Extreme Rainy Day

28 Aug

Yesterday was another day we had planned on mowing hay, but we saw the rain in the forecast for today.  They were calling for locally heavy rain, with two or three inches not too far from us, so we decided not to mow.

apple raindrop_5876ew

I’m so glad we chose to wait.  So far, I think I’ve had around an inch.

goats_5875ew

About an hour to the northwest, they’ve had a record nine inch rain.  There’s a lot of flooding to the north/northwest of me.

rainy apple tree_5869ew

I’m going to be very grateful, for the lesser amount I’ve received; although, I’d love to send it to some areas that need it.

12 Responses to “Extreme Rainy Day”

  1. TexWisGirl August 28, 2015 at 5:54 pm #

    yes, wish you could will it to california and the northwest. texas would take some, too. 🙂

    • Teresa August 28, 2015 at 7:02 pm #

      I really am grateful that my weather hasn’t been worse. I still don’t have hay, but I think it might get done in the next week with the way the forecast looks. Hope you get some rain.

  2. Jan August 28, 2015 at 7:19 pm #

    It’s been dreary all day. You’ll get your hay done next week for sure! Is that apple tree laying down? Wow!

    • Teresa August 28, 2015 at 7:42 pm #

      The tree is laying down, but it’s still alive. I keep thinking it will be its last year. The yard goats really enjoyed it this year. 😉

  3. Margaret August 28, 2015 at 9:44 pm #

    I do hope the rain eases until you get e hay in.

    • Teresa August 28, 2015 at 9:53 pm #

      It’s supposed to be dry for several days now, but it’s also going to take a while to dry out enough to mow. That’s usually about the next time we get a big rain. {Sigh}

  4. Jeanne August 28, 2015 at 9:49 pm #

    That’s plenty of rain! I’m sorry some of the areas had experienced flooding.
    How long has that apple tree been lying on it’s side? It surely has a lot of apples on it! Do the goats like to eat the apples?

    • Teresa August 28, 2015 at 9:55 pm #

      It’s been a long slow process (it was planted too close to the oak tree (not by me)). The goats ate all the leaves they could reach, and a lot of the apples too. Millie loved them.

  5. Freda Labianca August 28, 2015 at 10:38 pm #

    A little drink is good, but not too much. Love the apple shot. Clever!

  6. Alica August 29, 2015 at 2:11 pm #

    Yes, it’s good you waited to mow your hay. Rained on hay is so disappointing! Hope next week the weather holds out for you!!

  7. janicead August 31, 2015 at 9:54 pm #

    Mmmmm. fresh apples!

    • Teresa September 1, 2015 at 7:53 am #

      I think they are just about ready!

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

