The Down Time

16 Feb

I thought winter was supposed to be a farmer’s down time.  The season when they get to take it easy.

Goose_1758ews

Not!  If you have livestock, it takes a lot more work to take care of them in winter weather.  There’s always maintenance and preparing for the coming year.

Goose_1759ews

I would love to find some down time, but the only down here is on the birds.  Our crazy weather doesn’t help either.

Goose_1760ews

These pictures were taken on Sunday, and most of our snow has melted now.  In the next day or two, we’ll be back to mud.

I do hope you’ll consider coming back to join me for Friday’s Hunt.  I have the items for this week listed at the top of my sidebar.

I’m sharing today with Wild Bird Wednesday.

24 Responses to “The Down Time”

  1. Gattina February 17, 2016 at 2:15 am #

    “It’s time to say good bye” lalalala ! to the winter I think !

    • Teresa February 17, 2016 at 11:31 am #

      I am ready for spring, but I don’t want the mud. I’m a bit picky that way.

  2. Lea February 17, 2016 at 2:54 am #

    Nice photos!
    Hope we have an early Spring

  3. Eileen Wise February 17, 2016 at 4:06 am #

    I can see why winter is a bad time for the farmers. Especially if it is a snow winter. Love the goose. Enjoy your day!

    • Teresa February 17, 2016 at 11:31 am #

      Not necessarily bad, but it is still a busy time.

  4. Pondside February 17, 2016 at 8:19 am #

    I don’t think that a farmer ever has a down time. There seems to be something urgent or pending at every time of year.

    • Teresa February 17, 2016 at 11:31 am #

      That’s for sure!

  5. Mary Howell Cromer February 17, 2016 at 1:31 pm #

    How precious these endearing images are!!!

  6. Pat @ Mille Fiori Favoriti February 17, 2016 at 3:46 pm #

    I’m sure farmers and ranchers are most indebted to the weather all year round, Teresa, and always busy!
    This winter has brought unusual weather in Colorado. We had lots of early snow and now we have been warm–we may hit 70 this week! I’m sure winter will return, but I also hope our spring won’t be delayed.

    • Teresa February 17, 2016 at 5:53 pm #

      It’s this up and down; mud and freeze that is really wearing on my. Hard to do chores. Hope you get a real spring early!

  7. Alica February 17, 2016 at 4:02 pm #

    I hear ya! Hopefully you’ll be able to find at least a little down time somewhere, somehow!!

    • Teresa February 17, 2016 at 5:54 pm #

      I do. It’s just that chores are really a chore this time of year. Mud and snow are not fun as you well know.

  8. Jeanne February 17, 2016 at 9:08 pm #

    Very nice pictures! How much snow did you get? We had 67 degrees here on the western side of the Cascade Mountains of Oregon today. It was 62 at noon! Then it clouded over by 3:00 and started to rain! Definitely spring on the way! 🙂

    • Teresa February 17, 2016 at 10:15 pm #

      We had just three inches, but it’s disappearing already. I do hope spring is here so it will melt and get rid of the mud.

  9. pattisj February 17, 2016 at 11:29 pm #

    Those webbed feet must work pretty well in the snow.

    • Teresa February 18, 2016 at 12:31 pm #

      They are perfect snowshoes!

  10. Stewart Monckton February 18, 2016 at 5:32 am #

    Nice looking goose! In the winter (well, what passes as winter) I love our goose-down duvet!

    Cheers – Stewart M – Melbourne

    • Teresa February 18, 2016 at 12:31 pm #

      The geese stay out in all but the worst weather.

  11. jesh stg February 19, 2016 at 5:52 pm #

    Interesting pics of this bird braving the snow! Being a farmer is such a tricky business financially!

    • Teresa February 19, 2016 at 10:18 pm #

      The geese are quite hardy. They stay out in the worst weather.

  12. Marie-AZ February 22, 2016 at 10:15 am #

    Darling photos of the geese in the snow! Yes,I would imagine winter would be a really hard time on a farm!

    • Teresa February 22, 2016 at 11:40 am #

      The crazy temperature swings are the worst. It’s so hard on the animals.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

