Apple Press

18 Sep

I can’t remember if I mentioned that my family all went in together and bought an apple press.  Well, last weekend it was put to use.

Apple Press_6284ew

We pressed a whole bunch of apples and got twenty-five gallons of juice.

apple pressing_6278ew

apple pressing_6279ew

Actually, my family did the apple pressing while I cleaned my north shed.  I did, however, help get rid of the leftover bits.

apple pressing_6282ew

There may have been billions of bees and a few incidents of stings.

Bees_6286ew

A repeat is planned for this weekend, all except the bees stinging.

8 Responses to “Apple Press”

  1. Jeanne September 18, 2015 at 7:21 pm #

    Oh, Teresa! Your apple press is beautiful! I’ve always been fascinated by them! My hunny’s grandad had one years and years ago. I guess he made hard cider, too! I’m sorry about the stings! Those are not fun. I hope things go better in that department this weekend!

    • Teresa September 18, 2015 at 8:00 pm #

      I think we’ll change locations and do it in my garage when it’s done next year to try and prevent stings. Until then, I think everyone survived.

  2. Anonymous September 18, 2015 at 7:25 pm #

    I remember doing this in my younger years. Alot of work,but fun! Great pictures!

    • Teresa September 18, 2015 at 8:00 pm #

      It really does get to be a lot of work when you do that many.

  3. pattisj September 18, 2015 at 9:21 pm #

    That does look like a lot of work. And bonus bee stings, too?

    • Teresa September 19, 2015 at 8:14 am #

      The bees were the worst. I can honestly say I wasn’t hardly there other than to haul away the waste, so they didn’t bother me.

  4. Margaret September 19, 2015 at 2:12 am #

    Are you going to make cider now?

    • Teresa September 19, 2015 at 8:16 am #

      Most of it will just be frozen for apple juice throughout the year. Some will hopefully be turned into wine.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

