Winter Hobby

29 Dec

Well, the horrible weather we’ve had means I’ve spent more time blogging in the last week than I have in ages. I’ve enjoyed it, but I do have things I need to get done outside.  I’d be much happier if this break had been filled with days that were 30 degrees and sunny.  It also means that I’ve spent a lot of time on another winter hobby: birdwatching.

Eurasian Collared Doves

Eurasian Collared Doves

Blue Jay

Blue Jay

Red-bellied Woodpecker

Red-bellied Woodpecker

house finch

house finch

junco

junco

nuthatch

nuthatch

downy woodpecker (and sparrow)

downy woodpecker (and sparrow)

Now I just want to replace my horrible distorting picture window with a better quality one.  Someday…

Please consider coming back and joining me for my new meme, Friday’s Hunt.  The items for the hunt are listed in the upper right corner of the sidebar, or you can read more about it here.

Sharing with Wild Bird Wednesday and Through My Lens.

27 Responses to “Winter Hobby”

  1. theconstantwalker December 29, 2015 at 4:28 pm #

    Wonderful…

  2. TexWisGirl December 29, 2015 at 5:55 pm #

    lovely bunch of birds.

    • Teresa December 29, 2015 at 6:12 pm #

      They were very grateful for the food I had out with all the icky weather this week.

  3. Freda Mans December 29, 2015 at 6:16 pm #

    Great bird photos. I love those wacky nuthatches and how they eat upside down.

    • Teresa December 29, 2015 at 6:18 pm #

      They are a lot of fun to watch!

  4. Tuesday December 29, 2015 at 7:53 pm #

    Your pictures are beautiful! One of my favorite childhood memories was watching the birds in t birdfeeder at my grandparents home. Still enjoy to thisday. But now it’s distinguishing between the vultures and birds of prey to keep them offq my chickens

    • Teresa December 29, 2015 at 7:54 pm #

      I hear you there. I’m glad my chickens are penned for that reason. I still lose my poor little goslings/peachicks to them.

  5. Erika December 30, 2015 at 12:06 am #

    Pretty photos.

    • Teresa December 30, 2015 at 12:06 pm #

      Thank you, Erika.

  6. Jeanne December 30, 2015 at 12:33 am #

    Beautiful pictures of those beautiful birds! Thanks for sharing! Haas it stopped snowing?

    • Teresa December 30, 2015 at 12:07 pm #

      It did stop snowing, and I worked on clearing snow. Then it snowed a bit more this morning. I guess winter is truly here!

  7. EG CameraGirl December 30, 2015 at 5:40 am #

    Sorry the weather hasn’t been ideal for getting outdoor chores done. Very frustrating. However, winter is a great time to watch birds, many of which are only seen during the winter months. Apparently juncoes are around my “neck of the woods” all year long but are mostly seen in winter. They are such sweet birds.

    Hope the temperature is up to 30° for you today.

    • Teresa December 30, 2015 at 12:08 pm #

      I always knew the Juncos as a snow bird when I was growing up. They are pretty. We’re actually going to be much colder, and then it’s supposed to warm up when I go back to work. Figures. LOL

  8. meigancam01 December 30, 2015 at 10:06 am #

    You got some amazing clicks.!!
    Thanks for sharing this beautiful pictures.
    happy new year!!

    • Teresa December 30, 2015 at 12:09 pm #

      Thanks. They do like the food I put out there for them.

  9. NatureFootstep Photo December 30, 2015 at 4:27 pm #

    you are watching a nice set of birds 🙂

    • Teresa December 30, 2015 at 9:14 pm #

      Thanks. I do enjoy them.

  10. Sallie (FullTime-Life) December 30, 2015 at 6:03 pm #

    Sorry about your bad weather, but not one bit sorry that it gave you time to take these great bird pictures .. Thank you for sharing them. I always love seeing your goats too as in the post above. They’ve each got their own unique personality, that is for sure!

    • Teresa December 30, 2015 at 9:15 pm #

      The goats are positively overflowing with personality. LOL

  11. Marie-AZ December 31, 2015 at 9:38 am #

    Love all your gorgeous winter birds…especially love that dark grey breast on the junco against the snow. It’s always so pretty!

    • Teresa December 31, 2015 at 1:53 pm #

      Thanks. They really are pretty. You know winter has truly arrived when they show up at the feeders.

  12. pattisj January 1, 2016 at 12:31 am #

    Beautiful birds!

    • Teresa January 1, 2016 at 8:14 am #

      Nothing like passing a cold day watching them.

      • pattisj January 1, 2016 at 12:36 pm #

        Agreed!

  13. wallacejones January 1, 2016 at 2:25 pm #

    What a wonderful series of images as we begin a fresh new year! Thank you for sharing your winter visitors! Although, I must confess, that white stuff laying around on the bushes made me shiver.

    Wally In Florida – 86 Degrees, New Year’s Day

    • Teresa January 1, 2016 at 2:30 pm #

      It has been an unusually warm fall/winter so far. We are just finally rid of the mud.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

