Taxman!

15 Feb

Taxman

The Beatles

register_1771ews

Let me tell you how it will be
There’s one for you, nineteen for me
Cos I’m the taxman, yeah, I’m the taxman

Should five per cent appear too small
Be thankful I don’t take it all
Cos I’m the taxman, yeah I’m the taxman

Taxman_1768ews

If you drive a car, I’ll tax the street
If you try to sit, I’ll tax your seat
If you get too cold I’ll tax the heat
If you take a walk, I’ll tax your feet

Taxman!
Cos I’m the taxman, yeah I’m the taxman

Taxes_1773ews

Don’t ask me what I want it for (Aahh Mr. Wilson)
If you don’t want to pay some more (Aahh Mr. Heath)
Cos I’m the taxman, yeah, I’m the taxman

Now my advice for those who die
Declare the pennies on your eyes
Cos I’m the taxman, yeah, I’m the taxman

And you’re working for no one but me
Taxman!

Soap_1775ews

With my farm, I have to have my taxes done by March 1st.  I called and made my appointment the day after Thanksgiving, and 9pm on the day after Valentine’s Day is the first I could get an evening appointment.  Maybe I’ll try to make next year’s appointment while I’m there.

I’m obviously sharing today’s post with Song-ography.  Thanks to The Beatles and Taxman.  I am also sharing with Monday Mellow Yellow and Ruby Tuesday Too.

32 Responses to “Taxman!”

  1. brokenbarn February 15, 2016 at 5:52 pm #

    Nobody likes the taxman.

    • Teresa February 15, 2016 at 6:36 pm #

      I do actually like my taxman, but it worked well for the prompt. LOL With all my work on the farm last year, I’m hoping for a good return.

  2. Ralph Villers February 15, 2016 at 5:57 pm #

    Excellent song choice! George wrote few songs for the Fab Four, but this one is great! The highest marginal tax rates in the Harold Wilson UK back was 95%, hence ‘one for you, nineteen for me (UK)’. I believe Paul played lead guitar on this. The tax code in the US is wayyyyy too complex, and even with our tiny home-based business. Welcome to the world of 1099s…

    • Teresa February 15, 2016 at 6:37 pm #

      No kidding. I would never try to do them myself. At least with my off-farm job, it’s not like I have to pay in a whole bunch.

  3. Cloudia February 15, 2016 at 6:22 pm #

    Taxes are . . . . . .

    • Teresa February 15, 2016 at 6:38 pm #

      um…necessary?

  4. islandrambles February 15, 2016 at 8:47 pm #

    taxes are part of life, but I sure don’t like them, they are so complicated now.

  5. tomthebackroadstraveller February 15, 2016 at 9:07 pm #

    Love it…taxes and trash in the same day!

    • Crystal February 15, 2016 at 9:45 pm #

      HAHA I noticed that too made me chuckle!

    • Teresa February 15, 2016 at 10:21 pm #

      I have to write that on the calendar because in the country, my trash only gets picked up every other week. LOL

  6. Jackie February 15, 2016 at 9:47 pm #

    Yuck! One thing I have finally delegated to my husband after years of doing on my own now that we can split income.

    • Teresa February 15, 2016 at 10:22 pm #

      I would never try to do my own. I really do like the people that do my taxes, so that helps.

  7. pattisj February 15, 2016 at 10:21 pm #

    I don’t think I ever heard that song. I hope we can get tax reform. So many candidates want to do something about it, and make it simpler. That would be nice.

    • Teresa February 15, 2016 at 10:22 pm #

      I’m not really complaining about taxes. But I do wish the appointment hadn’t been so late.

  8. Shane February 16, 2016 at 12:00 am #

    I’m preparing our books for the tax department too – I know how you feel!
    Wonderful lyrics from the Beatles – perfect for your post Teresa!

    • Teresa February 16, 2016 at 8:53 am #

      It was a lot easier when I didn’t have a farm and small business, but I do love this life. It’s worth the extra paperwork.

  9. elizabethfstewart February 16, 2016 at 12:27 am #

    Taxes are near the top of the list of things I hate to do!

    • Teresa February 16, 2016 at 8:54 am #

      It’s not too bad. I have a small local business that does mine for me, so it’s nice and friendly.

  10. Jeanne February 16, 2016 at 1:25 am #

    Oh, yeah! Love those taxes! We do love our tax lady, though!

    • Teresa February 16, 2016 at 8:54 am #

      I’ve known my tax man for many years, and he’s a great guy!

  11. Tamar February 16, 2016 at 6:10 am #

    Good luck with your taxes!

    • Teresa February 16, 2016 at 8:54 am #

      Thanks. With all the work on the farm this year, it’s a good tax year for me.

  12. Eileen Wise February 16, 2016 at 6:22 am #

    I love all the Beatle’s songs. Hubby is working on our taxes. Good luck to you!
    Happy Tuesday, enjoy your day!

    • Teresa February 16, 2016 at 8:55 am #

      Thanks, Eileen. Hope yours aren’t too painful.

  13. Rajesh February 16, 2016 at 7:02 am #

    Who wants to pay tax?

    • Teresa February 16, 2016 at 8:55 am #

      Nobody, but we all like those good roads and clean water.

  14. Pondside February 16, 2016 at 8:27 am #

    One of the two certainties of life, as the saying goes ‘ death and taxes’. I dread the paperwork!

    • Teresa February 16, 2016 at 8:56 am #

      That’s for sure! I really need to get more organized throughout the year, and it would make this time easier, but it’s done!

  15. kmcblackburn February 16, 2016 at 9:04 am #

    Tax time…the most horrible time of the year! UGH. A necessary evil I guess. Thanks for sharing at song-ography.

    • Teresa February 16, 2016 at 1:09 pm #

      Yes! One of those things we have to do. At least we do benefit from taxes.

  16. Alica February 17, 2016 at 4:01 pm #

    We’re under the same tax deadline here. Every year I procrastinate, but this year for once I dropped everything off on February 4th at the accountant’s. I guess the one good thing out of this year’s low milk price is the low tax bill!

    • Teresa February 17, 2016 at 5:54 pm #

      There you go! It was not a good year for farming. That’s for sure.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

