Lines

24 Feb

For those that wanted a family tree of my goats, I don’t think that’s possible.  It would look like a knotted ball of yarn, but I can give you some about the different lines I have here.

I often refer to my original five Saanen girls.  They along with a mini-Nubian cross named Mabel were my first girls that I bred.  I still have two of them, but none of them are having babies anymore.  Two years after their arrival, I expanded by buying three adorable Boer doelings.  All of my girls since have come from these girls (with the exception of Coffee who moved here several years ago).  With buying Sam and losing Coffee, I’ve been thinking about who to keep and who to breed to whom, and I really want to make sure I keep all of those lines going forward.

Sam Goodberry

Sam Goodberry

I reviewed my records and I found that some lines I have several branches, while some are really pretty sparse.  You can sort of keep track of family lines by the last name.  All of them with the last name of van de Yell come from Boeris.

Boeris van de Yell

Boeris van de Yell

Mabel:  Mabel had Lily, whom I have but she’s retired.  I also kept Lily’s daughter, Dolly.  Dolly is in my group of four girls that are the oldest I bred this year. She looks good and raises big beautiful kids, and she should have Fionn babies in March.

doe goat

Lily Osboer

doe goat

Dolly Ann Street

I kept her daughters, Pistol and Vinnie.  Of course Pistol just had my oopsie babies at the end of January.

Pistol Osboer

Pistol Osboer

Vinnie

Vinnie Osboer

I have kept daughters from Pistol and Vinnie, but they have horrible feet.  I won’t continue that forward, so I can’t keep any of their kids.  That means, I need to make sure I keep a girl from Dolly, Pistol or Vinnie to continue this line.

Coral

Coral

Clover

Clover

Victoria and kids

Victoria and kids

Mabel also gave me my dear Flower Bud.

Flower and Bud

Flower and Bud Osboer

Millie:  I’ve kept three of Millie’s daughters.  Pebbles gave me Penny, Sugar, and Cinnamon.

Penny Blackboer

Penny Blackboer

Sugar

Sugar Osboer

Cinnamon

Cinnamon Blackboer

They are all three still here and having kids.  As of yet, I haven’t kept any of their kids.  Joe was Millie’s next girl I kept.  Joe was the sweetest girl, but her feet were horrible.  Even though I’ve kept her girl, Joani, I don’t want to continue those bad feet (which is also how Pistol and Vinnie’s kids got bad feet).

Joani

Joani van de Yell

Finally, I kept Bambi.  She is a higher percentage dairy, so I want to put her with Sam to get a sweet dairy doe.  That will have to wait until next year when Sam is a bit more mature.

Bambi

Bambi Blackboer

And then there’s Millie’s boy, Myson.

Wether Pot_7217ew

Myson Osboer

Minnie:  Minnie is our herd queen.

Saanen doe_8615ew

Minnie Pearl Saanen

I’ve only ever kept one girl from her, Betty Lou.  Betty Lou retired two years ago.

Betty Lou

Betty Lou Street

That means, Helen is the only girl I kept from Betty Lou.  This summer I weaned Helen’s two girls fairly early because her hips were bothering her.  I won’t breed her again.  That means I have to keep either Hilda or Hazel to continue this line.

Doe and kids_0461ews

Hilda and Hazel van de Yell and Helen Osboer

Maddie:  She was a miracle baby.  I don’t know how she lived as sick as she was when she came to live with us, but she did.  I actually kept her boy, Goliath, who is Marley’s dad, Fionn’s grandpa, and Xerxes’s great-grandpa.

Buck goat_9784ew

Fionn Osboer

Xerxes

Xerxes Osboer (Coffee’s boy)

Each year, we have a lot of her descendents born on the farm, but in the goat world, it’s all about those mother-daughter lines, so that doesn’t count.  I did, however, keep her last twins, Stormy and Litha.

Stormy Sue Street

Stormy Sue Street

Litha

Litha May Street

From them, I’ve kept Litha’s girl Reva and Stormy’s girls Haley and Harley.  At some point, I will keep a girl from one of them.

Reva

Reva van de Yell

Harley Triplets_0216ew

Harley Blackboer (and triplets)

Haley Blackboer

Haley Blackboer

Cutie:  Cutie is no longer on the farm either.  I kept her girl, Pam.  Pam died from complications of kidding, but I had already kept a girl from her, Maisie.  Maisie’s only kid that I’ve kept is Moose, and he’s not going to continue any line.

Moose and Maisie

Moose Osboer and Maisie van de Yell

I also kept Vixen from Cutie.  This winter, I put her with Sam to try to get an adorable little girl to keep.  Hopefully, she’ll be sweet too.

