Good Random Fun

27 Dec

We’ve had quite a bit of winter weather, and we have more in the forecast.  They are predicting around seven inches of snow for tomorrow with blizzard strength winds.  I’ve done all I can to prepare for it.

winter collage ew

I made sure I fed the birds well today.  There’s still food in the feeders, and I’ll set the bowl out again when it isn’t going to blow off the deck.

blue jay_9231ew

bird collage ew

sparrow_9178ew

After my family was here for Christmas Eve, I seemed to have gained a Santa hat.  If nobody claims it, I’ll wait for the snow to stop and then put it on a goat for a post-Christmas holiday photo shoot.

santa hat_9176e2w

I’ll be ready for next year then!

Please consider coming back and joining me for my new meme, Friday’s Hunt.  The items for the hunt are listed in the upper right corner of the sidebar, or you can read more about it here.

I’m sharing today’s post at The Good. The Random. The Fun., I Heart Macro, Macro Monday, Mosaic Monday, Monday Mellow Yellows, and Blue Monday

52 Responses to “Good Random Fun”

  1. Gemma Wiseman December 27, 2015 at 7:21 pm #

    Lovely variety of little birds visit you. And the Santa hat does seem a little lost.

    • Teresa December 27, 2015 at 7:22 pm #

      I even posted the hat on FB to see if any of my family would claim it, but none did. I think it should be used for goats. Yep.

  2. Donkey Driver December 27, 2015 at 8:24 pm #

    Beautiful!

  3. Jeanne December 28, 2015 at 12:31 am #

    Very nice bird shots. I certainly hope you don’t blow away! And I definitely agree – the hat was meant to be on a goat! 😃

    • Teresa December 28, 2015 at 7:42 am #

      Well, I’m still here so far! It is snowy and windy though.

  4. Eileen December 28, 2015 at 5:40 am #

    Pretty collection of images. I love the birds and your “new hat! Happy Monday, enjoy your new week!

    • Teresa December 28, 2015 at 7:42 am #

      Thanks, Eileen. I think the birds all knew the storm was coming. The feeders were quite busy yesterday.

  5. Beth December 28, 2015 at 7:26 am #

    do you think that Santa left you the hat? so weird? i am shocked all your birds will get so close, maybe they figure they will get more food if they get along. our blue jays around here are not too friendly. they are pretty noises. enjoy your week! ( :

    • Teresa December 28, 2015 at 7:43 am #

      I think my son forgot where he got it. LOL The jay and woodpecker were not happy they ended up there at the same time. The woodpecker won the battle of wills. The jay had to wait before he got his dogfood.

  6. EG CameraGirl December 28, 2015 at 7:56 am #

    Looks like you are experiencing more winter weather (so far) than we are north of Toronto! Love your photos and I’m anxious to take a few similar ones myself. Cute hat. I’m sure it will make a good goat very pretty/handsome!

    • Teresa December 28, 2015 at 8:45 am #

      The weather has just turned wintery in the last week. Before that it was all rain. Hope you finally get some winter.

  7. Donna@Gardens Eye View December 28, 2015 at 8:12 am #

    Fabulous images especially the birds and hat….we are missing the snow. Stay safe and have a Happy New Year.

    • Teresa December 28, 2015 at 8:46 am #

      Thanks, Donna. I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t be able to live somewhere that didn’t have all four seasons. Even though I do complain about the weather a lot. LOL

  8. Sara - My Woodland Garden December 28, 2015 at 8:42 am #

    Hello, Teresa! Your frost photos and little birds are just lovely.
    Friday’s Hunt looks interesting: three items is a good number, challenging but not too difficult.
    Have a great week ahead and see you soon!

    • Teresa December 28, 2015 at 8:47 am #

      Thanks, Sara. I thought three seemed to be the perfect number.

  9. tomthebackroadstraveller December 28, 2015 at 8:49 am #

    Teresa, the frosty berries are a delight. A dusting of snow and then freezing rain later…winter magic at it’s best.

    • Teresa December 28, 2015 at 9:00 am #

      Winter magic has certainly arrived!

  10. Denise December 28, 2015 at 9:31 am #

    What beautiful photos. I scrolled through several times! My favorites are the blue jay and the red berries in the snow. Wonderful!!!!

    • Teresa December 28, 2015 at 10:05 am #

      Thanks, Denise. The snow is beautiful.

  11. Linda aka Crafty Gardener December 28, 2015 at 9:39 am #

    I love all the birds at your feeders. I’m sure the goat will look cute in the Santa hat. I’ll check out your new meme link up. I’m visiting from Mosaic Monday. Have a good day.

    • Teresa December 28, 2015 at 10:06 am #

      Goats are always cute! LOL Thanks for stopping by.

