A New Pet

19 Dec

Not really a new pet, but someone has decided to take up residence under my deck since I dont’ have a dog.

oppossum_8749aw

The little brat actually growled at me while I was trying to get a decent picture.

oppossum_8751aw

It didn’t take long to decide to amble off.  I’m not sure if it was because of my gawking or the flash or the fact that the rainwater in the dog bowl had frozen.

oppossum_8754aw

There s/he goes down the front steps.  Yes, those are goat berries from Pistol and Muffin on my deck.

oppossum_8755aw

Back under the deck again until I leave him/her alone.  I’ll be mad if we end up with a bazillion little oppossums running around.

oppossum_8756aw

The cats aren’t too sure about this new guy, but at least they don’t fight with the oppossum like they do the cats that come onto our property.

Sharing with Saturday’s Critters, Camera Critters and SOOC Sunday (all images).

26 Responses to “A New Pet”

  1. Jeanne December 19, 2015 at 7:32 pm #

    Well, I certainly wouldn’t want him/her living under MY deck! (If I even had a deck!) They can be downright nasty. Since we live in such a small town which is surrounded by forest, we’ve had ‘possums and raccoons in our yard. Sometimes we had a few problems with them. People also see deer and cougars in town. We’ve had deer on our church lawn, which is just a couple of blocks north of our place, and it’s closer to the hill. Anyway, I surely hope you don’t end up with a small herd of babies in the spring!!

    • Teresa December 20, 2015 at 9:17 am #

      The oppossums aren’t too bad. My birds are secured safely in their building/pen. The only other time I’ve had a problem was when one didn’t want to get out from under the heat lamp where I wanted to put a newborn kid. Blaze and I got rid of him though. 😉

  2. Mama Zen December 19, 2015 at 8:04 pm #

    Really cool captures!

  3. Stewart Monckton December 19, 2015 at 8:47 pm #

    Nice pet! We have a possum (a very different species) that lives in our garden – we call him Bob!

    Cheers – Stewart M – Melbourne

    • Teresa December 20, 2015 at 9:17 am #

      I might call this one Skedaddle. LOL

  4. Erika December 19, 2015 at 10:18 pm #

    So cute. Opossums love to eat tics and help cut down on Lyme disease, poor thing only shows its teeth because it is scared. If you end up with babies your local wildlife rescue will probably come and remove and rehome for you. They are considered one of the most misunderstood animal around. In the last 150 years only 2 have been found to have rabies.

    • Teresa December 20, 2015 at 9:18 am #

      I don’t usually mind them, but I do think I would prefer that he took up residence in the barn rather than under the deck.

  5. Eileen December 20, 2015 at 5:45 am #

    Neat critter post, they are weird little things. I have seen them coming to eat my bird food at night. The dogs do tend to keep these wild critters away. Thank you for linking up and sharing your post. Happy Sunday, enjoy your new week!

    Merry Christmas to you and your family.

    • Teresa December 20, 2015 at 9:19 am #

      I did learn I can’t leave my treat bowl out for the birds at night. He took all the food and carried the bowl half way across the yard too.

  6. Alica December 20, 2015 at 7:32 am #

    So, he/she didn’t like YOUR growling? 🙂 I never thought to growl back at them! I’ll have to try that next time one moves in under our front porch.

    • Alica December 20, 2015 at 7:33 am #

      Oh my. I really do need a new prescription for my glasses! Just went back and read what you actually read, and you said GAWKING! Red face! 🙂

      • Teresa December 20, 2015 at 9:19 am #

        Nobody here has growled at him. We’re way too nice for that. LOL Although, my son did ask if he needed to bring a rifle out. I politely declined.

    • Teresa December 20, 2015 at 9:19 am #

      Maybe that would work…

  7. Christian December 20, 2015 at 2:22 pm #

    A cool neighbor and critter.

    • Teresa December 20, 2015 at 2:47 pm #

      As long as they live my birds alone and move when I ask, I get along with them.

  8. Freda Mans December 20, 2015 at 4:32 pm #

    It seems harmless enough. Hopefully no spats with the cats will happen.

    • Teresa December 20, 2015 at 4:42 pm #

      Since I don’t have free range chickens (because of wild critters), s/he shouldn’t be a problem.

  9. TexWisGirl December 20, 2015 at 4:46 pm #

    i’m not a fan – just because they carry a disease that can kill horses. they’re cute (and hissy) in their own way.

    • Teresa December 20, 2015 at 4:54 pm #

      I didn’t know that they carried something like that. I do know that they are not likely to have rabies the way raccoons do. I would not tolerate them either if I had horses.

  10. EG CameraGirl December 21, 2015 at 6:39 am #

    We don’t have many possums here north of Toronto…but now that I know they eat ticks that carry Lyme disease I am thinking a whole lot more positive about them. 😉

    • Teresa December 21, 2015 at 5:46 pm #

      I usually just ignore them.

  11. Goat Peasant December 21, 2015 at 12:21 pm #

    pests for sure but there is something “ugly cute” about them

    • Teresa December 21, 2015 at 5:50 pm #

      I don’t really mind the oppossums since my chickens are safe in their penned in area.

  12. pattisj December 23, 2015 at 4:44 pm #

    I don’t think I’d pick a fight with an opossum, either!

    • Teresa December 23, 2015 at 5:32 pm #

      The only time I have actually fought with one was when I had to have the heat lamp for a newborn kid. The oppossum did not see the need to move. LOL

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

