Surprise Babies

17 Jul

I knew I had a peahen sitting on a nest, but I wasn’t expecting them to hatch yet.  I guess I lost a week in Iowa City.  Anyhow, a couple days ago, I saw she had two babies with her.

peachicks_3832ew

They are doing well.  She’s even taking them outside.

peahen and chicks_3881ew

peachicks_3884ew

They did lose mom, but someone had the idea to go over the 2×6 to get to her.  The first one made it no problems, but the second one didn’t fare so well.

peachick collage

Don’t worry.  The family was all together again after the baby picked him/herself up and tried it again.

peachicks_3885ew

It’s been a long time since we’ve had any peachicks make it to adulthood.  Hopefully, these two will do it.

24 Responses to “Surprise Babies”

  1. Margaret July 17, 2015 at 4:00 pm #

    How gorgeous they are. I do hope they will grew into adults.

    • Teresa July 18, 2015 at 8:21 am #

      They are adorable little ones.

  2. Jan July 17, 2015 at 4:23 pm #

    Very cute! Yes; hopefully, they’ll make it & not get stepped on!

    • Teresa July 18, 2015 at 8:22 am #

      They seem to have problems with drowning. At least without ducks, I can hopefully eliminate that concern. Then there’s cats and freak wind storms. :-/

  3. TexWisGirl July 17, 2015 at 4:37 pm #

    they’re adorable!!! hope they make it!

    • Teresa July 18, 2015 at 8:23 am #

      Me too. The mom that hatched these is one of the last ones successfully raised.

  4. Mary Ann Yoder July 17, 2015 at 4:42 pm #

    Beautiful chicks! Good luck! We still have a stop-movement due to H2N5 down here, so no birds can be sold or transferred so no auction (with peacocks) this fall.

    • Teresa July 18, 2015 at 8:24 am #

      We have that too. I don’t plan on moving these anyhow. Just hope there’s not a guy. I’m not sure how three in the same area would do. Of course, I’m surprised the two are getting along.

  5. S. J. Qualls July 17, 2015 at 5:25 pm #

    So cute, I hope they make it!

  6. Jeanne July 17, 2015 at 5:53 pm #

    Oh my! They’re really adorable! I’ve never seen peachicks before. I hope they make it to adults! It would be fun to watch them grow up.

    • Teresa July 18, 2015 at 8:25 am #

      They are adorable.

  7. Freda Labianca July 17, 2015 at 8:11 pm #

    Oh, they sure are adorable!

    • Teresa July 18, 2015 at 8:27 am #

      They are. For some reason the baby peachicks always remind me of what I think a baby ostrich should look like.

  8. Pat July 17, 2015 at 10:46 pm #

    They’re so cute.

    • Teresa July 18, 2015 at 8:27 am #

      Aren’t all babies adorable!

  9. Mascha July 17, 2015 at 11:06 pm #

    So cute! Good luck for them.
    Have a nice weekend

    • Teresa July 18, 2015 at 8:27 am #

      They will need it. It’s hard to grow up as a little bird.

  10. Eileen July 18, 2015 at 6:31 am #

    OH my, they are cuties. Adorable chicks and photos. Have a happy weekend!

    • Teresa July 18, 2015 at 8:28 am #

      Thanks, Eileen. Hope you have a great weekend too.

  11. pattisj July 22, 2015 at 8:26 pm #

    What a wonderful surprise! I love watching young birds come to the feeder. It takes them a few tries to balance on the perch, or get through the “cage” that keeps the pigeons out. Always makes me smile. Hope these little ones get to grow up.

    • Teresa July 22, 2015 at 9:03 pm #

      They are both doing well so far; although, they’ve figured out how to get out of the bird area and are out with the goats a lot of the time.

      • pattisj July 22, 2015 at 9:18 pm #

        Maybe they think they’re goats. 😉

      • Teresa July 22, 2015 at 9:46 pm #

        They like the green stuff. Wish I could let my birds free range, but it’s too dangerous.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

