Raindrops Keep Falling

27 Jul

To my knowledge, we really didn’t have rain in the forecast for today.  Just like last Friday, the radar lit up, and we’re getting more rain.  We’ve had more rain than we need.  I’d love to share with some of those places desperate for rain.

weather ew

The hay is still down getting rained on in the buffer strips.  Luckily we haven’t mowed the Back Forty (where my hay comes from).  I have to admit, it is still going to give me some decent hay if we can ever get a long enough stretch without rain to make it because all the rain has kept the new grass growing.  That’s also why I still haven’t let my June moms out there.  Their kids would never be able to make it through the jungle. (By the way, the image below also illustrates why I don’t like yard goats.  That is the patio just outside my back door.)

rain_4576ew

They were almost done with the dirt work for the garage when the rain came Friday.  It also rained some Saturday night, and now this.  That means the equipment is just sitting there.  Again, there’s good news though. The pad has done really well with all the rain.  It hasn’t washed.  I’d still like to see the garage go up soon.  The two bucks are not thrilled with their mini-shelter.

Bulldozer in rain_4573ew I’d like to get stuff done outside.  My whole garden needs weeded.  At least it’s giving me produce despite competing with all the weeds.

Garden_4557w

I really was hoping to get some of that weeding done today after it dried out a bit more.  Yeah, that’s not going to happen now.

Sharing with The Good. The Random. The Fun. and Song-ography.  I’ve been stuck with the song Raindrops Keep Falling by B. J. Thomas.

24 Responses to “Raindrops Keep Falling”

  1. Margaret July 27, 2015 at 3:51 pm #

    You have rain and we have rain. Where is the summer? Certainly not here in Northern Ireland!

    • Teresa July 27, 2015 at 3:56 pm #

      I’m in the middle of the United States, while the western states are baking. Wish it could even out a bit.

  2. Abrianna July 27, 2015 at 4:42 pm #

    We had rain this morning here too, which is a bit unusual. Not the rain as summer is the rainy season here but usually we get rain in the afternoons. Hope things dry out for you soon.

    • Teresa July 27, 2015 at 4:43 pm #

      Thanks. We need a good dry stretch to get hay made and my garage, too!

  3. Freda Labianca July 27, 2015 at 6:14 pm #

    They called for thunderstorms but we have yet to see any around here. Too bloody hot.

    • Teresa July 27, 2015 at 6:21 pm #

      This was a most of the afternoon rain (still coming down) that wasn’t predicted. We really need a solid week without rain. Hope you cool down.

  4. Tamar July 27, 2015 at 7:40 pm #

    So glad you’re getting rain!

    • Teresa July 27, 2015 at 7:44 pm #

      It would be nice if it would stop. We’ve had way too much.

  5. TexWisGirl July 27, 2015 at 8:00 pm #

    we haven’t seen rain in about a month so send it down, please. 🙂 nah, send it west first.

    • Teresa July 27, 2015 at 8:18 pm #

      I would love to share. We’re just sloppy wet where I’m at, not flooding, but it’s so hard to get anything done and others need it so desperately.

  6. jesh stg July 27, 2015 at 8:34 pm #

    Yeah, we are desperate for rain! Makes everything feel and look so fresh -the downside are the weeds!

    • Teresa July 27, 2015 at 10:06 pm #

      I certainly would be happy to share.

  7. Pat July 27, 2015 at 9:39 pm #

    Hope you get a dry spell soon.

  8. elizabethfstewart July 28, 2015 at 12:49 am #

    We had rain over the weekend. A blessing here, after weeks of drought.

    • Teresa July 28, 2015 at 8:13 am #

      Glad you’ve gotten a bit of relief from the drought.

  9. tomthebackroadstraveller July 28, 2015 at 5:12 am #

    Well, we have a dry spell now, please send a bit of rain. Tom The Backroads Traveller

    • Teresa July 28, 2015 at 8:13 am #

      I would dearly love to share some extra rain with you. We’re supposed to have more today.

  10. Eileen July 28, 2015 at 5:43 am #

    Sorry about all the rain, California really needs the rain. I feel bad for those having the wildfires. we have had a lot of rain here too, I would not mind sharing. Wishing you some sunny days ahead.

    • Teresa July 28, 2015 at 8:13 am #

      Thanks, Eileen. Hope you get some sunshine too.

  11. Patti G July 28, 2015 at 8:08 am #

    Michigan has finally had a dry stretch for a little over a week now! Summer has hit us with hot & humid this week, but it’s giving things a chance to dry out & the mosquitoes to dry out & die as well!

    • Teresa July 28, 2015 at 8:14 am #

      The mosquitoes are horrible here too! Glad you’re getting a chance to dry out.

  12. pattisj July 29, 2015 at 10:05 pm #

    My weather app tells me there’s a slight chance of rain, but it has yet to materialize. I think you’re getting all of it. 😉 I went out to fill the birdbaths and water a few plants. I noticed the Snow-on-the-Mountain looked overwhelmed, so I showered it with the hose. Our new little yard bunny skedaddled out of there! It surprised me, because I came out the door right next to the bed and would have thought that would have frightened it.

    • Teresa July 30, 2015 at 4:49 pm #

      It’s good of you to have birdbaths for your feathered friends.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

