First of the Month Up North

4 Aug

It’s time to update what’s going on up north.  I have a lot to share this time.  The hay was mowed and rained on way too much.

hay wagon_4815ew

They finally raked it into windrows.

Hayrows_4709ew

There’s not much good left in this hay, but my brother-in-law feeds enough animals, and it will be mixed with good hay, so it adds bulk.  Besides, we had to get it off the ground so it didn’t kill the alfalfa and grass under it.  He chopped it this past weekend.  Not a lot of people chop hay anymore, but it’s quite efficient and has less spoilage than about any other way of storing hay.

hay chopping_4710ew

The guy that tore my garage down is also doing some work up north.  He’s cleared the cougar cages and the remains of the old trailer.  I’m liking the “nothing there” look.

Cleanup_4812ew

He’s cleaned around the building, and I’m hoping he’ll get the rest of the concrete as soon as the garage dirt work is done.  With the hay being made and the scrub brush cleared, that means we can actually get to the building to work on it now.

Shed_4813ew

On my way to the pumpkin patch, I saw the old dead tree fell on the gate.  Fun. Fun.

tree on gate

Finally, the pumpkin plants are growing.

Pumpkin patch

I was thrilled when I saw a nice sized pumpkin right on the edge of the patch, but there weren’t as many as I would have liked to see.  The damp weather has been really bad for them.  Hopefully, we’ll stay dry and there will be a lot more.

pumpkins_4819ew

At least I’m seeing a lot more female blossoms now.  I didn’t see any a couple of weeks ago.

pumpkin blossom

I’ve also been doing paperwork, so hopefully the Eden Hills pumpkin patch will become a reality this fall.

20 Responses to “First of the Month Up North”

  1. WolfSong August 4, 2015 at 2:37 pm #

    Exciting to see pumpkins!! 🙂
    I’m still in the boy flower only stage, but I’m hoping with this cooler weather we’re seeing, a couple of girls will set.
    So happy to see things are progressing for you…even with the damp weather!

    • Teresa August 4, 2015 at 2:40 pm #

      I was happy to see the female ones last week. I am very anxious for this patch to do well. I have noticed a couple of smaller pumpkins now.

  2. Margaret August 4, 2015 at 2:38 pm #

    You certainly seems to be getting on well with all the cleaning and the Pumpkin patch looks great. Hope you get some sun soon ( so do I )

    • Teresa August 4, 2015 at 2:40 pm #

      When the weather has been cooperative, we’ve made good progress this summer. Here’s to good weather for everyone!

  3. Jan August 4, 2015 at 3:29 pm #

    Busy! Don’t you love it? Sorry your hay wasn’t top notch;but there will be more. Glad you can mix it. Pumpkin patch looks great; come on pumpkins!!! 🙂 Glad you can get to your building now. Sorry about the tree smashing your gate!

    • Teresa August 4, 2015 at 4:01 pm #

      This isn’t hay I use for my goats; it’s payment for doing my hay. I do feel bad it wasn’t better, but this has been a hard year to make hay.

  4. Freda Labianca August 4, 2015 at 8:16 pm #

    Lovely pumpkin and squash flowers! I like the latter deep-fried. YUM!

    • Teresa August 4, 2015 at 8:34 pm #

      Those are all pumpkin flowers! They aren’t getting fried. They have work to do making lots of pumpkins for my patch. LOL

  5. pattisj August 4, 2015 at 11:13 pm #

    It’s looking good around there. The progress has to be satisfying.

    • Teresa August 5, 2015 at 8:46 am #

      It is very exciting to see things getting done!

  6. Jeanne August 5, 2015 at 12:22 am #

    It’s nice to see all that work being done. Too bad about the gate. That’s one lovely pumpkin and I hope there’ll be lots more.

    • Teresa August 5, 2015 at 8:47 am #

      I assume the pumpkins will really start developing now. That one early one had me all excited though.

  7. Eileen Wise August 5, 2015 at 3:18 am #

    Your pumpkin patch look good, I hope there will be lots more. Have a great day!

    • Teresa August 5, 2015 at 8:47 am #

      Thanks, Eileen. I usually have pretty good luck with pumpkins (although I’ve never grown this many before), so I assume they will really start setting now.

  8. Victoria Howell August 5, 2015 at 10:21 am #

    Teresa, how is “chopped hay” stored? Like silage?

    • Teresa August 5, 2015 at 10:54 am #

      Because it is dry hay, it doesn’t have to be in plastic. In fact, air circulating is good. They blow it into the barn and can fill it from floor to ceiling. There is no wasted space in the barn that way. They just pitch it over to the cows.

  9. Pat August 5, 2015 at 3:03 pm #

    Looks like lots of progress being made. The fall pumpkin patch will be fun.

    • Teresa August 5, 2015 at 3:10 pm #

      I really hope it’s a success!

  10. itsallaboutpurple August 6, 2015 at 1:50 pm #

    so much work, being a farmer and so much depends on the weather. i hope the pumpkin patch works out!!!

    • Teresa August 6, 2015 at 9:09 pm #

      Farming and construction both depend on the weather. It’s killing me. LOL

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

