Soapy Scavenger Hunt and a Couple of Critters

15 Nov

This week’s Scavenger Hunt Sunday items are: starts with c, cool, media, scarf, and something new.  I always try to find a theme for my scavnger hunts, but I could only fit three of them to share my recent soapmaking adventures.

From last weekend to this weekend I made thirteen batches of soap to prepare for the busy holiday season.  Here they are curing (starts with c) on my little shelf.  Well, twelve of the batches are here.  I ran out of room for the last one.  The tea tree soap is on the other set of shelves.

Top: Lightly Lavender, Cornmeal Scrubbing with Lemongrass Oil, Cucumber Melon & Black Amber and Lavnder

Top: Lightly Lavender, Cornmeal Scrubbing with Lemongrass Oil, Cucumber Melon & Black Amber and Lavnder; Middle: Heavenly Honeysuckle, Milk and Honey, Chai Tea, and Magnolia; Bottom:  Cornmeal Scrubbing with Tea Tree Oil, Moonlight Pomegranate, Lovely Lilac, and Kentish Rain.

The milk and honey is something new.  I’ve not done that fragrance in soap before.  It was quite popular with the wax melts and candles at the pumpkin patch, so I thought I’d use it for soap too.  I also made a batch of Heavenly Honeysuckle because the sample batch I made sold out at the pumpkin patch.

Milk Honey Goat Milk Soap_7661ew

I have added two other new soaps (vanilla oak and lavender) to my website (media) for sale.  You can check it out HERE.  The Milk and Honey and Heavenly Honeysuckle have to finish curing before I can add them.  I’m also hoping to add wax melts to the market soon.  That’s my next project.

soap collage

Bob is a pretty cool dude, and I liked the shadows too.

orange cat_7623ew

I wasn’t sure what to do for scarf, but with hunters in the ditches along my property today made me think I need to get a bright orange scarf to put around Llenny’s neck.

llama_7597ew

It wouldn’t even have to be knitted from llama yarn.

21 Responses to “Soapy Scavenger Hunt and a Couple of Critters”

  1. TexWisGirl November 15, 2015 at 6:58 pm #

    stay safe, llenny. i like bob, too.

    • Teresa November 15, 2015 at 7:01 pm #

      Most hunters are responsible, but I always have that lingering fear this time of year.

  2. Tamar November 15, 2015 at 7:22 pm #

    The soaps are so pretty!

    • Teresa November 15, 2015 at 7:34 pm #

      Thanks. I do enjoy making them.

  3. Abrianna November 15, 2015 at 8:43 pm #

    Great texture in the close up soap shots. Of course, the animal photos were my favorite.

    I know how you feel about wanting another dog. I know I have to wait too but it is sooo hard.

    • Teresa November 15, 2015 at 9:14 pm #

      Hopefully the perfect dog will find its way to your door soon. 🙂

  4. Margaret Birding For Pleasure November 16, 2015 at 12:09 am #

    Lovely to see yu on sHS and yuor soaps looks wonderful You have been hard at work. Llenny looks cute without a scarf dn I love your cat. I hope you will look at mu SHS as I have just posted it. Have a lovely week.

    • Teresa November 16, 2015 at 6:39 am #

      Thanks, Margaret. Hope you have a good week too.

  5. lulubelleliz November 16, 2015 at 1:45 am #

    Fun post. Your soaps look wonderful – wish you lived nearby. That alpaca study is brilliant.

    • Teresa November 16, 2015 at 6:39 am #

      Well, I do ship. There’s a link in my post.

  6. Täysin arkista November 16, 2015 at 4:04 am #

    Each week i like your animal photos.

    • Teresa November 16, 2015 at 6:40 am #

      Thanks. I’m glad you enjoy stopping by.

  7. Texan November 16, 2015 at 4:44 pm #

    Hunting season sighhhhh always glad to see the end of that!!

    • Teresa November 16, 2015 at 5:18 pm #

      Most people around here are really good. It’s just that one that worries me.

  8. Jeanne November 16, 2015 at 5:43 pm #

    Your cool soaps are just beautiful!! So tempting to try some, except that we at this house have to avoid scents, because of #1 Daughter’s allergies! Ratz! Llenny is beautiful too, but he could certainly benefit from a bright orange scarf! Would he consent to wearing one, do you think? If you think so, you could probably pick up some of the florescent orange stuff available in the stores and fashion something for that handsome dude!

    • Teresa November 16, 2015 at 5:46 pm #

      I do have quite a few varieties with no fragrance added. 😉 I can’t touch Llenny. He’s social, but there’s no way I can catch him.

      • Jeanne November 18, 2015 at 11:36 pm #

        My daughter suggested a walk by spray paint with bright orange paint! She says it’ll come off in time!

      • Teresa November 19, 2015 at 6:50 am #

        Not sure he’d like that, and I’d hate for him to try to clean it out and eat paint.

      • Jeanne November 20, 2015 at 8:43 am #

        Ooops! We didn’t think he’d try to clean it off, himself! Forget that idea! We’ll just pray that he stays safe!

  9. pattisj November 16, 2015 at 11:28 pm #

    Hunters nearby is bound to make one uneasy. Beautiful display of soaps!

    • Teresa November 17, 2015 at 8:40 am #

      Thanks. It’s usually the first weekend of the shotgun season for deer that worries me the most.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

