A Candle Making Week

22 Nov

With the rainy, cold, icky,snowy weather, I have spent most of the week inside doing my final preparations for the Christmas sales.  It’s been all about the candles.  I think it would be really neat if I could be a professional candle maker (and soap maker) when I grow up.  Anyhow, I had a special order for six chunk candles.

Candle Mold_7704ew

chunk candle making_7695ew

chunk candles_7696ew

I poured sixty-two wax melts this week.

wax melts_7706ew

I’m using a lot of different festive holiday fragrances.

candle fragrance_7781ew

Then I started on the soy container candles.

candle making_7796ew

I am using these cute little hex jars for my containers.

Candles_7803ew

I don’t have triangle continers, so I stacked them in a pyramid.

I love the pattern created as the soy starts to cool.

Candle Making_7797ew

Lucky for me, I found a dozen fancy holiday containers in my basement that I had bought on clearance right after the last time I made candles (like twelve or fourteen years ago).

Candles_7802ew

I’m sharing this with Ashley’s Scavenger Hunt Sunday.  The items this week are: fancy, when I grow up, pattern, triangle, and festive.  I’m also sharing with Macro Monday.

21 Responses to “A Candle Making Week”

  1. Margaret November 22, 2015 at 3:04 pm #

    The CHRISTMAS candles look gorgeous

    • Teresa November 22, 2015 at 3:34 pm #

      Thanks, Margaret. They smell pretty amazing too!

  2. Tamar November 22, 2015 at 4:40 pm #

    Those candles are so cool!

    • Teresa November 22, 2015 at 4:50 pm #

      Thanks. I do enjoy making them.

  3. Abrianna November 22, 2015 at 9:10 pm #

    That was a lot of pouring! I too like the hex jars. It is a pretty shape and a bit unusual as well. The candle colors are pretty and yes it does make a pretty pattern as it cools.

    • Teresa November 22, 2015 at 9:11 pm #

      I have two craft sales the first weekend in December, so I’m hoping everyone there likes them. 😉

  4. Jeanne November 22, 2015 at 11:58 pm #

    Beautiful candles! I especially like the chunk candles! What scent did you use in those?

    Have a wonderful Thanksgiving! I’m going to be pretty busy, and may not have time to say that later! We’ll be spending Thanksgiving with family 150 miles from here.

    • Teresa November 23, 2015 at 6:49 am #

      The chunck candles are sugar plum berries. Have safe travels and enjoy your Thanksgiving!

  5. Gemma Wiseman November 23, 2015 at 1:26 am #

    These candles look so tempting. Stunning colours and I imagine the scents are unbelievably aromatic. And the jars are the finishing, magical touch.

    • Teresa November 23, 2015 at 6:49 am #

      Thanks, Gemma. So kind.

  6. Margaret Birding For Pleasure November 23, 2015 at 1:36 am #

    I have just posted my SHS now and I hope you pop over to see it so until next week, have a lovely week. Hope you are not knee high in snow now!

    • Teresa November 23, 2015 at 6:50 am #

      The snow is melting, so it’s more mud than snow now.

  7. Beth November 23, 2015 at 6:53 am #

    hey friend. i wish we had smell-o-vision … i want to smell your candles. i bet they are just great smelling. very cool. hope you are well. ( :

    • Teresa November 23, 2015 at 8:14 am #

      Just remember, I also have smelly barnyard posts, so smell-o-vision might not be such a good idea. Have a great week, Beth!

  8. LindyLou Mac November 23, 2015 at 7:16 am #

    lling by from Macro Monday, interesting post.

  9. gillena November 23, 2015 at 2:02 pm #

    very pretty. luv the poinsettias

    much love…

  10. pattisj November 29, 2015 at 8:45 pm #

    Lots of pretties!

    • Teresa November 29, 2015 at 9:03 pm #

      Thanks. Hopefully they sell well.

  11. Goat Peasant December 15, 2015 at 8:59 am #

    Very nice !!!!

    • Teresa December 15, 2015 at 10:07 am #

      Thanks. It’s something I really enjoy.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

