The Bottle Kids

30 Jul

The bottle kids are doing well.  Fozzy Bear is an old pro at being a bottle kid.  I’ll probably cut him down to one bottle a day soon.  That will encourage him to eat more grass and hay.

Fozzy Bear

Fozzy Bear

I’m not sure how he can eat the way he gets his head upside down.  I gave him a new nipple, and he just keeps turning until his head is upside down.

bottle kid_4639ew

Reddy looks like he’s not sure how Fozzy can eat that way either.  You can see a video HERE (beware the noisy rooster).

bottle kids_4641ew

Reddy finally got his bottle.  He’s doing much better; although he’s still not looking great.

Reddy

Reddy

Ruff is doing better too, but there are no pictures of him because he pretends to be scared of me, so I have to catch him.  Then I have to open his mouth for him and put the nipple in.  Then he sucks so fast and hard that he collapses the bottle.

20 Responses to “The Bottle Kids”

  1. TexWisGirl July 30, 2015 at 9:41 pm #

    i hope they all get stronger soon.

    • Teresa July 30, 2015 at 9:42 pm #

      Me too. It’s been a rough summer with all this rain. I’ll never try to let Blaze raise more than one baby ever again.

  2. Margaret Birding For Pleasure July 31, 2015 at 4:18 am #

    Well all you kids have different characters but I am glad they can all take the bottle

    • Teresa July 31, 2015 at 9:05 am #

      They really all do have unique personalities.

      • Margaret Birding For Pleasure July 31, 2015 at 12:25 pm #

        HI Theresa I forgot to tell you although I am sure you have no time listen.
        Just to let you know that I will be on BBC Radio Ulster this Sunday 2 August between 2.00pm -3.00pm in a programme called “Time of our Lives”. I recorded it yesterday. If you miss it on Sunday, you can hear it on IPlayer Radio at http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b06447zw

        If you wish to hear my Irish voice!

      • Teresa July 31, 2015 at 12:33 pm #

        How exciting!

  3. Alica July 31, 2015 at 4:53 am #

    I remember taking care of our neighbors’ bottle kids just for a weekend a few years ago. I was so much fun…but so much work! You are such a dedicated goat mama! That silly little goat…I can’t imagine that it would be comfortable drinking like that either, but oh well… 🙂

    • Teresa July 31, 2015 at 9:05 am #

      They are great. It’s always nice to have one bottle kid, but I like to start them out as a bottle kid and not have it be due to problems.

  4. Jan July 31, 2015 at 5:53 am #

    Oh so cute how Fozzy drinks the bottle. Enjoyed your video! Hoping they’re all getting stronger!

    • Teresa July 31, 2015 at 9:06 am #

      Thanks. They are certainly improving. Fozzy Bear is about to be weaned (don’t tell him).

  5. Eileen Wise July 31, 2015 at 7:03 am #

    AWWW, your bottle kids are so cute. I hope they all do OK. Have a happy weekend!

    • Teresa July 31, 2015 at 9:06 am #

      Ruff and Reddy are gaining weight and looking better. They will be fine. It will just take them a while to look good and healthy like everyone else.

  6. CountryMum July 31, 2015 at 4:39 pm #

    How adorable. Glad that they have all taken to the bottle.

    • Teresa July 31, 2015 at 9:55 pm #

      They don’t always take a bottle when they’ve started on their mom, so I’m very glad they are taking it.

  7. Freda Labianca July 31, 2015 at 5:35 pm #

    Oh, but Reddy sure is a sweetface!

    • Teresa July 31, 2015 at 9:55 pm #

      He really does. He’s a pretty sweet kid.

  8. Jeanne August 1, 2015 at 5:16 am #

    What a sweet bunch of kiddos! I can’t for the life of me figure out how Fozzy Bear can get his head upside down, though!

    • Teresa August 1, 2015 at 8:14 am #

      No kidding. And then to suck and swallow. I’m amazed!

  9. pattisj August 4, 2015 at 10:58 pm #

    Fozzy Bear is a cutie, and turning his head so. Silly boy. It sounds like Ruff is suitably named. 😉

    • Teresa August 5, 2015 at 8:45 am #

      Fozzy Bear is a monster about the bottle. He’s funny.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