Vixen

Vixen Osboer

Meg:  Meg is still here, but she retired.

Meg

Meg

I kept Jilly, but she died trying to have a huge Boeris baby.  I also have Meg’s daughter, Muffin, who will turn ten in June.  She’s retired, but her last year kidding, Muffin gave me exactly what I asked for, a beautiful Wanda.  Even though Wanda is almost all boer, I put her with Sam, and I will consider keeping her kid if she has a girl.

Muffin Jane Osboer

Muffin Jane Osboer

Wanda

Wanda Jane van de Yell

Scarlet:  Scarlet is another one that I kept a buck from (Marley), so we’ll always have her descendants here. I also have two of her daughters, Maggie and Cookie.  Maggie didn’t have kids last year, but I put her with Fionn for June.  Cookie is due to kid in March.  I also have Cookie’s triplet brother, Casey.

Basking Goat_1469ews

Maggie Osboer

pregnant doe goat

Cookie Blackboer

wether_0508aw

Casey Blackboer

Grace:  Grace was the goat that convinced me I never want to have February babies.  Her girls were born when it was horrible cold, and I could never get her filled up and had to give her girls bottles, and Grace never recovered.  I kept her doe, Kizzy.

Kizzy Kay Street

Kizzy Kay Street

Kizzy gives me those most gorgeous painted girls.  I’ve kept Bonnie, Blaze and Mary from her.

Blaze Blackboer

Blaze Blackboer

Bonnie and Ruby

Bonnie Blackboer and doeling Ruby

Mary and her kids

Mary van de Yell and her kids

Last year, I kept Blaze’s girl Gidget.  I’m guessing, I’ll end up falling in love with more of her grandkids too.

Gidget

Gidget van de Yell

Annie:  Annie gave me Fionn, my current main breeding buck.  The only girl I kept from her is Sallie.

Sallie

Sallie Blackboer

Of course, Sallie has the adorable Annie who gets to stay on the farm.

Polka Sallie Annie Osboer

Polka Sallie Annie Osboer

It’s amazing how much each line is unique and interconnected and so very special.  And that is all forty-five big goats on the farm.

I do hope you’ll come back on Friday to join me for Friday’s Hunt.  The items for this week are at the top of my sidebar.

I’m sharing with Warm Heart Wednesday.

39 Responses to “Lines”

  1. brokenbarn February 24, 2016 at 6:48 pm #

    This will be Madelyn’s Favorite blog of all time! She loves knowing all the connections, and I do too. This was a fun one for me to read!

    • Teresa February 24, 2016 at 7:34 pm #

      You have an unfair advantage of knowing who I’m talking about already. LOL

  2. Judith Rogers February 24, 2016 at 7:27 pm #

    Well, I got lost not far from the beginning so just enjoyed all the cute faces you were mentioning. I don’t know what bad feet in a goat look like but at least you know which goats not to continue with.

    • Teresa February 24, 2016 at 7:35 pm #

      Bad feet are not fun. It’s hard to keep them pain free from such fast growing hooves. As much as I adore those sweet girls, I can’t do that on purpose to any goat.

  3. Cloudia Charters February 24, 2016 at 8:44 pm #

    They have such personalities!

    • Teresa February 24, 2016 at 8:59 pm #

      They certainly do!

  4. brokenteepee February 24, 2016 at 9:17 pm #

    Pistol looks like – who me?
    It was great to learn the history of all of these goats I’ve gotten to know. I do love the polka dotted coloring.

    • Teresa February 24, 2016 at 9:23 pm #

      That was right after she had her oopsie babies. She still manages to look innocent though. LOL

  5. Muriel Gillespie Bryant February 24, 2016 at 9:46 pm #

    hard work done with great love, I so enjoy getting to “visit”

    • Teresa February 24, 2016 at 10:11 pm #

      Thanks, Mur. I do love them (even when they drive me crazy).

  6. pattisj February 24, 2016 at 10:31 pm #

    Gidget looks nice and sturdy. I love her colors, too. You’ve mentioned foot problems, what happens to their feet?

    • Teresa February 25, 2016 at 6:58 pm #

      They grow really fast and not properly. I can’t keep up with trimming them. Sometimes, if I take a tiny sliver off, they bleed like crazy. Other times I can cut a half inch off and it doesn’t do anything. I never know which it’s going to be. Poor Clover’s hooves twist on top of everything else. I have to trim hers way more frequently than any other goat out here.

      • pattisj February 25, 2016 at 10:18 pm #

        Thanks for explaining it to me.

  7. Jim February 24, 2016 at 11:11 pm #

    This looks like a roll call not to be outdone, Teresa. Thank you, I know you love all these critters.

