This and That Going On

9 Aug

There’s so much going on here and supposed to be going on that I thought I’d give you a few updates on those happenings.  I’ve kind of entered freak out mode for the pumpkin patch.  At least we have lots and lots of little pumpkins that are growing like crazy. pumpkin_5309ew Well, we’re still mired in mud and other jobs, so there’s sadly not a lot to say about the garage.  They started the driveway reconstruction part of the dirt work and promptly broke my gas line because it was barely underground. At least I don’t need the heat, but my stove is also gas. Driveway Work_5213ew With another three inches of rain last night, I’m not sure when the gas line will get replaced.  I’m very glad my Ranger is made to go through mud.  I’m also glad my mom left me the car keys when she left for Europe because I have a work meeting tomorrow, and I’m pretty sure my car won’t make it through the mud. mudway_5302ew Luckily, I found an old hot plate down in my basement (that’s really like new because I only ever used it once before), so Snickers is getting his egg each morning.  No worries there.

Snickers

Snickers

I also decided to test out my new (also fairly old) votive molds.  I’m going to try and have a decent stock of candles for the market this fall.  I even placed an order that I’m waiting on so I can do wax melts and new fragrances.  My old candle fragrances are so old some of them aren’t any good anymore.  It’s been years since I made candles, but they are as addictive as soap making. votive candles_5300ew Luckily, it doesn’t take the stove to make soap.   I had to make a batch of Plum Tea after this last market.  Both my new fragrances are selling quite well.  I had to make the Kentish Rain earlier in the week. goat milk soap_5307ew Finally, without a stove, I’m waiting on making my roasted tomato sauce that I want to can.  I froze a gallon of tomatoes that will get made into juice when I can can again. tomatoes_5299ew We also have sweet corn that needs frozen too.  Hopefully, I’ll have my gas back tomorrow. Sharing with The Good. The Random. The Fun.

24 Responses to “This and That Going On”

  1. S. J. Qualls August 9, 2015 at 6:42 pm #

    That IS one muddy mess! Sorry about the gas line, Murphy always comes around when a person has so much to do. Pumpkins – Yay! Are you having hay rides and pumpkins for sale this fall? You are too busy, I tell Ya.

    • Teresa August 9, 2015 at 6:44 pm #

      We are planning on doing the pick-your-own pumpkins with a hayrack ride to the patch, kids’ games, and a full market. It is very busy! And the weather is not helping. LOL

  2. Anonymous August 9, 2015 at 7:24 pm #

    Hoping you get your gas line hooked up. Yea for the pumpkins-great!!! Sorry your garage is in a “wait” period;hopefully won’t be too long! Really enjoy candles & wax melts!

    • Teresa August 10, 2015 at 2:37 pm #

      Thanks. We had more rain last night, so I’m still waiting for anything to be done.

  3. Pat August 9, 2015 at 7:48 pm #

    Pumpkins are looking good. Glad Snickers can still get his egg.

    • Teresa August 10, 2015 at 2:38 pm #

      Honestly. Snickers was my first concern with not having my stove. Silly spoiled cat.

  4. Karen Seek August 9, 2015 at 10:48 pm #

    Goodness — just a LOT of work on a farm !!!! say’s the city girl !! LOL– Pumpkins looing good and just love Snickers.

    • Teresa August 10, 2015 at 2:38 pm #

      Well, there’s a lot of wanting to do work outside. Not much is really happening. Unfortunately.

  5. Margaret August 10, 2015 at 12:12 am #

    I just do not know where you get all the energy to do all these things and you seem to be always thinking up new things to do as eel. Pity about the gas line so hope than gets fixed soon and the rain stops.

    • Teresa August 10, 2015 at 2:38 pm #

      Well, I used to do candles, so this is more of a picking up where I left off with them. It’s fun.

  6. Eileen August 10, 2015 at 5:59 am #

    Oh wow, the broken gas line sounds bad! The pumpkins do look good. And your Snickers is a cutie. The roasted tomatoes sounds yummy! Happy Monday, enjoy your new week ahead!

    • Teresa August 10, 2015 at 2:39 pm #

      They were smart enough to turn the gas off before they started, so it’s a no foul; no harm kind of thing. They just have to fix it.

  7. Jeanne August 10, 2015 at 6:31 am #

    That’s too bad about your gas line! I do hope you get it fixed soon. And the driveway, too. … The pic of Snickers is cute.
    I had to chuckle about the Murphy’s law comment!

    • Teresa August 10, 2015 at 2:40 pm #

      Murphy lives here. 😉

  8. Tamar August 10, 2015 at 12:57 pm #

    Oy! What a mess!! Hope it’s all less muddy and sorted soon.

    • Teresa August 10, 2015 at 2:40 pm #

      It really is a mess. Last night’s rain didn’t help any.

  9. jesh stg August 10, 2015 at 1:12 pm #

    Thank goodness you have a freezer! Very inconvenient to have no stove:(
    hope you’ll take a pic of your pumpkin patch when they’re ripe:) You’re so inventive making ends meet with soap and candles to sell!

    • Teresa August 10, 2015 at 2:41 pm #

      I’ll certainly take lots of pumpkin pictures all along. My off farm job makes ends meet, but I hate it. I’m really trying to take what I love and change it into a career. It’s just a slow process since I’m still buying the farm.

      • jesh stg August 10, 2015 at 2:55 pm #

        I understand, since it was a long process for me too (to become a therapist). Never ever give up on your dreams Teresa!

      • Teresa August 10, 2015 at 6:44 pm #

        Thanks for the encouragement! Glad you made yours come true.

  10. Abrianna August 10, 2015 at 2:27 pm #

    I hope you get your gas line fixed, pronto. Glad you were able to make soaps, and Snickers gets a heated egg every morning? Maybe I should try that with my cat.

    • Teresa August 10, 2015 at 2:41 pm #

      Snickers truly appreciates his egg. With cancer in his mouth, he doesn’t tolerate cat food very well.

  11. Freda Labianca August 10, 2015 at 4:59 pm #

    Hopefully the line gets fixed up fast.

    • Teresa August 10, 2015 at 5:30 pm #

      Well, we’re looking at tomorrow now. Hopefully, the dry weather in our forecast is correct.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

