Pistol Again

9 Oct

I came home from work to find that Pistol once again had her head stuck in the fence.  It wasn’t for long.  My mom had checked her not long before, but it took some work to get her out.  When I did, my plan was to lead her to the yard and let her get used to it (and Stella). Well, being Pistol, she decided she was not going to cooperate, and she ended up out in the barnyard.  The other goats were in pasture, so I tried bribing her with corn.  She ran from me.  As she ran, I could tell it was becoming painful with the pinched nerve.  I was getting nowhere with trying to catch her, so I left her for a bit, so she could calm down.  When I went back out, she still wouldn’t let me touch her, but she did walk through the gate into the yard.

Pistol Osboer

Pistol Osboer

She has been happily eating in the yard, but she’s still nervous about Stella.  Of course, she’s perfectly fine with walking up to me and getting attention now too.  I don’t think she’s going to sleep much tonight, but she has green stuff to eat, and I don’t think she’ll get her head stuck again.  Her recovery is going to drive me over the edge.  Silly Pistol.

18 Responses to “Pistol Again”

  1. Jeanne October 9, 2015 at 8:55 pm #

    I’m SO sorry this has happened! Poor girl! I was just beginning to hope that she was doing better. I pray that she will do well in the yard. At least she’s cooperating now.

    • Teresa October 9, 2015 at 9:08 pm #

      She is better, but I don’t know that she’ll ever recover completely. I do hope that with a lot of rest and time, she might be able to go back out the the Back Forty next spring. We’ll see.

  2. pattisj October 9, 2015 at 11:01 pm #

    I hope she keeps her head out of there!

    • Teresa October 10, 2015 at 8:50 pm #

      I have her in the yard now, so she can eat grass there. It seems to be working.

  3. Margaret October 9, 2015 at 11:59 pm #

    I’m out of suggestion for Pistol!

    • Teresa October 10, 2015 at 8:50 pm #

      The yard seems to be working. I just don’t want her to reinjure her back.

  4. Gattina October 10, 2015 at 4:48 am #

    Poor Pistol, not so easy to deal with !

    • Teresa October 10, 2015 at 8:51 pm #

      Never fun to have an injury. I do hope she can feel better.

  5. Jan October 10, 2015 at 5:24 am #

    Hoping for good days for Pistol! Alot of worrying for her.

    • Teresa October 10, 2015 at 8:52 pm #

      She is worrying me. I just hope she can recover enough to rejoin the herd.

  6. hedgewitch October 10, 2015 at 8:23 am #

    Poor girl! Pain and having her movements obstructed must be very disorienting and frightening for her. I hope she settles down and gets better.

    • Teresa October 10, 2015 at 8:52 pm #

      Me too. I know it will take her a long time though. I hope she can adjust to being a yard goat.

  7. Marla aka Crazy Mom October 10, 2015 at 8:25 am #

    I saw a photo one time of a goat with a dowel-rod tied length-wise to the base of a goat’s horns. The rod was wider than the panel-fence openings so that the goat couldn’t get her head thru the panel. Might be worth a try??

    • Teresa October 10, 2015 at 8:52 pm #

      She’s in the yard now, so she can eat grass. That is making her happier.

  8. Freda Labianca October 10, 2015 at 5:15 pm #

    You sure named her correctly. 🙂

    • Teresa October 10, 2015 at 8:53 pm #

      Her sister is Vinnie. I don’t use their real names in polite company. 😉

  9. janicead October 11, 2015 at 9:02 pm #

    Oh my. Hope things go better!

    • Teresa October 12, 2015 at 12:09 pm #

      She’s doing well in the yard. Hopefully, it will give her a place to heal further.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

