Expecting

16 Dec

If I am correct in who settled, I believe I have fourteen goats expecting kids next March.

Gidget van de Yell

Gidget van de Yell

I’m very excited that Gidget will give me my first Sam Goodberry babies.  How I do love when we have kids!  E is for expecting and excited.

Sharing with Warm Heart Wednesday.

34 Responses to “Expecting”

  1. Cindy December 16, 2015 at 6:34 pm #

    Oh My Word!! 14!!! That could mean as many as 28 babies!!!! We’re just getting started in the goat business and we have two new babies that will be two weeks old Saturday. This was the does first so we were stressed that she have complications but she did great!

    How long before you start keeping milk to drink?

    Cindy

    • Teresa December 16, 2015 at 6:43 pm #

      I usually wait until I’m done teaching before I start milking. Much easier for me.

      • Anonymous December 16, 2015 at 7:25 pm #

        So about two or three months after the kids are born?

      • Teresa December 16, 2015 at 7:30 pm #

        Yes. But that’s just what is convenient for me.

  2. Cindy December 16, 2015 at 8:32 pm #

    We waited a week and tasted the milk and it was awful!!!! So we’re holding off a little longer. I’ve had some to say they start drinking the milk immediately ….. I don’t see how!!

    • Teresa December 17, 2015 at 9:11 pm #

      It should be fine to drink once it’s fully milk (rather than colostrum). There’s a lot of things that can affect its taste: feed, bucks, cleanliness.

  3. Freda Mans December 16, 2015 at 8:43 pm #

    How excellent!!

    • Teresa December 17, 2015 at 9:11 pm #

      It is exciting!

  4. pattisj December 16, 2015 at 9:19 pm #

    Gidget’s coat is so pretty, I hope she has some look just like her. Spring–we have even more to look forward to now.

    • Teresa December 17, 2015 at 9:11 pm #

      She is a pretty girl. I just hope everyone is healthy. I never worry about cute. 😉

  5. Gunilla Bäck December 17, 2015 at 12:43 am #

    How wonderful! Sounds like you’ll be very busy. 🙂

    • Teresa December 17, 2015 at 9:11 pm #

      It will be a very busy time!

  6. Jeanne December 17, 2015 at 12:49 am #

    Oh!! I can hardly wait! They will be soooo beautiful! Gidget is one of the most lovely!

    • Teresa December 17, 2015 at 9:12 pm #

      I do like those spotted ones. Of course, they’re all cute.

  7. Eileen December 17, 2015 at 6:28 am #

    Hello, I would be excited too. Your Gidget is beautiful, I love her marking and colors. Happy Thursday, enjoy your day!

    • Teresa December 17, 2015 at 9:12 pm #

      Thanks. She is a sweetie. Have a good weekend.

  8. Goat Peasant December 17, 2015 at 7:35 am #

    Well that is just awesome!!!! I have a mere 3 does expecting in March LOL Let’s pray to the “Goat Gods” for all healthy twins and an all DOE kidding season 😉

    • Teresa December 17, 2015 at 9:13 pm #

      I only have a handful of girls that I want to get does from to keep. I just hope for healthy. 🙂 Good luck to you!

  9. Jim December 17, 2015 at 10:13 am #

    Hi Teresa ~~ Gidget is cute, as all yours that I have seen. Are any ugly?
    I guess goats aren’t like cows. We had to start milking as soon as they were ‘off calf’ or else they would dry up until the next birthing.
    I’m doing “Warm Heart Wednesday” also. I hope Jenny is doing okay, no Mrs. Linky so far..

    • Teresa December 17, 2015 at 9:14 pm #

      I don’t think any goat is ugly; although, I do think they need horns to look complete.

  10. meigancam01 December 17, 2015 at 10:24 am #

    Oh congratulation!!! in advance.

  11. Gattina December 17, 2015 at 11:00 am #

    Wow, what a production ! the love life of your goats is going high speed !

    • Teresa December 17, 2015 at 9:14 pm #

      Well, we don’t have as many that got bred as I had hoped, so we’ll have quite a few in June too.

  12. artmusedog December 17, 2015 at 4:05 pm #

    You will be some busy in March ~ not that you aren’t now! Adorable photo of your ‘fur person’ ~

    Wishing you the magic and love of the season
    artmusedog and carol

    • Teresa December 17, 2015 at 9:14 pm #

      Thanks, Carol. Hope you and yours has a blessed holiday season too.

  13. Betty December 17, 2015 at 10:36 pm #

    I hope all goes well this year! Didn’t you have some problems last year? There are probably little problems every year…huh? That’s a lot of kids!!

    • Teresa December 18, 2015 at 6:55 am #

      No problems getting them here last year, but I did have a couple get sick later.

  14. Judie December 18, 2015 at 2:07 pm #

    Oh, goody! I can’t wait to see the babies! They are just so sweet. I always love to see your photos, Teresa.

    • Teresa December 19, 2015 at 8:36 am #

      Thanks, Judie. Kidding is my favorite time of year! Well, and pumpkin time.

  15. Su-sieee! Mac December 19, 2015 at 7:39 pm #

    Whooo-hooo! I look forward to seeing photos of the babies.

    • Teresa December 20, 2015 at 9:17 am #

      I can hardly wait to meet them too!

  16. Jenny matlock January 21, 2016 at 11:26 am #

    Wow. This is happy news indeed!

    Is there anything more heart warming than the circle of life continuing?

    I mean other than chocolate that is!!!!

    Thanks for linking.

    XOXO

    • Teresa January 21, 2016 at 12:52 pm #

      It is exciting! I am looking forward to many wattled Sam kids, but Gidget is my first girl to have his babies.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

