Fun Sized

23 Dec

The chickens aren’t laying many eggs this time of year.

Chickens_8459ew

Today they surprised me with four eggs!

eggs

Of course a couple of them are fun-sized (which starts with F).

I am thinking of starting my own link-up.  I miss my Alphabe-Thursday.  There’s a couple of other great linky parties that I miss too, so I thought I’d do a combination.  I want to do it on a day that won’t interfere with other linky parties I participate in (although it would be easy to join other parties too).  Come back Friday to see what I’m thinking.  Of course, this week is Christmas and the following is New Year’s.  I’m thinking New Year’s Day will be my first link up. Hopefully it doesn’t flop (which also starts with F).

Sharing with Warm Heart Wednesday.

24 Responses to “Fun Sized”

  1. Cindy December 23, 2015 at 5:21 pm #

    I know what you mean about chickens not laying right now….. But today they gave me 9!!!! I was soooo excited!!

  2. Anne December 23, 2015 at 5:30 pm #

    They need a spa treatment! Hee Hee! Love those fresh eggs. When I was a kid mom and dad drove fifty miles to to visit a little widow woman who raised chickens. We always had fresh eggs. I miss those days. Merry Christmas to you and enjoy a beautiful season.Hugs!

    • Teresa December 23, 2015 at 5:35 pm #

      These were very fresh, straight out of the chicken nest boxes. LOL Nothing like fresh eggs.

  3. Anney December 24, 2015 at 12:10 am #

    My chickens had stopped laying too. Now I am giving them whole corn with grannys golden, and they are back up to laying 8 eggs a day.

    • Teresa December 24, 2015 at 9:18 am #

      I’ve never heard of grannys golden. I’ll have to check that out!

  4. Jeanne December 24, 2015 at 1:54 am #

    I’m interested in the comments about the hens and their laying. I have a friend who is a newbie at having chickens. Her young hens are giving her eggs every day, for which she is thrilled. I’ll have to share the info here with her.

    I look forward to your Alphabe – whatever! It’ll be fun!

    • Teresa December 24, 2015 at 9:19 am #

      Those young ones do. As they get older, they won’t lay as often, but the eggs will be bigger. I hope people have fun and join in for the linky party.

  5. Eileen December 24, 2015 at 3:30 am #

    Good morning, they are fun sized eggs. Cute! Merry Christmas to you and your family. I wish you all the best in 2016, Happy New Year!

    • Teresa December 24, 2015 at 9:19 am #

      Thanks, Eileen. Merry Christmas to you and your family too!

  6. Alica December 24, 2015 at 5:16 am #

    I’m glad you got some eggs! There’s nothing quite like freshly laid, from outside the back door! I am actually surprised at my chickens, that I just got in July. I only have a dozen, and they’re still giving me between 10 – 12 per day, even with the short days! I’ll take ’em!
    And I’m excited to see what you choose to do for a linky party! I’ll try to join if I can!

    • Teresa December 24, 2015 at 9:20 am #

      Wow! That’s pretty good. We’ve been so cloudy and miserable. I’m sure that doesn’t help. I do hope you join me for the party. I have this teenager anxiety of “What if nobody comes to my party?” LOL

      • Anney December 24, 2015 at 10:49 pm #

        What is a linky party? I’ve never heard of it.

      • Teresa December 25, 2015 at 9:51 am #

        It’s where you link your post another blog that is hosting the party. Everyone posts on the specific theme/topic.

  7. Susan Anderson December 26, 2015 at 12:25 pm #

    Those really ARE fun-sized! I miss Alphabet-thursday, too…but am having lots of fun with Jenny’s new meme. =)

    • Teresa December 26, 2015 at 12:32 pm #

      I’ll definitely keep doing Warm Heart Wednesday, but feel free to join me next Friday for some alphabet fun (along with a couple of other prompts if you feel like it).

  8. Su-sieee! Mac December 26, 2015 at 6:10 pm #

    Chickens know you want some eggs. 🙂
    The View from the Top of the Ladder

    • Teresa December 26, 2015 at 6:12 pm #

      Yep. They just don’t care. They think they are on vacation until spring.

  9. Betty December 26, 2015 at 8:19 pm #

    Is it cold where you live? Is that why they stop laying? I think my son has eggs year round, but it’s warm here.

    • Teresa December 26, 2015 at 9:05 pm #

      It’s a combination of cold and short days. It’s mostly the short hours of daylight.

  10. pattisj January 1, 2016 at 12:23 am #

    Sounds fabulous! (another word that starts with “f”)

    • Teresa January 1, 2016 at 8:13 am #

      I like that f word. Thanks!

  11. Jenny matlock January 21, 2016 at 4:16 pm #

    How totally fun!

    Both the eggs and the idea made me smile!

    I’m going to try and join in!

    Thanks for warming my heart.

    XOXO

    • Teresa January 21, 2016 at 6:23 pm #

      Thanks, Jenny. That would mean a lot to me.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

