Love Shack in Use

28 Sep

Even though it’s not completely done, I’m glad the Love Shack is at a point where I can use it because I have Pistol in there on stall rest.

Pistol Osboer

Pistol Osboer

I hate how mean the goats get with each other when they are in heat.  Poor Pistol was completely unsuspecting when she got hit.  When I turned around, she was on her side trying to get up.  I calmed her down and let her get up.  She stood there, obviously shaken, and then she took a couple of steps, so I thought she was going to be okay.

Doe Goat_6609ew

The next night though, it became obvious that she was in pain and struggling to work her back end.

Doe Goat_6610ew

She’s on stall rest and getting pain/anti-inflammatory meds.  The vet did tell me that at this point, it was not a matter of getting better, but not getting worse.  The getting better will be a long process if it happens at all.

Doe Goat_6614ew

Seeing her peek over the door tonight gives me hope.  It also scares the daylights out of me that she’s going to aggravate the injury.  I’m also really upset because I was anticipating an adorable, funny and sassy little Pistol/Sam kid to keep as my next milking doe.  That’s not going to happen now.  Hopefully, she’ll at least recover and be able to retire happily ever after.

16 Responses to “Love Shack in Use”

  1. Jan September 28, 2015 at 9:23 pm #

    Hoping Pistol will be ok! Love that picture of her peeking out;that’s just so cute! Your love shack will be good for her to rest up.

    • Teresa September 29, 2015 at 8:46 am #

      She actually seems better. Pretty sure there’s no way she could have peeked out when I first shut her in.

  2. Patty Leonard Woodland September 28, 2015 at 9:36 pm #

    I hate when they fight. The girls get so nasty. I hope she is OK

    • Teresa September 29, 2015 at 8:46 am #

      I’ve never had one injured before, but I always cringe when they fight.

  3. Jeanne September 28, 2015 at 11:41 pm #

    I’m so sorry about that! I didn’t realize they would get so mean. Pistol is so pretty. I’ll be praying that she will be all right. Love the pic of her peeking out of the window!

    • Teresa September 29, 2015 at 8:46 am #

      Thank you. This time of year when everyone is in heat, is the worst.

  4. Margaret September 29, 2015 at 12:35 am #

    Love the last shot of her looking out.

    • Teresa September 29, 2015 at 8:47 am #

      Thanks, Margaret.

  5. hedgewitch September 29, 2015 at 7:02 am #

    Poor girl. Those aggressive instincts are very powerful, especially when mating time comes around. I hope she improves with the rest and meds.

    • Teresa September 29, 2015 at 8:47 am #

      She actually seems better, which is above and beyond what the vet suggested I could expect, so I am optimistic.

  6. Gattina September 29, 2015 at 10:23 am #

    Poor Pistol, so the love life of goats is like a wrestling in a ring ? How romantic !

    • Teresa September 29, 2015 at 11:53 am #

      Actually, it is the girls that fight when they are all in heat. Vixen hit her in the side when she wasn’t expecting it and knocked her down.

  7. Freda Labianca September 29, 2015 at 6:21 pm #

    That picture of her pretty face peeking out is beautiful. I sure hope she gets better. Will keep her in my prayers.

  8. pattisj September 29, 2015 at 10:39 pm #

    Praying for Pistol, too! Sweet face peeking out the door. So sorry you’ve both had to go through this.

    • Teresa September 30, 2015 at 6:42 am #

      Thank you. I hate when they fight, but there’s no way to stop it when there are so many hormones out there.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

