Dove in the Barnyard

12 Jan

When I was doing chores in the bitter cold on Sunday, I enjoyed some sunshine (the day after this picture was taken).

Barn_0157ews

I also noticed a dove in the barnyard.

Dove_0163ews

I’m afraid s/he was not happy with the cold weather.

Dove_0191ews

Hopefully, the hay and bits of grain helped him/her out.

Dove_0207ews

Dove_0215ews

Sharing with the Barn Collective and Wild Bird Wednesday.

22 Responses to “Dove in the Barnyard”

  1. TexWisGirl January 12, 2016 at 7:30 pm #

    they do have to work so hard to stay warm.

    • Teresa January 12, 2016 at 8:34 pm #

      Our temperatures have been a roller coaster. I always worry about lungs with those drastic changes.

  2. Margaret January 13, 2016 at 12:33 am #

    Glad she got shelter in your barn. What is the last bird?

    • Teresa January 13, 2016 at 6:59 am #

      It’s the same dove. She just got scared by the goose and flew up to the tree. She came right back down though.

  3. tomthebackroadstraveller January 13, 2016 at 5:45 am #

    Teresa, the cooing of the dove is such soothing sound. Our temperatures have been a roller coaster also, its been crazy! Thanks for sharing this week and please return soon.

    • Teresa January 13, 2016 at 7:00 am #

      Thanks for hosting!

  4. Lea January 13, 2016 at 6:04 am #

    Love the doves!
    Have a great day!
    Lea

  5. Eileen January 13, 2016 at 6:10 am #

    I hope the doves will be ok with the cold, they seem to do ok here in the winter. Great series of photos. Enjoy your day!

    • Teresa January 13, 2016 at 7:00 am #

      We’ve had crazy warm and cold back-and-forth weather. I do hope s/he’s okay now.

  6. epeavey1 January 13, 2016 at 8:24 am #

    Great pictures too much snow there for me

    • Teresa January 13, 2016 at 6:30 pm #

      We don’t really have very much snow. Just cold.

  7. Denise A Gullickson January 13, 2016 at 10:33 am #

    Enjoyed your pictures and especially enjoyed the little dove. Don’t blame her for not being happy with the cold. I’m not too happy with it either 🙂

    • Teresa January 13, 2016 at 6:46 pm #

      Luckily we’ve warmed up for a couple of days, but it’s supposed to be frigid again this weekend.

  8. EG CameraGirl January 13, 2016 at 12:46 pm #

    I rally like the shape of the barn roof! We have mourning doves living in the cedars in our backyard. They love to hang out on our kitchen steps in cold weather because our feeders are easily reached from there. 😉

    • Teresa January 13, 2016 at 6:47 pm #

      I do love my barn! Those doves know what a good thing they have with you!

  9. Jeanne January 13, 2016 at 2:38 pm #

    I don’t blame the dove for not liking the cold! I’m not fond of it either!. That’s why I love living here in western Oregon! She looked so miserable! I like doves and was surprised to hear someone say one day, that she hates them!

    • Teresa January 13, 2016 at 6:47 pm #

      I don’t know why anyone would hate doves. Odd.

  10. NatureFootstep Photo January 13, 2016 at 3:53 pm #

    I´m glad the dove found some shelter. 🙂

    • Teresa January 13, 2016 at 6:47 pm #

      I do think s/he was happy to snuggle in the hay.

  11. Marie-AZ January 14, 2016 at 9:10 am #

    What a sweet dove…hope he was happier when the sun came out. Beautiful photos of him and of the barnyard!

    • Teresa January 14, 2016 at 9:51 am #

      It’s warmed up considerably. That will help until the weekend when it gets cold again.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