    • Teresa February 25, 2016 at 6:58 pm #

      It’s quite the roll call!

  8. Tuesday February 25, 2016 at 5:11 am #

    Great post!!! When we bought our first girls we started keeping records immediately. Having just finished our first kidding all on our own, I see the importance even more so. (and yes yes yes – good feet are so important!!)

    • Teresa February 25, 2016 at 6:59 pm #

      Record-keeping is very important. Of course, that’s what my last names are for. It helps me keep their dads straight.

  9. Eileen February 25, 2016 at 6:46 am #

    Oh wow, they are all so cute! I just love the adorable kids. Great post. Happy Thursday, enjoy your day!

    • Teresa February 25, 2016 at 6:59 pm #

      Thanks, Eileen!

  10. Andrea February 25, 2016 at 7:26 am #

    So many adorable photos, but that first is my absolute favourite!

    • Teresa February 25, 2016 at 7:00 pm #

      Sam is adorable! I wish he could stay this size instead of turning into a big, stinky buck. LOL

      • Andrea February 26, 2016 at 7:14 am #

        Haha! I was just telling my sweet, little 10 year old boy that. It’s so hard to imagine his voice changing, facial hair and body door. Oy!

      • Teresa February 27, 2016 at 7:52 am #

        It’s scary how fast it happens with our human kids too.

  11. Pondside February 25, 2016 at 9:27 am #

    They are all so sweet-faced, Theresa. Each picture cuter than the one before. They make me miss my goats so much. It’s been about three years now, but I still miss them. So much personality!

    • Teresa February 25, 2016 at 7:00 pm #

      I don’t know how I would live without goats now; although, I am slowly downsizing the herd (not that you can tell by this post).

  12. Africa far and wide February 25, 2016 at 11:51 am #

    Lot’s of personality there!

    • Teresa February 25, 2016 at 7:01 pm #

      It certainly is! Way more personality than I can handle some days.

  13. artmusedog February 25, 2016 at 3:14 pm #

    Your goats ‘Warm My Heart’! ~ and always very creative and loving photography ~ thanks ~

    Happy Week to you ~ ^_^

    • Teresa February 25, 2016 at 7:01 pm #

      Thanks. I have to admit, I went through the archives for all these pictures.

  14. Jeanne February 25, 2016 at 5:25 pm #

    Thanks for doing all that! I still don’t have them all straight, but at least I think I’m doing better! I’ll go over it again a few more times to check them out again. I didn’t realize that all of the lovely spotted ones came from … Kizzy? They’re all so beautiful!

    • Teresa February 25, 2016 at 7:02 pm #

      I actually think the spots come from Kizzy’s dad, but they are not as dramatic on a mostly white goat.

  15. treadway February 25, 2016 at 5:58 pm #

    Oh, my goodness, I would need a big board to get this straight and understand all the connections…I can see why you cannot do a family tree of them. But I did love seeing them all. Some of the them are just so gorgeous.

    thank you so much for taking the time to do this…

    • Teresa February 25, 2016 at 7:02 pm #

      I actually had started this post over the summer, so I just had to go find the pictures to add. It was a fun trip through the archives. Glad you liked it.

  16. Su-sieee! Mac February 25, 2016 at 6:13 pm #

    Wow! I’m impressed with how you have a handle on the goats’ lineage. I like all the names you gave them, which from the photos look like they match their personalities. You raise goats, take photos, and teach! Wowza.
    The View from the Top of the Ladder

    • Teresa February 25, 2016 at 7:03 pm #

      Most of them have names that truly suit their personalities (It took Pistol and Vinnie all of a few days to earn their names).

  17. Betty February 26, 2016 at 7:15 pm #

    Holy smokes…I’ve got so many questions. I’ll try to limit them. How long does a goat usually live? What was wrong with their feet? I’ll have to look at my son’s goats’ feet next time I’m over there. What do I look for? Do you remember all their names or do you have photos with their names to help? Betty

  18. Anne February 27, 2016 at 6:37 pm #

    My goodness your love of these beautiful creatures is so amazing. I love the share here and you certainly know your stuff. I am so fascinated by these beautiful critters. Thanks for the lovely photos and shared story. xo

    • Teresa February 27, 2016 at 7:16 pm #

      I do adore them. They deserve the best care that I can give them. Thanks so much for visiting.

  19. Jenny Matlock March 23, 2016 at 3:25 pm #

    Wow. Wow.

    An absolutely mind boggling post.

    Sam Goodberry caught my eye and held it through all the other photos that followed.

    I admire the care you take with your records and your goats!

    You are a heart warming person for sure!

    Thanks for linking to week 15.

    XOXOXOXO

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

