Friday’s Hunt v1.7

12 Feb

Welcome back to Friday’s Hunt.  I want to thank everyone who joined in last week.  I had a lot of fun visiting everyone who linked up.  I’m excited for week seven!  It’s very simple.  Anyone can participate.  The link opens at 7pm Central time and will close Sunday at 7pm, so you have plenty of time to enter. Hopefully, you’ll be inspired to visit some of the other entries.

If you didn’t participate this week but would like to next week, the topics will be:  Starts with H, Week’s Favorite, and family.  I will always keep a list of the items for the coming week in my sidebar at the top. Without furthur ado, here’s my interpretations for the week.

Starts with G:  Yeah.  I could be obvious and go with goat, but I think I’ll do geese instead!

Geese_1454ews

Geese_1483ews

Geese_1487ews

Weeks’ favorite:  I was going to share my favorite pictures of the pair of cardinals from earlier in the week,

Cardinal_1592ews

Cardinal_1598ews

but then I saw the robin again!  There were two of them!  Surely, that means spring is nearly here.

robin_1663ews

robin_1664ews

In my kitchen:  I tried a new recipe this week, lemony chicken enchiladas.

Enchiladas_1551ews

enchilada_1553ews

Enchilada_1556ews

The recipe:

Sauté:
•1/2 cup of peppers (I used bell peppers, but I want to try it with Anaheim chili peppers)
•1/2 cup diced onion
•two sliced chicken breasts (I used fake chicken, but it would work just as well with real chicken)

Add:
•2 Tbsp soy sauce
•2 Tbsp lemon juice

Mix in one cup of Ricotta cheese

Roll into flour tortillas and place in a sprayed baking dish.

Cover with enchalada sauce:
•1 pint tomato sauce (I used my homemade pizza sauce for half and homemade tomato sauce for the other half)
•1 cup vegetable stock (or chicken if you went with real chicken breasts)
•2 Tbsp flour
•1 Tbsp olive oil
•1 Tbsp chili powder
•dash of black pepper
•dash of onion powder

Mix and cover the enchaladas.  Bake at 375*F for thirty minutes.  Cover with cheese (I used a taco blend) and bake until it’s melted.

Now it’s your turn!

I’m also sharing with Bird d’Pot, Camera Critters, Saturday’s Critters and Fun Friday Favorites.

55 Responses to “Friday’s Hunt v1.7”

  1. Linda aka Crafty Gardener February 12, 2016 at 7:25 pm #

    Lucky you seeing a robin. Cardinals are my favourite bird. Have a good weekend.

    • Teresa February 12, 2016 at 7:45 pm #

      I’ve seen the robins regularly since Feb. 2.

  2. Ralph Villers February 12, 2016 at 7:35 pm #

    Love your choices this week! Geese are nice looking birds but they seem to be rather frenetic, so seeing them from afar (or on the web 🙂 seems a safer choice…we have a pair of cardinals in our yard, and they seem not to be concerned about the cold winter although I think they are dreaming abut the nest they’ll start building in a few weeks. The enchiladas look divine, and say to make. The gooey tortilla and filling looks as good as it tastes I’d imagine!

    • Teresa February 12, 2016 at 7:46 pm #

      Thanks, Ralph. The geese do seem to overflow with personality (or attitude) some days. LOL I still love them!

  3. EG CameraGirl February 12, 2016 at 7:45 pm #

    The enchilada recipe sounds really good!

    I haven’t seen a robin since last fall so I’m jealous!

    • Teresa February 12, 2016 at 7:47 pm #

      I was shocked to see one so early, and now I’ve seen them regularly.

  4. Lavender Cottage February 12, 2016 at 10:21 pm #

    Awesome photos of the cardinals and robins definitely signify spring to me. Your enchilada dish looks tasty, thanks for sharing the recipe.

    • Teresa February 12, 2016 at 10:40 pm #

      Thanks. I was excited to see the robin again!

  5. Abrianna February 12, 2016 at 10:34 pm #

    Finally got to link up! Wonderful shot of the female cardinal. I like that twist on the enchiladas-I shall have to try that sometime.

    • Teresa February 12, 2016 at 10:41 pm #

      Thanks so much for joining in!

  6. Cath February 12, 2016 at 10:38 pm #

    Hello Teresa….I love the Geese in the snow pic but wow those cardinals are my favourite….an unfamiliar but beautiful bird to me! Thanks for hosting…have a great week!

