It’s Been a Year

12 Oct

It’s been a year since Bud had his major illness with bladder stones that did not conclude until his bladder marsupialization at the end of last November.  Looking at him, it’s obvious he hasn’t dropped the twenty-five pounds that Iowa State vets suggested he lose.

wether_6784ew

For the most part he does really well.  Most of this summer, you’d have never known he had ever had anything done if you just looked at him.  Sometimes, like now, he does get a bit raw and sore, but I don’t think that can be helped with the constantly dripping urine.  Overall, he has a really good quality of life.

bladder marsupialization_6822ew

I am so grateful that I still have my Bud here. He’s such a sweet guy.

wether and geese_6819ew

I know it was very traumatic for him.  Instead of loving everyone that comes, he does get nervous around strangers and with new things, but I can’t blame him on that one.  He is starting to be more trusting again though.

14 Responses to “It’s Been a Year”

  1. Patty Leonard Woodland October 12, 2015 at 11:04 pm #

    I’m glad he’s doing OK. He’s such a pretty boy

    • Teresa October 13, 2015 at 7:56 am #

      He is handsome and sweet and funny. I’m very grateful to still have him in my life.

  2. Jeanne October 12, 2015 at 11:57 pm #

    I’ve been wondering about Bud and almost asked a couple of times recently, but I figured you had enough on your mind! He looks wonderful! I’m so glad you did this update. Thanks!

    • Teresa October 13, 2015 at 7:56 am #

      Well, Facebook reminded me that it had been a year. It’s been quite the year, but he is a shining success story.

  3. pattisj October 13, 2015 at 12:12 am #

    Poor fella. He is handsome.

    • Teresa October 13, 2015 at 7:57 am #

      On a daily basis, he’s great. I know it’s sore right now, but I just don’t know what to do to help it stay healed all the time.

  4. Margaret October 13, 2015 at 1:07 am #

    Great recovery. Love the geese

    • Teresa October 13, 2015 at 7:57 am #

      He is doing so well! Silly photobombing geese. All the time!

  5. hedgewitch October 13, 2015 at 8:10 am #

    Glad he is better–it hurts watching them hurt.

    • Teresa October 13, 2015 at 8:13 am #

      It really does.

  6. Freda Labianca October 13, 2015 at 6:18 pm #

    He’s lookin’ good. Looks like the swans are keeping good company.

    • Teresa October 13, 2015 at 6:20 pm #

      The geese were begging for food. They do that a lot. Bud really is doing well.

  7. Alica October 13, 2015 at 6:24 pm #

    I’m glad he’s doing so well!

    • Teresa October 13, 2015 at 6:35 pm #

      Me too. He’s such a funny boy. I can’t imagine how boring life would be without him.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

