An Old Goat

15 Aug

Millie is an old goat.  She is my best friend.  She is my heart and soul.

Millie_5551ew

It pains me to say that the last few days have seen a horrible decline in her health.  She’s growing thin, and her legs don’t want to support her they way they should.

Millie_5568ew

She stumbled last night and again this morning.  I’m deathly afraid she’ll fall when nobody is around and not be able to get back up.

Millie_5525ew

As hard as it is, I made the decision to call the vet to euthanize her this coming Wednesday.  I hope she’ll make it that long because I plan on spending a lot of time with her and feeding her treats and giving her kisses and just being there in these next few days.

Edit:  It seems somehow fitting that with this post, I’ve reached the milestone 2000 posts.

38 Responses to “An Old Goat”

  1. David Spitko August 15, 2015 at 4:43 pm #

    I am sorry for your coming loss. What you will do next Wednesday is your last act of love for Millie.

    • Teresa August 16, 2015 at 8:01 am #

      Thank you. It would be wrong not to help her at this time.

  2. Mary Ann Yoder August 15, 2015 at 4:45 pm #

    Oh, Teresa, just read this about your beloved Millie. I’m so sorry her time has come. I have always enjoyed reading about her… and her new little friend Sam. My heart goes out to you.

    • Teresa August 16, 2015 at 8:01 am #

      Thank you, Mary Ann. It certainly isn’t easy.

  3. TexWisGirl August 15, 2015 at 4:51 pm #

    sweet old girl, millie. i am glad you are not going to let her suffer. i hope she can give you a few more wonderful days.

    • Teresa August 16, 2015 at 8:02 am #

      Thanks. We certainly are going to do our best to enjoy these few days. Lots of treats!

  4. Jan August 15, 2015 at 5:01 pm #

    Oh I’m crying as I write this! You’re doing right by Millie! She is so precious; I love her & she’s not mine. Have so enjoyed all your pictures & stories of her! Yes, for sure-spoil her these next few days! My heart & love is with you and Millie!

    • Teresa August 16, 2015 at 8:02 am #

      It means so much to me, Jan, to know how many people have come to love Millie. Thank you.

  5. Claire Moxon August 15, 2015 at 5:53 pm #

    I knew this would be coming one day, but it doesn’t make it any easier to read it. It gives me such a lump in my throat and prompts soppy tears, partly for Millie, but mostly for you, because of how much you love her and what a difficult decision this is for you. I can only admire your strength for having made this decision, and send you lots of love from Canada. Give her a kiss from me. Blessed be, sweet Millie. xo

    • Teresa August 16, 2015 at 8:03 am #

      Thanks, Claire. She truly is a special girl, and I will miss her more than I care to admit.

  6. pattisj August 15, 2015 at 6:11 pm #

    I think you’ve tried to prepare us for this. Glad you’ll have a few special days with Millie. It would be awful to find her suffering, or knowing she had. As hard as it must be, you are doing the right thing for her. Hugs to both of you!

    • Teresa August 16, 2015 at 8:04 am #

      I know that a lot of people have come to love Millie through the years she was blogging and my blog also. I thought it was best to prepare the people that do love her.

  7. Donna August 15, 2015 at 6:34 pm #

    I am so sorry for your up coming loss. I have raised Yorkshire Terriers for 36 years and I watched them grow old just like we do. I have seen them have strokes and very few have cancer. It is heart breaking, but in my opinion you are going what is best for her and putting your feeling on the back burner. Bless you for doing this.

    • Teresa August 16, 2015 at 8:05 am #

      It really is what is best for her. It does break your heart to watch them grow old.

  8. Jennifer Gerhart August 15, 2015 at 7:04 pm #

    Oh my gosh, my heart breaks for you. We love Millie. Enjoy the time you have.

    • Teresa August 16, 2015 at 8:05 am #

      She truly is a special girl. Thanks Jen.

  9. Freda Labianca August 15, 2015 at 7:15 pm #

    My heart and prayers go out to you and Millie. (((HUGS)))

    • Teresa August 16, 2015 at 8:05 am #

      We truly appreciate it, Freda.

  10. Karen Seek August 15, 2015 at 7:19 pm #

    I am with the other’s :::just tears of sadness for you and what you have to go thru — Millie is just so precious and I have loved every minute of your posting with her and the others — please know my heart is with you ! Karen

    • Teresa August 16, 2015 at 8:06 am #

      Thanks. We truly are blessed to have so many wonderful people that have come into our lives through blogging.

  11. Muriel Gillespie Bryant August 15, 2015 at 8:52 pm #

    I admit I teared up- Thank you Millie for the joy you have brought Teresa and all of us- My heart hurts for you Teresa, but what a honorable act of love to not let her suffer.

    • Teresa August 16, 2015 at 8:06 am #

      Thanks, Muriel. It is the least I can do for her.

  12. Patty Leonard Woodland August 15, 2015 at 9:28 pm #

    I don’t even know what to write. You know how I feel. Hugs.

  13. Jeanne August 15, 2015 at 10:47 pm #

    I have tears in my eyes as I write this. I know how much you love your sweet Millie, and I have come to love her too. I know how difficult this will be for you, having been through it myself. Just know that I will be with you in my thoughts and prayers on Wednesday.
    With love,
    Jeanne

    • Teresa August 16, 2015 at 8:07 am #

      Thanks, Jeanne. We appreciate your thoughts and prayers.

  14. Margaret August 16, 2015 at 12:33 am #

    I cannot write more than all the above comments. Since I started blogging, I have got to know you and your goats but Millie is a special goat in all our hearts. Because you love her so much, you are able to let her go gracefully and painlessly. My thoughts are with you at this time. Thanks for all you have shared.

    • Teresa August 16, 2015 at 8:08 am #

      Millie really is a special girl. She has been my friend and teacher for a long time now. I truly love sharing her with the world.

  15. Anne August 16, 2015 at 12:45 am #

    I’m so glad you have this time to be together. It is the most truly selfless act a person can make……pure love.

    • Teresa August 16, 2015 at 8:08 am #

      Thank you, Anne. The kind words do help to know I’ve made the right decision.

  16. Eileen August 16, 2015 at 5:17 am #

    Aww, poor Millie! I hope she sticks around and gives you a few more days. Sending my hugs for you and Millie.

    • Teresa August 16, 2015 at 8:09 am #

      Thank you, Eileen. I do hope she can make it that long. I think so, but I am very lucky to have a vet service that responds to emergencies. They are very caring people.

  17. Pat @ Mille Fiori Favoriti August 17, 2015 at 12:15 am #

    So sorry to hear this Teresa. I know she will know you love her and are helping her. ((((Peace and hugs))))

  18. janprytz August 17, 2015 at 6:44 pm #

    Oh, I know how hard it is to make these decisions, but that’s part of what makes us human. Hope she makes it until Wednesday.

    • Teresa August 17, 2015 at 7:14 pm #

      I’m pretty sure she’ll make it until Wednesday. She’s a strong girl, but her body is so old and frail.

  19. Donna August 18, 2015 at 8:50 pm #

    So sorry about Millie. Say a goodbye for me too.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