    • Teresa February 12, 2016 at 10:41 pm #

      Thanks, Cath! I love the cardinals. They are so cheerful in the winter.

      • Cath February 13, 2016 at 7:13 pm #

        Thanks for sharing this post at Fun Friday Favourites btw! I love your Friday Hunt but I will be absent for a couple of weeks while on hols……FYI my linky has been pre written and will be live on Fridays.

      • Teresa February 13, 2016 at 7:44 pm #

        I will try to remember! Enjoy your vacation!

  7. pattisj February 12, 2016 at 10:45 pm #

    You did surprise me with GEESE! I saw a LOT of robins on my recent hike at a state park. Yes, surely spring is coming! Thanks for hosting!

    • Teresa February 12, 2016 at 11:42 pm #

      Thanks for joining in. I figured the goats would be too obvious. LOL

      • pattisj February 12, 2016 at 11:44 pm #

        I was sure they were a given!

  8. Jeanne February 12, 2016 at 11:06 pm #

    Love the geese! All of the pictures are great! I’m still holding my breath (figuratively) to see how many of our usual summer birds we’ll have this summer, since the neighbor took out his giant fir tree.

    • Teresa February 12, 2016 at 11:43 pm #

      I do hope they come back and find another tree in the neighborhood.

  9. Jim February 13, 2016 at 12:42 am #

    You are very fortunate, Teresa, to have those birds around all winter, Geese, Robins, and Cardinals. I think the other day I saw a woodpecker also. Yours lot so fit, nice and clean. You must feed them corn. 🙂
    I will try your enchilada recipe. Is ‘fake chicken’ chicken that comes from a can. Our Karen calls biscuits from a can “fake biscuits” as opposed to the kind Mrs. Jim makes from scratch.
    ..

    • Teresa February 13, 2016 at 8:41 am #

      My geese eat corn with the goats, but I put out birdseed, sunflower and suet for the wild birds. On a good day, they also get dog food and peanuts. The fake chicken is actually vegetarian plant-based chicken. LOL

  10. Täysin arkista February 13, 2016 at 1:27 am #

    I was so sure you G photo would be goats. Awesome bird photos, both geese and little birdies in favorites. Your kitchen snaps look delicious.

    • Teresa February 13, 2016 at 8:42 am #

      Thanks. I thought goat was a bit too obvious. The geese don’t make the blog as often. I’m glad you joined in this week.

  11. Gattina February 13, 2016 at 1:47 am #

    I would have preferred goats instead geese, but they are nice too 🙂 ! The Cardinal has a hippie look and your chicken looks very yummy !

    • Teresa February 13, 2016 at 8:42 am #

      Well, I have to give the geese a little blog time once in a while. I’m sure I’ll have more goat pictures soon.

  12. Anonymous February 13, 2016 at 5:12 am #

    i’m going to have to try that recipe soon, it looks delicious! Not sure if I’m going to be able to linkup this weekend yet…we’ll see. We’re getting ready for some bitter cold weather and had some emergencies at our rental yesterday that took all day. 😦

    • Teresa February 13, 2016 at 8:43 am #

      Life certainly takes a priority to blogging. It’s so hard to get everything done and keep the animals safe/warm during those cold snaps.

  13. Eileen February 13, 2016 at 5:57 am #

    Hello Teresa, I love your cute geese, the beautiful Cardinals and Robins. Your dinner looks delicious! Thanks for hosting, Have a happy weekend!

    • Teresa February 13, 2016 at 8:43 am #

      Thanks. My son gave the recipe a thumb’s up, so I figured I could share it. Although, he is something of a human garbage disposal. LOL

  14. Pondside February 13, 2016 at 8:17 am #

    I love the geese photos! There is just something about geese……
    Thanks for the recipe. Someone at work brings this (or a dish that is very, very similar) to potlucks but hasn’t been willing to share the recipe. It is yummy!

    • Teresa February 13, 2016 at 8:44 am #

      Well, I hope you enjoy the dish. The geese do make me laugh. They really are funny creatures.

  15. Jackie February 13, 2016 at 9:31 am #

    Where to start? Geese, cardinals and robins!! Love when the robins first appear.
    Recipe looks good, I’m not a fan of enchiladas but this looks good.

