Baby, It’s Cold Outside

18 Jan

We’re still in the deep freeze, and we have another day before we might make it back up to some more historical average temperatures.  The goats are huddled together for warmth.

Sugar and Yolanda

Sugar and Yolanda

Some are basking by the barn; although, I don’t know why she’s letting water drip off the barn onto her.  She was covered in icicles all day.

Maisie

Maisie

Fionn and his girls are all staying out of the wind in the quonset hut.

Bambi, Joani, Bonnie & Fionn

Bambi, Joani, Bonnie & Fionn

I am trying to get them through this cold spell with extra grain and hay and making sure they have plenty of clean water.  Because they are healthy, they are doing well.

Ruby

Ruby

The only one I am worried about is Helen because of the CAE/arthritis.  This weather has been very hard on her, so she’s with her girls and getting pain medicine.

Helen_0265ews

I think Snickers has the right idea, staying in the house, basking on the table with the sun shining in on him.

basking cat_0321ews

Today’s post is inspired by Jack Frost and the song Baby It’s Cold Outside by Frank Wildhorn, and I’m sharing with Song-ography.  I’m also sharing with Ruby Tuesday Too.

I do hope you’ll come back and join me for Friday’s Hunt.  If you are interested, the items for this week are in my sidebar at the top.

26 Responses to “Baby, It’s Cold Outside”

  1. moondustwriter January 18, 2016 at 6:40 pm #

    Thats a perfect title. Keep warm – hope the kids are ok

    • Teresa January 18, 2016 at 6:57 pm #

      Thanks. I credit Song-ography for that creative inspiration.

  2. TexWisGirl January 18, 2016 at 6:43 pm #

    i know you provide good shelter and care for your critters. i hope most folks do.

    • Teresa January 18, 2016 at 6:58 pm #

      Most people do. Farmers count on livestock for their income, so they are treated well.

  3. Alica January 18, 2016 at 8:17 pm #

    Brrr…I can so often tell what weather we’ll be getting, just a few days after you have it! And the cold has arrived with a vengeance today. Thanks a lot!! 🙂 I think Snickers has the best seat in the house!

    • Teresa January 18, 2016 at 8:42 pm #

      You can have the cold! I don’t want it! LOL Snickers is pretty smart about basking and cuddling on laps.

  4. Patty Leonard Woodland January 18, 2016 at 9:16 pm #

    And we were in the mid forties today. And it rained. On top of all that snow we have lying around. It’s a frappin’ mess.

    • Teresa January 18, 2016 at 9:27 pm #

      I know. We’ve thawed and froze a couple of times. Luckily no new rain on top. Don’t fall!

  5. Crystal January 18, 2016 at 10:00 pm #

    Love the pic of Fionn and the girls, looks like Joani is smiling.

    • Teresa January 18, 2016 at 10:07 pm #

      Joani is a sweetie.

  6. Margaret January 18, 2016 at 11:50 pm #

    It will pass. Love the shot of Snickers in the sun. Goats aere all looking well even with the cold weather.

    • Teresa January 19, 2016 at 6:48 am #

      We’re supposed to be back to more “normal” winter temperatures tomorrow. That’s good.

  7. elizabethfstewart January 18, 2016 at 11:58 pm #

    Goat cheese is my favorite. Do you have milk goats?

    • Teresa January 19, 2016 at 6:48 am #

      My goats are a mix of dairy and meat. I am starting to breed more milk goat back into the herd, so I actually get milk when I milk them.

  8. Heather January 19, 2016 at 6:32 am #

    Aww how cute! They are adorable!

    • Teresa January 19, 2016 at 6:49 am #

      Thanks, Heather!

  9. tomthebackroadstraveller January 19, 2016 at 6:39 am #

    I’m singing the same song tis morning, winter has finally arrived.

    • Teresa January 19, 2016 at 6:50 am #

      I honestly don’t mind winter. I just wish the temperatures would even out instead of the wild swings between frigid and warm.

  10. EG CameraGirl January 19, 2016 at 2:42 pm #

    It’s very cold here too. I’m glad to see you taking such great care of you goats. I think Snickers is very smart. 😉

    • Teresa January 19, 2016 at 2:50 pm #

      Snickers definitely has the right idea. I wish I had heated barns for everyone.

  11. Lisa January 20, 2016 at 12:55 pm #

    Oh baby, it IS cold outside! I believe Snickers has the right idea. Maybe Helen needs a heat lamp in the barn? We installed one in the dog kennel for those sub-zero days and nights. Sometimes they don’t come out all day! 🙂 #songography

    • Teresa January 21, 2016 at 12:46 pm #

      Heat lamps are exceedingly dangerous. I use them as sparingly as possible. She did have one, and it nearly caused a fire.

  12. pattisj January 20, 2016 at 5:35 pm #

    I guess Maisie just wanted a different hair style. Hope you get a break in the weather soon so it’s not so hard on them–or you. Snickers has the right idea.

    • Teresa January 21, 2016 at 12:47 pm #

      With her thick coat, she might not have felt it. Silly girl. I agree with Snickers, too.

  13. kmcblackburn January 21, 2016 at 9:29 am #

    Awe…so cute how they are snuggled up together in that first shot. Thanks for sharing at Song-ography!

    • Teresa January 21, 2016 at 12:49 pm #

      They do like to snuggle. Even my grown kids like to snuggle together.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

