Crazy Days

14 Aug

My days are crazy busy right now.  I was without gas for nearly a week, so I busied myself (and tried to calm myself) by making candles.  I’m quite happy with how the jar candle holders turned out, and I’d never done chunk candles before.  I like them too.

candles_5352ew

I usually stress bake, but I couldn’t do that with no oven.  It’s a good thing I’ve had the market to bake for this summer.  Sadly, I go back to work next Thursday, so I will be done baking for the market.

Italian Bread_5357ew

Now that I have gas again, I’m really trying to get caught up with canning tomatoes.  I’m roasting and canning like crazy!

tomato sauce_5359ew

It will be a great taste of summer this winter!

22 Responses to “Crazy Days”

  1. Jan August 14, 2015 at 3:04 pm #

    Beautiful looking candles! Yes; those garden items will be tasty this winter. Sorry to hear you’re going back ” to work” already!

    • Teresa August 14, 2015 at 3:27 pm #

      Thanks, Jan. If I could find a way to farm full time (and soap and make candles) I certainly would not be going back.

  2. S. J. Qualls August 14, 2015 at 3:47 pm #

    I like your square chunk candle – very cool! Hard to believe vacation is almost over already. That was a long time to go without your stove …

    • Teresa August 14, 2015 at 8:42 pm #

      Thanks, Sharon. I’d give anything not to have to go back to work. 😦

  3. Margaret Birding For Pleasure August 14, 2015 at 4:14 pm #

    The candles looks lovely. Have alovely weekend and don’t kll yourself working!

    • Teresa August 14, 2015 at 8:42 pm #

      Thanks, Margaret. I’m sure I’ll find some time to relax. Enjoy your weekend.

  4. Mary Ann Yoder August 14, 2015 at 5:59 pm #

    Teresa, those candles are AWESOME.

    • Teresa August 14, 2015 at 8:42 pm #

      Thanks, Mary Ann.

  5. Donkey Driver August 14, 2015 at 6:47 pm #

    Good job! The candles are so pretty, and of course homemade bread and home canned tomatoes are always beautiful!

    • Teresa August 14, 2015 at 8:43 pm #

      I agree that homemade food is a beautiful sight! I love seeing my pantry fill up this time of year.

  6. Freda Labianca August 14, 2015 at 7:59 pm #

    Your chunk candles are lovely!

    • Teresa August 14, 2015 at 8:44 pm #

      Thanks, Freda! This was my first time making chunk candles, but I’m sure I’ll be making more.

  7. Alica August 14, 2015 at 8:53 pm #

    That pot of tomatoes looks good enough to eat! What all do you have in there?

    • Teresa August 14, 2015 at 9:32 pm #

      It’s roasted tomatoes with onion, bell pepper, and garlic. Then I added oregano and basil.

  8. arlene August 14, 2015 at 9:12 pm #

    I love those candles, do you also use jelly candles?

    • Teresa August 14, 2015 at 9:32 pm #

      I’ve never done gel candles.

  9. Jeanne August 14, 2015 at 11:36 pm #

    Oh, Teresa, your candles are beautiful!! Good job! And what a relief for you to have the gas back on!

    I’m sorry it’s time to go back to work. What a bummer! But I know it’s a necessary thing.

    Have a good weekend!

    • Teresa August 15, 2015 at 3:15 pm #

      It is good to have the gas back! Work off the farm certainly is a necessary evil right now.

  10. Eileen August 15, 2015 at 5:35 am #

    Hello, your candles are pretty. And your bread and tomato sauce look delicious! I am so glad you have your gas back! Have a happy weekend!

    • Teresa August 15, 2015 at 3:15 pm #

      Thanks, Eileen. I think I need to spend another day or two making candles before October.

  11. pattisj August 15, 2015 at 6:00 pm #

    The tomatoes look tasty! Glad you have your gas back. Can school be starting again so soon? Your candles turned out great. Are the block ones the large blue/green mix? Those are really pretty.

    • Teresa August 16, 2015 at 8:03 am #

      The two big ones are the chunk candles. They were a lot of fun to make!

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

