am #

    What fun pictures!

  12. treesidealpacas February 28, 2016 at 5:32 pm #

    Seems like you had such a hectic but enjoyable day 🙂 good luck with kidding!

    • Teresa February 28, 2016 at 7:41 pm #

      Weekends are always busy, since that’s when I get most of my farm work done. I am very anxious to have a good kidding season this year.

  13. Abrianna February 28, 2016 at 6:17 pm #

    PJ sure is cute. Great butting shots too.

    • Teresa February 28, 2016 at 7:23 pm #

      Thanks. I really wish PJ were a girl. Then I could keep him.

  14. jesh stg February 28, 2016 at 7:07 pm #

    Love your take on the Scavenger hunt! The butting makes for great pics:) The last 2 pics are priceless:)

  15. pattisj March 8, 2016 at 10:49 pm #

    They all look wound up–except for Fionn. He looks rather relaxed through it all. Bambi does have pretty markings. Hoping with you Gidget waits a bit longer.

    • Teresa March 9, 2016 at 8:51 pm #

      Fionn is a pretty mellow dude. Gidget is still waiting! That’s a good thing.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

