Waiting for a Break in the Weather

11 Jan

I am thrilled not to have mud in the barnyard, but I’m also waiting for a day that’s a bit nicer to move some goats again.  Seems like I’m always moving goats.

Annie and Sallie

Annie and Sallie

But do you remember that Annie put herself in with her mom?  and her dad?  I really need to get her out of there.  I’m hoping I can do this on Wednesday or Thursday.

Fionn

Fionn

Some people do breed closely related animals.  The theory is that you will get even better animals.  It works.  My cow, Maxine, accidentally got bred to her bull when she came into heat and he busted out of the barn because of the hormones.  I got a beautiful heifer from that pairing.  You can also get offspring that have defects magnified too.

Doe and kid_0006ews

I would prefer not to have Annie bred to her father.  I can almost hear Fionn singing out there, “I’m My Own Grandpaw” by Dwight Latham and Moe Jaffe

I do hope you’ll consider joining me for Friday’s Hunt this week.  The items are in my sidebar at the top.

Sharing with Song-ography.

41 Responses to “Waiting for a Break in the Weather”

  1. Gayle January 11, 2016 at 8:39 pm #

    I laughed ’til I cried!!! (grandpaw). I remember Ray Stevens singing it.

    • Teresa January 11, 2016 at 8:43 pm #

      Glad you enjoyed the post. Hopefully, we won’t have Fionn singing if I can get him moved in the next couple of days.

  2. Abrianna January 11, 2016 at 8:39 pm #

    Fionn singing that song made me laugh.

    My garage door won’t be fixed until Thursday. My car is now out of the garage so I can leave the house now.

    • Teresa January 11, 2016 at 8:43 pm #

      Well, at least you can get out. I guess that’s something. Fionn isn’t much of a singer, but…

  3. TexWisGirl January 11, 2016 at 8:44 pm #

    happy haying goats.

    • Teresa January 11, 2016 at 8:49 pm #

      It certainly does add to the chores when they are on full hay. They do appreciate it though.

  4. Patty Leonard Woodland January 11, 2016 at 8:46 pm #

    We’ve line bred and haven’t had any issues other than the last few have been small but these are small goats anyway. Luke is a very small buck all things considered. Not that it matters now….

    • Teresa January 11, 2016 at 8:50 pm #

      In the time or two we’ve line bred, it hasn’t been a problem. In fact, Sallie and Annie are half siblings. Annie is pretty darn cute, and her brother was too. That’s why I put Sallie back in with him. She could never have Boeris’s big-headed kids. Sorry you aren’t going to have anymore Luke babies.

  5. Margaret January 11, 2016 at 11:08 pm #

    It lookalike sunny weather in these shots. Good luck with the moving of goats

    • Teresa January 12, 2016 at 6:53 am #

      It was sunny but cold. Today is supposed to be even colder, so I’m hoping to get him moved tomorrow.

    • Teresa January 12, 2016 at 6:54 am #

      Well, it’s a fun song! Thanks.

  6. Pat @ Mille Fiori Favoriti January 11, 2016 at 11:30 pm #

    Hi Teresa!
    I’d be worried on passing on bad genes by inbreeding, so I guess you’ll have to move Fionn,

    We’ve had so much snow here–no chance for mud to develop–lol The deer are very hungry and now people are seeing mountain lion prints in the snow, so they are hungry, too.

    • Teresa January 12, 2016 at 6:54 am #

      It’s done all the time. It wouldn’t bother me, but Annie is already from line breeding. That’s why I put her with the other buck. She just won’t stay there because she wants her mom. Silly girl.

  7. Crystal January 11, 2016 at 11:48 pm #

    Haha now I have that song in my head. We turn out a bunch of bulls with our cows, I used to wonder which bred which cow but it don’t matter as much anymore as we don’t keep any calves.

  8. Jeanne January 12, 2016 at 1:13 am #

    Oh! That is just too much fun! I’ve always loved that song! – Am I showing my age?! 😄 I hope you can get it all worked out.

    • Teresa January 12, 2016 at 6:55 am #

      It will all be fine. I’m going to try to get the pen set up tonight and move them tomorrow.

  9. Alica January 12, 2016 at 5:19 am #

    Oh my goodness, Fionn! He’s really gotten big!

    • Teresa January 12, 2016 at 6:55 am #

      He is huge! I would prefer Annie were in with my little buck, Sam.

  10. Eileen January 12, 2016 at 5:22 am #

    Good morning, your goats all look so happy. I can only imagine Fionn singing that song. Funny! Have a great day!

    • Teresa January 12, 2016 at 6:56 am #

      He’s not one for singing, but it seemed to fit the situation. LOL

  11. tomthebackroadstraveller January 12, 2016 at 7:13 am #

    You put a smile on my face.

    • Teresa January 12, 2016 at 7:40 am #

      Glad to hear it.

  12. Sallie (FullTime-Life) January 12, 2016 at 11:18 am #

    The goats are beautiful and as always I admire your dedication and careful planning. And I’m quite pleased that Sallie spells her name correctly, as I so seldom see that ;)))!

    • Teresa January 12, 2016 at 8:32 pm #

      I agree that Sallie is usually spelled wrong. 😉

  13. Rajesh January 12, 2016 at 12:09 pm #

    Wow! they are having great time.

    • Teresa January 12, 2016 at 8:32 pm #

      They do know how to enjoy life.

  14. Anonymous January 12, 2016 at 12:37 pm #

    I could not read everything.
    I need to copy the text between the foot and put on a translation machine. Nice pictures of goats.
    I hope it is very soon nicer weather so the goats can again stand on dry mud;-)
    Greetings

  15. Helma January 12, 2016 at 12:42 pm #

    I could not read everything.
    I need to copy the text between the foot and put on a translation machine. Nice pictures of goats.
    I hope it is very soon nicer weather so the goats can again stand on dry mud;-)
    Greetings

  16. sharonodegaard January 12, 2016 at 1:53 pm #

    Happy goats! I love the name Fionn :).

    • Teresa January 12, 2016 at 8:33 pm #

      Thanks. I actually had a friend who named him.

  17. Nicki January 12, 2016 at 7:33 pm #

    Yea, even with farm animals, having a baby with your father is just wrong. Cute bunch.

    • Teresa January 12, 2016 at 8:35 pm #

      It’s called line breeding, and many do it to bring out desirable traits. I had put Annie with my other buck, but she won’t stay with him. Little stinker wants her mom.

  18. Gattina January 13, 2016 at 3:41 am #

    My goodness that becomes very scientific, lol !

    • Teresa January 13, 2016 at 7:00 am #

      Farming is absolutely applied science.

  19. pattisj January 13, 2016 at 9:56 pm #

    I hope the weather cooperates for you.

    • Teresa January 14, 2016 at 7:51 am #

      We have beautiful weather right now before our drop into the deep freeze for the weekend. I got them moved yesterday, so all is well!

  20. kmcblackburn January 14, 2016 at 8:45 am #

    “Seems I’m always moving goats”…haha…had to chuckle at that because I’m pretty sure there aren’t too many who have said those words! :). Thanks for sharing at Song-ography.

    • Teresa January 14, 2016 at 8:52 am #

      Pretty much every goat farmer has said it if they are good goat farmers. 😉

  21. Lisa January 14, 2016 at 9:17 am #

    Oh, Fionn is an adorable goat! Mud season is hard enough with dogs….a barn full of animals would be quite the challenge! #songography

    • Teresa January 14, 2016 at 9:52 am #

      Goats and mud is a miserable combination.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

