Archive | 6:59 pm

Roving

14 Feb

Last July, right after Llenny was sheared, I took his fleece to a nearby alpaca farm that cleans and cards the fleece into roving.

llama_1728ews

llama_1730ews

llama collage

Well, I got it back over the weekend.

llama roving

I was really excited.  Then I didn’t know what to do with it.  Luckily I have a dear friend who is helping me with all those terms and things, so I am now dividing the roving into 4 or 8 oz bundles for sale.

llama Roving

Then I just have to have her price it for me.  Of course, I’ll be sending her a sample (to keep) in order for her to do that.  It’s the least I can do for her help.

Just so you know the dangers of being a farm blogger, I was trying to take Llenny’s picture with the help of Sallie and Victoria.

Sallie and Victoria

Sallie and Victoria

I put my hand out to try and keep them back, so I could still get my shot of Llenny, Sallie decided to chomp my finger.

Bite_1725ews

I mean a real chomp that I thought I was going to have to put the camera down and pry her mouth open.  That is not typical goat behavior.

Goat scratches collage

I guess she was just trying to tell me that she needed some chin scratches.

If you are interested in coming back to join me for Friday’s Hunt this week, I’ve updated my sidebar with the prompts.

Sharing with The Good. The Random. The Fun., Macro Monday, and Mosaic Monday.