Here’s Hoping for Hay

6 Aug

The weather has been much better lately.  It’s been a little while since we’ve had significant rain, and I think it’s actually dry enough to make hay now.  The tentative plan is to mow this Sunday and bale on Wednesday. Goats in pasture Luckily, the rain has kept the pasture growing, so I’ll have enough to fill my barn.  I’m not sure we’ll have much above that, but at least the animals will get food for the winter.  We’re keeping our fingers, toes, and hooves crossed that it finally gets made. Sharing with Good Fences.

31 Responses to “Here’s Hoping for Hay”

  1. TexWisGirl August 6, 2015 at 3:30 pm #

    fingers crossed the weather cooperates. thanks for linking when you have time!

    • Teresa August 6, 2015 at 9:10 pm #

      Thanks. Time has been a premium this summer. Hope you are enjoying your summer.

  2. LaVoice August 6, 2015 at 4:25 pm #

    The cows must find the grass greener next to the fence. Nice post.

    • Teresa August 6, 2015 at 9:11 pm #

      The goats are very good at keeping the fencerows clean.

  3. Ida P. Krause August 6, 2015 at 4:43 pm #

    Nice shot of the goats near the fence. Wishing you successful hay baling.

    • Teresa August 6, 2015 at 9:11 pm #

      Thanks. I really hope it gets done this time. It’s way too close to fall not to have my barn full.

  4. Jan August 6, 2015 at 5:03 pm #

    fingers,toes & hooves crossed! Very cute! Yes, I’ll keep mine crossed for your hay baling also!

    • Teresa August 6, 2015 at 9:12 pm #

      Thanks! We can use all the good vibes possible for getting the hay done.

  5. Freda Labianca August 6, 2015 at 6:15 pm #

    Hopefully they rain stays away so you can get it done this time.

    • Teresa August 6, 2015 at 9:12 pm #

      Thanks. I hope so too.

  6. Donkey Driver August 6, 2015 at 6:25 pm #

    Pretty picture.

    • Teresa August 6, 2015 at 9:12 pm #

      Thanks, it’s always beautiful out there.

  7. Mary Ann Yoder August 6, 2015 at 6:56 pm #

    They are haying like crazy down here now!

    • Teresa August 6, 2015 at 9:12 pm #

      I’m sure. They are here too.

  8. Margaret August 6, 2015 at 7:40 pm #

    That is wonderful news Teresa

    • Teresa August 6, 2015 at 9:13 pm #

      I hope it actually happens this time.

  9. Pat August 6, 2015 at 8:48 pm #

    That fenceline grass must be tasty.

    • Teresa August 6, 2015 at 9:13 pm #

      They love all those mulberry bushes and stuff that the birds “plant” there. My fences are very clean where the goats are.

  10. Jennifer Gerhart August 6, 2015 at 9:15 pm #

    We are mowing Sunday and baling Wednesday too. Here’s hoping!

    • Teresa August 7, 2015 at 11:56 am #

      Good luck. Sounds like there might be rain on Saturday/Sunday now. Hope it stays south of us.

  11. jesh stg August 7, 2015 at 1:26 am #

    Hope you’ll have enough and in time:)

    • Teresa August 7, 2015 at 11:57 am #

      I really don’t need to start feeding hay until the snow falls or it gets really cold, so it should all work out. It just stresses me out until my barn is full.

      • jesh stg August 7, 2015 at 2:27 pm #

        I understand – I probably would be stressed too:):)

  12. Eileen Wise August 7, 2015 at 4:43 am #

    I hope the weather cooperates with your mowing and baling. Happy Friday, enjoy your weekend!

    • Teresa August 7, 2015 at 11:57 am #

      I hope it does too. I will feel much better when the barn is full of hay.

  13. Jeanne August 7, 2015 at 1:06 pm #

    That’s a great picture! I surely hope the weather cooperates for your hay making! It sure is nice to have a full barn.

    • Teresa August 7, 2015 at 1:09 pm #

      There is nothing like that feeling of a barn full of good hay!

  14. Coloring Outside the Lines August 7, 2015 at 1:49 pm #

    Hope the weather cooperates. We bought round bales this year and the barn is full. I’m glad it’s done.

    • Teresa August 7, 2015 at 3:26 pm #

      I’m not a fan of round bales for goats, but they were great for the cows! I am really optimistic we’ll get it done this time.

  15. EG CameraGirl August 8, 2015 at 6:49 am #

    Gosh, I sure hope the weather is cooperating with you!

    • Teresa August 8, 2015 at 9:10 am #

      Um. It’s raining. Again. Hopefully, we won’t get so much that it will prevent us from mowing.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

