Heading into Winter Worries

14 Nov

It seems like there’s always a couple of goats that I’m worried about making it through the winter.  This year is no exception.  Of course, I will always worry about Pistol from now on.  With her back injury, she needs to be kept separated, so she’s still in the yard.  As much as I see how well she looks and acts, I know she still has the injury.  I would give anything to have Pistol and Sam babies.  I guess I’ll have to wait until next year and then see how she’s doing.  I’ll also talk to the vet before I breed her, but I really want Pistol and Sam babies.

Pistol

Pistol

I don’t think I mentioned that Muffin had an accident last month.  I don’t know how she did it, but she got a wire wrapped around her neck.  It’s a miracle my dad saw her flop over backwards, and I went to check on her.  When I got her, she was upside down and not moving.  I got her loose and upright.  It took several minutes for me to get her in a more comfortable postion, and I let her rest a bit.  Finally, I got her moved to the Love Shack, and it took her quite a long time, but she seemed to be okay.

White Doe Goat_7580ew

Muffin

However, even though she was moving around and looking normal, she wasn’t herself.  It’s like she was a zombie.  I caught a couple of goats trying to pick on her, so I moved her into the yard last weekend.  I was afraid she had suffered a brain injury.  The difference from last weekend to this weekend is amazing.  The rest and lack of stress in the yard has been a big help to her.  She’s almost acting like her normal self.  I’m not sure how long she’ll be in the yard, but she and Pistol are doing well together (Pistol didn’t like being by herself).

Yard Goats_7571ew

I also worry about Helen. If you remember, she has developed some arthritis in her hips.  She’s doing okay right now, but I’ll watch her closely to make sure she gets enough to eat this winter.

Helen (with maa Betty Lou behind her)

Helen (with maa Betty Lou behind her)

Then there’s Meg.  There is nothing wrong with her, but she’s 11 3/4 years old and not very big.  I’m worried that she’ll get pushed out of food this winter.  Again, I’ll keep an eye on her.

Saanen Doe_7608ew

Hopefully, they’ll all do well.  I’ll still worry, but I’m optimistic that they will all four do well.

8 Responses to “Heading into Winter Worries”

  1. Patty Leonard Woodland November 14, 2015 at 7:39 pm #

    I know how you feel.

    • Teresa November 14, 2015 at 7:53 pm #

      Hoping you have a good winter!

  2. Margaret Birding For Pleasure November 15, 2015 at 2:33 am #

    I hope you have a good winter with yur animals

  3. hedgewitch November 15, 2015 at 10:49 am #

    They are loved, and looked after, and sometimes that is all you can do–and sometimes it is enough, things go right and all is well. Hope you and all the goats have a good winter.

    • Teresa November 15, 2015 at 2:02 pm #

      Thanks. I’ve decided goat farming is 100% luck. Sometimes it’s good and sometimes it’s bad, but it’s all luck.

  4. pattisj November 16, 2015 at 11:25 pm #

    Knowing there might be issues is at least half the battle. I’m sure you’ll do all you can to help them along. So glad your dad alerted you to Muffin’s mishap.

    • Teresa November 17, 2015 at 8:40 am #

      I am very grateful that he saw her and said something. She’s doing much better now.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

