Great Goat Shuffle

3 Jan

It’s that time of year when I divide the goats into different groups to make June babies.  I have to say, it was quite the challenge this year with four bucks, Muffin and Pistol, and a large group of already bred, wethers, too young, and a llama to be wrangled together.

Goats_9787ew

We got it done though!  Pistol and Muffin were easy.  They didn’t move.  I did, however, put Xerxes, Hilda and Hazel together in the other part of the greenhouse.  I really don’t think he’s going to breed anyone this winter, but I’m fine with that.  There’s always next year.  I also put Gidget in there even though she’s due for March.  I just needed a place where nobody would pick on her and I knew she’d get enough to eat.

young goats_9814ew

Boeris is by himself in the Love Shack.  I don’t want any more of those big headed babies.  Boeris seems quite content to have a room to himself.

Buck and does_9831ew

I have Sam and his girls in the buck pen.  They seem happy in there; although, I did have to put Annie back in there after fixing fence.  She had put herself in with the already bred group.

Goats_9799ew

Finally, I have Fionn in the barnyard.

Buck goat_9784ew

He’s already been doing his job.

Buck and Doe_9835ew

We’ll have babies right around the first of June.

I hope you’ll consider joining in Friday’s Hunt this week.  The items are in my sidebar at the top.

18 Responses to “Great Goat Shuffle”

  1. Jeanne January 3, 2016 at 6:00 pm #

    That was really quite the shuffle – I think we could almost make a song about it! Naw, I’d better leave that one alone! Fionn is really a handsome dude!

    • Teresa January 3, 2016 at 6:55 pm #

      I actually did a parody of the “Goatie Hokey Pokey” once. LOL

      • Jeanne January 4, 2016 at 2:24 pm #

        I’m really hoping for one or two Sam/Annie babies! I can hardly wait!

      • Teresa January 4, 2016 at 8:30 pm #

        She should have one or two in June.

  2. Mama Zen January 3, 2016 at 6:08 pm #

    I don’t know how you keep it all straight!

    • Teresa January 3, 2016 at 6:55 pm #

      I actually drew a diagram and listed all the goats that went where. We ended up with only one change from what I planned, and that was a good thing.

  3. Anonymous January 3, 2016 at 7:05 pm #

    I am planning a trip to the sale barn next week or the week after. Call me.

  4. Gattina January 4, 2016 at 4:21 am #

    That’s almost a hooker’s job, lol ! What a work ! My head is spinning ! How on earth can you keep in mind all these names ?? I always forget the names of my painting classmates and I know them for years !

    • Teresa January 4, 2016 at 8:29 pm #

      I guess it helps when you give them the names and raise them as family.

  5. Stewart Monckton January 4, 2016 at 4:33 am #

    I just looked at a couple of posts – goats, cats and snow! At least we both have cats!

    Cheers – Stewart M – Melbourne

  6. Sallie (FullTime-Life) January 4, 2016 at 7:22 am #

    The amount of planning you must put into this boggles my mind… Not to mention the physical work! Can tell from your pictures how each of them has a unique personality! Looking forward to the baby pictures.

    • Teresa January 4, 2016 at 8:30 pm #

      They are very full (or overflowing) of personality. It is always exciting to meet the kids.

  7. EG CameraGirl January 4, 2016 at 5:58 pm #

    This is definitely a complicated business tour in, Teresa! I love it that you tell us so much about it! 🙂

    • Teresa January 4, 2016 at 8:31 pm #

      I sometimes wonder if I share too much. LOL

      • Jeanne January 6, 2016 at 6:55 pm #

        I love what y you share! I hope you don’t change! And it’s so much fun learning about goats, not to mention getting to know your goats. 😊

      • Teresa January 6, 2016 at 7:03 pm #

        Thanks. 🙂

  8. pattisj January 6, 2016 at 10:35 pm #

    I agree, always enjoy learning about your goats. They are a whole other world to me.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

