Saturday’s Birds

6 Feb

I quit putting birdseed out for a few days until I figured out how Vixen and Sam and Wanda would handle being in the yard. They don’t seem to come up front very much or pay attention to the feeders, so I filled them again.

Cardinal_1147ews

Downy Woodpecker_1132aws

Downy_1172aws

junco_1196aws

nuthatch collage aw

Nuthatch sparrow_1197aws

It didn’t take the birds long to figure it out.

If you want to join me for Friday’s Hunt, there’s still time to join in.  The items are at the top of my sidebar.

Sharing with Bird d’Pot and SOOC Sunday (all but the cardinal are SOOC).

20 Responses to “Saturday’s Birds”

  1. Erika February 6, 2016 at 6:29 pm #

    Nice pictures, I like the last one best. I hope your snow is melting, except if I heard right your getting more. What a winter for you all.

    • Teresa February 6, 2016 at 7:12 pm #

      Thanks. I think the latest is rain turning to snow on Monday. I’m not sure we’re supposed to get a lot though.

  2. Anonymous February 6, 2016 at 7:03 pm #

    We don’t have those birdies here – what are they?

    • Teresa February 6, 2016 at 7:11 pm #

      In order they are cardinal, downy woodpecker, downy woodpecker, junco, nuthatch, and the last is a nuthatch with the sparrow at the top.

  3. Eileen February 7, 2016 at 6:43 am #

    Hello, pretty collection of birds. I love the nuthatches! Enjoy your day and the new week ahead!

    • Teresa February 7, 2016 at 8:51 am #

      I was surprised to catch them sharing a sunflower seed.

  4. Gayle February 7, 2016 at 9:40 am #

    A familiar crew here too.
    Next Friday’s Hunt list?

    • Teresa February 7, 2016 at 9:59 am #

      Next Friday’s list is in the post, and I’ll update my sidebar today. I figured it would be confusing to update it too soon since people can still link up through today. They are: starts with G, week’s favorite, and in my kitchen.

      • Gayle February 7, 2016 at 12:23 pm #

        No pressure. Sorry I missed it in the post. ‘hurry sickness’ ;/ I enjoy the hunt and wanted to get a leg up on the third item. Thanks again.

      • Teresa February 7, 2016 at 12:28 pm #

        I’m glad to hear you enjoy it!

  5. DeniseinVA February 7, 2016 at 1:16 pm #

    I do like your photos. Always fun to see the birds at the feeders.

    • Teresa February 7, 2016 at 1:18 pm #

      Thanks, Denise.

  6. A Quiet Corner February 7, 2016 at 3:44 pm #

    What a great group making a comeback to your feeders, Teresa!…:)JP

    • Teresa February 7, 2016 at 4:38 pm #

      I had been still putting out sunflower seeds and suet, and it didn’t take long for the news of the bird seed’s reappearance to be known.

  7. Jeanne February 7, 2016 at 6:10 pm #

    I really enjoy your bird pictures! Is the nuthatch the red breasted type? According to our bird book, that’s what it looks like. My husband saw one in the forest and made a note of it in his book.

    • Teresa February 7, 2016 at 6:39 pm #

      I have absolutely no idea. I’m more of a “Oh, look. Pretty bird.” kind of birder.

  8. sonjiagoncalvesBREATHTAKING February 8, 2016 at 6:59 am #

    A wonderful assortment of garden visiters. I love the Downy Woodpecker, and the two Nuthatch, the one with the juvie being fed.

    • Teresa February 8, 2016 at 1:54 pm #

      I never thought about it being and adult and juvenile. I found it fascinating to see them sharing though. Thanks!

  9. Marie-AZ February 8, 2016 at 7:54 pm #

    How cool! Love the photos you were able to get!

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