    • Teresa February 13, 2016 at 1:03 pm #

      It’s pretty mild. You could always use less chili powder in the sauce too.

  16. Sallie (FullTime-Life) February 13, 2016 at 10:59 am #

    Your choices are just great … Seems like everybody I know is doing your hunt and it is wonderful, makes for such fun posts to read. I wish I weren’t so old and slow, I just can’t seem to get my act together for a challenge. But I love looking at what people come up with, so thank you for doing it! Your enchiladas look delicious. What kind of fake chicken are you using? I try to do a veg dinner a couple of times a week, although chicken is one of the meats I haven’t sworn off of (yet anyhow).

    • Teresa February 13, 2016 at 1:04 pm #

      Thanks, Sallie. Glad to hear you enjoy the Friday’s Hunt posts. I am having a lot of fun with it. I combined some of my favorite memes that have disappeared with the format of one of my current favorites.

  17. Gayle February 13, 2016 at 1:49 pm #

    The first group looks like a barbershop quartet.
    The week got away from me and I didn’t get in on the hunt after all :/

    • Teresa February 13, 2016 at 2:09 pm #

      They do know how to belt out a song with their loud voices! They certainly don’t sound as nice as a barbershop quartet though. 🙂

  18. Eileen February 13, 2016 at 4:10 pm #

    Hello, Teresa! I am just stopping back to say thank you for linking up and sharing your post. Have a happy weekend!

    • Teresa February 13, 2016 at 6:19 pm #

      My pleasure! Thanks for hosting each week.

  19. artmusedog February 13, 2016 at 5:48 pm #

    Gorgeous cardinal shots! Beautiful ~ ^_^ ~ Great ‘red’ color for holiday ^_^

    Happy Valentine’s Day ~ ^_^

    • Teresa February 13, 2016 at 6:19 pm #

      Thanks, Carol! They do stand out in this snowy weather.

  20. Mama Zen February 13, 2016 at 5:51 pm #

    The enchiladas look divine!

  21. Marie-AZ February 13, 2016 at 9:23 pm #

    Such gorgeous geese photos! And those other birds are just lovely as well. Yummy-looking enchiladas.

    • Teresa February 13, 2016 at 10:03 pm #

      Thanks, Marie!

  22. Anni @ I'd Rather B Birdin' February 14, 2016 at 4:15 am #

    Love the photos of the geese and other winter birds here today. They’re terrific, as always!!!! Also….you have me drooling with the enchilada dish….looks sooooo yummy.

    Thanks for sharing this terrific post for the weekend at I’d Rather B Birdin’.

    • Teresa February 14, 2016 at 8:20 am #

      Those cardinals were unusually cooperative. I’m usually trying to capture them through all th twigs in the bushes. Thanks for hosting each week, Anni.

  23. A Quiet Corner February 14, 2016 at 4:55 pm #

    Geese are such vocal and wonderful critters…sometimes a little too pushy though, don’t you agree? Love the shots of the “yard-birds”…:)JP

    • Teresa February 14, 2016 at 5:36 pm #

      They aren’t too bad except during the breeding season. Then I need one eye on them at all times. LOL

  24. brokenteepee February 14, 2016 at 7:44 pm #

    I so love cardinals and we don’t have them here. That flash of red is so heartening on a dull grey day.

    • Teresa February 14, 2016 at 7:57 pm #

      It really is! I’ve truly enjoyed them this last week when we’ve been so dreary.

  25. Claire Moxon-Waltz February 15, 2016 at 9:42 am #

    I think Marc would love that enchilada recipe. How many tortillas did you use in your pan? I think I can sort of count 8 lumps under the cheese, but not sure! I saw a robin in mid-January here and felt really bad for it – not at all normal for them to be this far north. I hoped to see it again and wanted to put out raisins for it but I only saw it that one day. There are a lot of rowan trees in the area so I hope it got enough fruit from those to keep going through our nasty winter.

    • Teresa February 15, 2016 at 12:19 pm #

      I used five large ones, but you could make them smaller too.

      I really hope spring is near, but I’m afraid the robin was a bit early.

  26. janicead February 15, 2016 at 7:36 pm #

    Wonderful feather photos and yum on the food.

    • Teresa February 15, 2016 at 7:41 pm #

      Thanks! The cardinals are not usually that cooperative, so it was nice.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

