All About that Tomato

23 Aug

Yep.  Today was a canning day.  I got eight pints of salsa and eleven pints of plain tomatoes.  Hopefully the whole cupboard full that I have ripening will wait until Wednesday for me to do something with them.

wpid-20150823_184300.jpg

I work late tomorrow for freshman orientation, and Tuesday I have to go to the courthouse for the meeting to see whether or not I am granted the special use permit for my pumpkin patch in October.  Hopefully, I find time to take a picture of something and do a blog post.

9 Responses to “All About that Tomato”

  1. Jan August 23, 2015 at 7:48 pm #

    Nice canning! That’s wonderful! Busy woman,you are! Take care!

    • Teresa August 23, 2015 at 8:05 pm #

      Thanks, Jan. There’s nothing like home canned food.

  2. Mary Ann Yoder August 23, 2015 at 8:27 pm #

    Crossing my fingers for your pumpkin project! Canning day is one day this week for us.

    • Teresa August 23, 2015 at 10:08 pm #

      Thanks, MaryAnn. Hope you get lots of good food for this winter.

  3. Margaret Birding For Pleasure August 24, 2015 at 3:49 am #

    Gosh you have been industrious. Hope the planning goes through.

    • Teresa August 24, 2015 at 7:04 pm #

      Thanks. It’s always a good feeling to see those pantry shelves fill up.

  4. Jeanne August 24, 2015 at 10:52 pm #

    Hmm! What type of tomato do you grow? We have Early Girl, plus an heirloom called Black Krim, which have both gone into the jars for the winter….together. We enjoy mixing the flavors. We also have a cherry type this year called Indigo Blueberries! They’re actually dark blue on the plant, before they ripen! They’re beautiful and very tasty. – We don’t care for the Romas.

    • Teresa August 25, 2015 at 8:58 pm #

      I have four or five different kinds. I’m not even sure what all there is.

  5. pattisj August 28, 2015 at 10:20 pm #

    If not, you can always share more tomato pictures!

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

