Canning and Candles

29 Aug

I started my morning canning tomatoes.  It began with salsa.

salsa_5888ew

It ended with 7 1/2 pints of tomatoes, 8 1/2 pints of salsa, and 12 pints and 3 quarts of juice.

Canning_5883ew

This afternoon, I tried another new fragrance for candles.  This one is called harvest moon.  I think it smells like those red hot candies, the spicy cinnamon.

candles_5889ew

By the end of the evening, I had two chunk candles (one is still cooling in the mold), six votives, two containers with soy candles, and three wax melts.

Candles_5891ew
I keep making chunk candles because everyone seems to like them.  These are the lavendar ones and the new harvest moon in front.  The back is Kentish rain and two vanilla oak.

Chunk Candles_5890ew

I don’t think I had shared them before.  I’m still contemplating doing a couple more soy container candles this evening, but I might just go sit on the couch.

15 Responses to “Canning and Candles”

  1. Jan August 29, 2015 at 8:33 pm #

    You have been very busy! They’ll be so worth it this winter. Nothing better than fresh garden veggies. Your candles look wonderful;bet your house smells so good!

    • Teresa August 29, 2015 at 8:39 pm #

      It does smell good, but there are times, it’s almost overpowering. LOL

  2. Squid August 29, 2015 at 9:34 pm #

    I love the chunk candles! They are so out-of-the-ordinary and give such a cool mojo. Good luck to the rest of your canning/candling! 🙂

    • Teresa August 29, 2015 at 9:48 pm #

      Thanks! It’s certainly keeping me busy.

  3. Eileen Wise August 30, 2015 at 5:27 am #

    You are keeping busy, the homemade salsa sounds yummy! And I like teh pretty candles. Have a happy day and new week ahead!

    • Teresa August 30, 2015 at 7:24 am #

      I never had problems with boredom, that’s for sure. 🙂 Hope you have a great week.

  4. Freda Labianca August 30, 2015 at 1:34 pm #

    Chunk candles are my favorite. 🙂 Yours are lovely!

    • Teresa August 30, 2015 at 8:35 pm #

      Thanks, Freda. I enjoy doing them.

  5. Jeanne August 30, 2015 at 5:43 pm #

    Good job!! It all (tomato products as well as candles) looks beautiful! Would you mind sharing your salsa recipe? I hope that by this time you’re sitting on the couch, with your feet up!

    • Teresa August 30, 2015 at 8:35 pm #

      Well, I’m just now sitting down, but I still have things to do. We’ll see if they get done. I’ll have to try and do a blog post on the salsa when I do my next batch.

  6. Alica August 30, 2015 at 6:30 pm #

    You do so many neat things!! I would love to know how to make candles…and soap…and…sigh.

    • Teresa August 30, 2015 at 8:41 pm #

      I do enjoy soaping and candlemaking, so much that I would love to have it be my full time job. I tend to just jump into things and learn as I go.

  7. janicead August 31, 2015 at 9:51 pm #

    Bet your place smells terrific!

  8. pattisj August 31, 2015 at 10:27 pm #

    It sounds like you’ve earned a sit on the couch!

    • Teresa September 1, 2015 at 7:54 am #

      I wish… Still so much to do.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

