How Sweet it Is

8 Feb

So I was wrong. (Don’t worry, I’m used to that.)  Bambi was not my last girl to come into heat.  This morning I thought I saw Fionn chasing Bonnie around, but she was hiding from him in the quonset hut.

Bonnie

Bonnie

When I went outside, Reva and Litha were obviously in heat.  Just ask my wethers.  I put them in with Fionn.

Litha, Fionn, and Reva

Litha, Fionn, and Reva

That made me wonder if Bonnie was in heat or Fionn was just reacting to the hormones in the air.

Buck and Doe_1211ews

Well, Reva was being mean to Bonnie, so I put her in with Sam.  Sam instantly fell in love, so Bonnie was also in heat.  I don’t know who’s kids she’s going to have now (or both).

Sam Goodberry

Sam Goodberry

Then I decided I better try to figure out if I missed anyone else. There were a lot of jumpy girls with me feeling their udders to see if they were starting to get one.

Stormy Sue Street

Stormy Sue Street

It turns out I believe Cinnamon and Mary did not get bred either.  I managed to catch Cinnamon and put her with Fionn.

Cinnamon Street

Cinnamon Street

The next day I caught Mary and put her up there too.

Mary van de Yell

Mary van de Yell

She’s not easy to lead.

I hope you’ll come back and join me for Friday’s Hunt.  The items for this week are at the top of my sidebar.

This week’s Song-ography song is How Sweet it Is by James Taylor.  I’m also sharing with The Good. The Random. The Fun..

22 Responses to “How Sweet it Is”

  1. pattisj February 8, 2016 at 7:14 pm #

    There’s a whole lot of love going on out there! Must be Cupid. 😉

    • Teresa February 8, 2016 at 7:21 pm #

      Lotta lovin’ goin’ on!

  2. Tamar February 8, 2016 at 7:27 pm #

    Love is in the air!

    • Teresa February 8, 2016 at 7:31 pm #

      It certainly is!

  3. Pondside February 8, 2016 at 10:07 pm #

    Oh you are going to be very very busy at kidding time!

    • Teresa February 9, 2016 at 6:33 am #

      Sadly, they are really spread out, so it will be a long slow kidding. I much prefer to have the clustered together (a sleepless week and then we’re done).

  4. Jeanne February 9, 2016 at 12:25 am #

    Oh dear me! Has this sort of thing ever happened before? Can’t have the moms going unbred! I hope they work things out, quickly!,

    Good luck with it all,h

    • Teresa February 9, 2016 at 6:33 am #

      I just didn’t see them coming back into heat, or I would have put them with him again sooner. Crazy weather is to blame.

  5. Gayle February 9, 2016 at 6:06 am #

    Those kids do keep you hopping!

    • Teresa February 9, 2016 at 6:34 am #

      That’s for sure!

  6. Anonymous February 9, 2016 at 9:03 am #

    I like seeing the names of your goats…and every time I see one with the name van de Yell attached, I just have to laugh, because it reminds me of how Jenna’s goats used to yell, and yell and yell some more if they wanted something. Anything. Food, attention, etc.

    • Alica February 9, 2016 at 9:03 am #

      Oops…that was me. Somehow I got signed out! 🙂

      • Teresa February 9, 2016 at 10:43 am #

        After so many years, I can usually tell who it is even when it’s an anonymous comment. LOL

    • Teresa February 9, 2016 at 10:42 am #

      Boeris was really vocal when he came to the farm, so he earned that last name. LOL

  7. tomthebackroadstraveller February 9, 2016 at 10:03 am #

    love is in the air

    • Teresa February 9, 2016 at 10:43 am #

      It certainly is!

  8. Jim February 9, 2016 at 11:21 am #

    You are doing great! If it weren’t for Mama Teresa there wouldn’t be any baby goats or kids running around at Eden Hills. Keep it up.
    p.s. We were gone last week on a Caribbean cruise but my Friday Hunt auto posted at midnight anyway. Thursday I am scheduled for St. Luke’s, Houston, for a cardio procedure as my AAA stent graft has sprung as leak and needs to be repaired/sealed. They may keep me overnight but I will bring a laptop and iPad. And Mrs. Jim
    ,,

    • Teresa February 9, 2016 at 11:29 am #

      Take care of yourself! I do hope things go well with the procedure.

  9. A Quiet Corner February 9, 2016 at 2:35 pm #

    Oh, I just love reading about all these “tails”…my BFF in VA had goats (although they didn’t breed them) that they rescued. One was the “watch dog” and greeted anyone who came up the driveway!!…:)JP

    • Teresa February 9, 2016 at 2:57 pm #

      Goats are very good greeters. LOL

  10. Abrianna February 13, 2016 at 5:03 pm #

    Sweet shots of them loving on each other and sam Goodberry looks quite content indeed.

    • Teresa February 13, 2016 at 6:19 pm #

      Sam is a good boy.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