  12. meigancam01 December 28, 2015 at 10:33 am #

    Great article with amazing pictures.!
    Thanks for sharing your experience!

    • Teresa December 28, 2015 at 10:36 am #

      Thanks. I love sharing my life on the farm.

  13. sally December 28, 2015 at 11:42 am #

    Hi Teresa,

    I happy that you had a crowd for Christmas. Why not keep that hat for next year?
    Thanks for playing today.

    Happy Blue Monday and a Happy New Year!

    • Teresa December 28, 2015 at 11:48 am #

      I could, but it would be way more fun to photograph goats! It was too muddy before Christmas, but now we’re definitely white.

  14. Tony McGurk December 28, 2015 at 12:03 pm #

    Beautiful winter photos & wonderful bird shots. The Jay & the Woodpecker one is really expressive. It’s like the Woodpecker is really giving the other a good telling off & the Jay is just thinking “What the heck is his problem?”. I have no luck with bird photos, they always fly away.Maybe I need to buy a telephoto lens

    • Teresa December 28, 2015 at 12:30 pm #

      Setting a good buffet really helps. The bowl had dog food and peanuts. LOL It was definitely a tense moment between those two.

  15. Tony McGurk December 28, 2015 at 12:04 pm #

    P.S. I really love all the little goats in your header

    • Teresa December 28, 2015 at 12:30 pm #

      Thanks. We have a lot of goats around here.

  16. Namaki December 28, 2015 at 12:22 pm #

    Cute close-ups !

  17. Colleen@ LOOSELEAFNOTES December 28, 2015 at 1:53 pm #

    I especially like woodpecker’s red headed hat in the last shot.

    • Teresa December 28, 2015 at 2:27 pm #

      I love the red-bellied woodpeckers! They are a perfect splash of color in an otherwise drab winter.

  18. Judith@ Lavender Cottage December 28, 2015 at 3:47 pm #

    Hmm, trying to remember if I didn’t see a goat with the hat on your FB? Good fun!
    Your new challenge meme sounds interesting and I’ll see if I can’t play along now and then.
    Best wishes for 2016.

    • Teresa December 28, 2015 at 3:50 pm #

      Thanks, Judith. I haven’t posted any new Christmas goat pictures. It’s been too muddy, but that’s changed with today’s blizzard conditions.

  19. Laura Hegfield December 28, 2015 at 3:57 pm #

    I love your snowy offerings Teresa. Thanks for sharing the love up-close with I Heart Macro… any thing you want to add to the gratitude quilt? send me an email or fb private message 🙂

  20. Katherine Vargas December 28, 2015 at 4:01 pm #

    Lovely post.

  21. Lea December 28, 2015 at 8:05 pm #

    You should check with the North Pole to see if Santa is missing a hat!
    Have a great week!
    Lea

    • Teresa December 28, 2015 at 8:09 pm #

      I’m thinking it must be the big guy’s. LOL

  22. Andrea December 28, 2015 at 8:25 pm #

    All great photos, especially of the frost on the berry stems!

    • Teresa December 29, 2015 at 9:26 am #

      Thanks, Andrea. The hoar frost is beautiful.

  23. Nicki December 28, 2015 at 8:40 pm #

    Merry Christmas Teresa – hope the winter isn’t too hard on you all.

    • Teresa December 29, 2015 at 9:27 am #

      Everyone was nicely tucked into the barn for yesterday’s storm. We’re all good.

  24. jesh stg December 28, 2015 at 9:34 pm #

    All lovely pics – Yes, my family also left me some things they forgot – wished it was a Santa hat, lol! Wishing you a fabulous New Year:)

    • Teresa December 29, 2015 at 9:27 am #

      Well, of all things that could be left behind, the Santa hat was a fun one!

  25. Dotsie December 29, 2015 at 9:26 am #

    It’s amazing how dramatically different the weather has been this Christmas .. snow and record high temps … That’s a cute Santa hat and should make a fun photo shoot if your goat cooperates!

    • Teresa December 29, 2015 at 9:30 am #

      It has been wild weather. If I choose my goat wisely, they are likely to cooperate. Now we have lovely white snow covering all that mud. It will be the perfect time to do a Santa goat shoot.

  26. Tamar December 30, 2015 at 9:04 pm #

    Blue Jays – oh such a pretty sight!
    Thanks for linking up!

    • Teresa December 30, 2015 at 10:04 pm #

      They are pretty. Thanks for hosting, Tamar.

  27. Ingmarie we/Refugium December 31, 2015 at 2:38 am #

    Lovely photos of the birds, Happy New Year!

    • Teresa December 31, 2015 at 8:31 am #

      Thanks. Happy New Year to you as well.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

