Kicked Out

29 Jul

I had to kick my yard goats out of the yard.  When I went out to check my garden this morning, my peppers had been eaten.  The plants were pretty leafless.  On a good note, the goats didn’t eat the actual peppers, and I was able to chop and freeze about a gallon of bell peppers.

pepper collage

 

The only reason I hadn’t already returned the goats to the north part was the lack of shelter.  Well, my son and nephew helped me put a Quonset hut in the north paddock, so it creates more shelter up there.

Hilda, Sam, and Hazel

Hilda, Sam, and Hazel

Sam is amazingly healthy considering how sick he was when I got home from Iowa City.  When I moved him, I checked his eyelids, and they are bright red!  Hilda seems to be doing well, and as long as she doesn’t pig out on corn again, she shouldn’t have diarrhea anymore.  Hopefully Hazel has grown enough that she can’t get out anymore.

Saanen buckling_4629ew

Fozzy Bear and Sugar were happy to be reunited.  I’ll just keep an eye on Yolanda to make sure her brother being back with them doesn’t cause her not to get enough to eat.

Sugar and Fozzy Bear

Sugar and Fozzy Bear

Then there’s Millie.  I left her in the yard.  I could never kick her out.

Saanen doe_4623ew

I love my old lady, and I’ll let her decide if she wants to stay in the yard by herself (although she has company in the same building and across the fence, so she isn’t alone) or if she wants to go back up north.

Sharing with Alphabe-Thursday for the letter K.  K is for kicked out!

38 Responses to “Kicked Out”

  1. Jan July 29, 2015 at 4:11 pm #

    I just love Millies face! She’s adorable! Wow; you got alot of peppers to freeze. Think they’ll grow anymore? Glad your son & nephew could help you. Little Sam is a real cutie!

    • Teresa July 29, 2015 at 5:00 pm #

      There are some plants that still have a few leaves. I’m hoping those will recover and at least give me a few peppers along. If we don’t frost too soon.

  2. SarahBeth ~ Along Magnolia Lane July 29, 2015 at 4:14 pm #

    tsk tsk, those naughty goats! At least they left you the bell peppers! Fozzy Bear is so cute, and Millie has such a sweet expression who could turn her down for anything!!

    • Teresa July 29, 2015 at 5:00 pm #

      I can handle them eating the peppers, but I’d cry if they ate my tomatoes. LOL Millie is a sweet girl.

  3. Mary Ann Yoder July 29, 2015 at 4:17 pm #

    I was just wondering if Milly would be lonely!

    • Teresa July 29, 2015 at 5:01 pm #

      She has company just across a fence. At her age she can’t go out to pasture. Most of her days are spent lying and looking out at the yard. If she seems to want company, I’ll move her with the others, but I don’t want her to get picked on either.

  4. TexWisGirl July 29, 2015 at 5:35 pm #

    glad all are doing well!

    • Teresa July 29, 2015 at 6:55 pm #

      They are. Even Millie is as well as she can be.

  5. artmusedog and carol July 29, 2015 at 5:59 pm #

    Oh your goats are so adorable and great shots as always ~ You are working so hard every time I read your post ~ be well ~ hugs to all your cuties!!

    Happy Week to you,
    artmusedog and carol

    • Teresa July 29, 2015 at 6:55 pm #

      It’s,always,busy on a farm. Hope you have a great week.

  6. Karen Seek July 29, 2015 at 6:41 pm #

    All the sweetness with the little stinkers as well –LOL

    • Teresa July 29, 2015 at 6:54 pm #

      Yeah. I’m way more fond of the goats than the peppers.

  7. Freda Labianca July 29, 2015 at 6:52 pm #

    I look forward to your goat pics. Always leaves me with a smile.

    • Teresa July 29, 2015 at 6:56 pm #

      Glad we can put a smile on your face.

  8. Pat July 29, 2015 at 9:32 pm #

    Naughty goats! Glad you were able to harvest the peppers. I’m happy to know the goats are doing well.

    • Teresa July 30, 2015 at 4:48 pm #

      They are doing really well. I’m hoping a couple of the pepper plants might recover.

  9. Jeanne July 29, 2015 at 11:20 pm #

    I guess pepper leaves must taste more mild than the peppers themselves. I wouldn’t have thought of it, until you wrote this. I’m glad you were able to save some peppers! Naughty goats! Little Sam is so cute!

    • Teresa July 30, 2015 at 4:50 pm #

      I do adore Sam! He is going to give me beautiful dairy babies!

  10. Margaret Birding For Pleasure July 30, 2015 at 12:40 am #

    Glad you were able to save your pepers. The goats are all looking lovely. Good to ge them out of the yard

    • Teresa July 30, 2015 at 4:51 pm #

      It was nice of them to leave the peppers. Hopefully, some will recover to give me fall peppers.

  11. Eileen Wise July 30, 2015 at 5:04 am #

    I guess the goats do no like peppers. Sounds like they all are doing well. That is great. I love them all they are so cute! Enjoy your day!

    • Teresa July 30, 2015 at 4:52 pm #

      They really don’t seem to want to eat the peppers. Just the leaves. I guess that’s a good thing.

  12. EG CameraGirl July 30, 2015 at 7:45 am #

    Oh, those naughty little brats! ;)) Interesting they like the leaves but not the peppers. I hope the goats continue to do well now that they’ve been let out of the backyard.

    • Teresa July 30, 2015 at 4:52 pm #

      I’ll keep an eye on them. At least my yard and garden has helped them regain their health.

  13. Rocky Mountain Woman July 30, 2015 at 11:19 am #

    Love your update on your cuties!

  14. Alica July 30, 2015 at 8:29 pm #

    Thank goodness those weren’t hot peppers!! 🙂

    • Teresa July 30, 2015 at 8:32 pm #

      Well, they ate almost all the Anaheim chili and bell peppers. The jalapinos fared better.

      • Alica July 31, 2015 at 4:55 am #

        Our dog (??!!) got into my hot peppers one year, and we had to give her Benadryl in bread to get the horrible swelling down. Her poor face was so swollen, mostly from her rubbing her eyes with her paws.

      • Teresa July 31, 2015 at 9:05 am #

        Poor dog!

  15. annkitsuetchinann July 30, 2015 at 9:13 pm #

    Now I have learned what a Quonset hut is.

    • Teresa July 30, 2015 at 9:20 pm #

      Yep. They come in all sizes. This is one of the smaller ones they make.

  16. Su-sieee! Mac July 31, 2015 at 10:45 pm #

    I like coming over and seeing what your guys and gals are doing.
    The View from the Top of the Ladder

    • Teresa August 1, 2015 at 8:14 am #

      Thanks, Susie. There’s always something going on around here.

  17. Sarah August 2, 2015 at 1:13 am #

    Your goats make me smile!

    • Teresa August 2, 2015 at 8:49 am #

      So glad to hear that! They make me smile too (when I’m not mad that they ate my garden).

  18. Jenny Matlock August 25, 2015 at 3:50 pm #

    Do the bright red eyelids indicate a kind of sickness or just a sickness in general?

    I’m glad they spared the peppers in their munching!

    Thanks for a kool link for the letter K.

    A+

    • Teresa August 25, 2015 at 9:00 pm #

      Bright red is healthy! If they are pale or white, it’s a sign of severe anemia. He had picked up worms and become anemic, so I was confident he was healthy again because of the red eyelids.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

