February Thaw

18 Feb

Our weather is really warming up.  That means mud.

barnyard_1776ews

At least it isn’t too bad where the goats eat.  It is, however, horrible by my big red gate.

gate_1842ews

I really need to do something with this area once we get past the spring muddy weather.

Gate_1797ews

Right now, it freezes to the ground and I can’t use it.  Then it’s horrible mud.  Then it freezes…

Gate_1798ews

In other news, I discovered a big gash in my muck boot.

muck boot_1801ews

Despite all the mud, it is nice to do chores when it’s a bit warmer.

Sunset_1782ews

I’m also enjoying the longer days.

Sunset_1785ews

I’ll really celebrate when we get to daylight savings time!

I do hope you’ll come back and join me for Friday’s Hunt tomorrow.  I have this week’s items listed at the top of my side bar.

I’m sharing today with Good Fences and Skywatch Friday.

32 Responses to “February Thaw”

  1. brokenteepee February 18, 2016 at 7:20 pm #

    I hate mud season

    • Teresa February 18, 2016 at 7:22 pm #

      Me too, but at least it means spring is getting closer.

  2. Mama Zen February 18, 2016 at 8:02 pm #

    I’ve dragged many a gate out of frozen mud!

    • Teresa February 18, 2016 at 8:05 pm #

      It’s such a mess, I can’t even get it opened. I used to have a brick there to set it on, but I can’t with the construction digging last fall. I will definitely try to make some improvement here this spring/summer.

  3. Peter B February 18, 2016 at 8:34 pm #

    Beautiful sky shots! I wonder if it would help to put some gravel down near the gate?

    • Teresa February 18, 2016 at 9:17 pm #

      I’m hoping to have grass there again, but it was just dug up last fall and didn’t have time for the grass to grow back. I still have a lot of dirt work to do from last year’s construction projects.

      • Jeanne February 22, 2016 at 3:10 am #

        Mud can be a real pain!

  4. daystarhomestead February 18, 2016 at 8:36 pm #

    I never thought I’d say it, but I too am ready for longer days!! I’ve always loved winter ( we don’t have much in Mississippi), but with all the little ones (goats) we have being born I’m just ready to get on with it!! Thankfully it’s not too cold tonight – we’re waiting on some now!!!😁😁

    • Teresa February 18, 2016 at 9:17 pm #

      Good luck with the kidding! I love my light in the evenings. After I get home from work, there just isn’t enough time to get everything done right now.

  5. Jim February 18, 2016 at 10:47 pm #

    Beautiful sky.
    Sydney – City and Suburbs

  6. ladyfi February 18, 2016 at 11:13 pm #

    It looks horribly muddy. Love those swirly skies!

    • Teresa February 19, 2016 at 10:15 pm #

      It is, but our winds today helped to start drying things out a tiny bit.

  7. Rajesh February 19, 2016 at 12:24 am #

    Gorgeous sunset

    • Teresa February 19, 2016 at 10:16 pm #

      Thank you, Rajesh.

  8. Margaret February 19, 2016 at 2:08 am #

    Love the light on the red gate and the sky shots. I am back from C Rica but very tired. Very long journey and not JPEG lag! I am back from C Rica but very tired. Very long journey and got jet lag!!

    • Teresa February 19, 2016 at 10:16 pm #

      Thanks. I’m glad to hear you made it home safely. I can hardly wait to see all the images you took there.

  9. TexWisGirl February 19, 2016 at 6:38 am #

    i’ve got a gash in my muck boot, too. just waiting for the next big rain to force me to change it. 🙂

    • Teresa February 19, 2016 at 10:16 pm #

      I finally found two boots without holes. They don’t match, but my socks are still dry tonight!

  10. Sherry in Texas February 19, 2016 at 9:03 am #

    I so miss ranchin’ but these are the days I don’t miss! Thanks for bringing back the memories of trompin’ through the mud and muck. LOL. I came by to link sorry I’ve missed it the last couple of weeks. I’ll be back later now that I’ve read the fine print. But I wanted to comment on your enchilada’s they look so good. An odd combination of ingredients never heard of lemon before but I’m game!
    Have a great day and don’t get too muddy! See ya later.

    • Teresa February 19, 2016 at 10:17 pm #

      Thanks. It’s not a strong lemon flavor, but it blends well with the other ingredients.

  11. Freda Mans February 19, 2016 at 3:55 pm #

    Beautiful formations and glow in the sky!

    • Teresa February 19, 2016 at 10:18 pm #

      It really was beautiful!

  12. pattisj February 19, 2016 at 4:21 pm #

    Beautiful skies. Sorry you have to deal with the mud–and a gash in your boot. I hope to link up with Friday’s Hunt, if we get home in time, Sunday. Hitting the road tonight, and I have so much yet to do. Just in case I don’t link up, you’ll know why.

    • Teresa February 19, 2016 at 10:18 pm #

      Well, it’s all a part of life on an Iowa farm. LOL I do hope you have safe travels!

      • pattisj February 20, 2016 at 12:37 am #

        Thanks!

  13. EG CameraGirl February 19, 2016 at 6:30 pm #

    Hopefully drier weather will be here soon!

    • Teresa February 19, 2016 at 10:19 pm #

      It was really windy today, and that has helped us to start drying out.

  14. Ida P. Krause February 19, 2016 at 8:26 pm #

    Now that’s some serious mucky stuff by your gate.
    Here is a link to my GF post:

    http://wishesdreamsandotherthings.blogspot.com/2016/02/good-fences-100-curlicue-cute.html

    Also in today’s WNF5 Post I linked your blog.

    • Teresa February 19, 2016 at 10:21 pm #

      It is. I guess you have to expect it when the snow melts so quickly. Thanks for the shout out!

  15. DBA Mountaineer February 21, 2016 at 6:24 am #

    it will be a bit challenge but you will love the incoming season…

    • Teresa February 21, 2016 at 12:43 pm #

      I am looking forward to grass growing and getting rid of some of this horrible mud.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

