The Panic Before I Left

12 Jul

Last Sunday I was frantically trying to get ready to leave the farm.  In the midst of that rush, I thought Fozzy Bear looked like he was wobbly.  He looked fine, but I caught him and then I could feel ribs and backbone.  Sugar wasn’t making enough milk to feed two kids.

Kids Nursing_3301ew

In the ensuing panic of trying to figure out what to do, he did greedily take a bottle.  That’s good.

Sugar and Fozzy Bear

Sugar and Fozzy Bear

Sometimes when a kid is started on their mom, it’s impossible to get them to take a bottle.  At least I knew I could feed him.  I had to get him away from his mom though.  Sugar would likely be able to feed Yolanda if she got all of her mom’s milk.

kid nursing_3282ew

The only thing I could think of to do was beg my neighbors to take him home with them while I was gone.  They had just taken Ursula to give her a forever farm, so I knew they were already feeding bottle kids, and I could send milk too.  Do you know how awesome my neighbors are?  They took him home!  He’s back here now, and I don’t know what to do with him.

Goat Family_3703ew

I can’t put him with his mom because she wants to feed him.  He wants to nurse her.  I can’t convince them that he should just take a bottle.

Kid Fence_3720ew

I have him shut in the yard with Hazel, Hilda and Sam, but that’s another story for another day.

Buckling Goat_3711ew

Just to make things even more fun, now Fozzy Bear now has diarrhea and is horribly congested.  I’m assuming it’s from the weakened immune system from being starved, moving back and forth, and our crazy wet, hot-and-cold weather.

20 Responses to “The Panic Before I Left”

  1. Jan July 12, 2015 at 4:13 pm #

    Sorry to hear about Fozzys’ problems;hopefully he gets better soon! Poor Sugar too,wanting to nurse him & couldn’t. Like the pictures of Fozzy trying to get through the fence! 🙂

    • Teresa July 12, 2015 at 4:15 pm #

      He’s feeling better this afternoon. Hopefully the one dose of Pepto is all it’s going to take.

  2. Jeanne July 12, 2015 at 4:27 pm #

    Oh poor, sweet Fozzy Bear! I hope he and his mama will both be okay. I didn’t know you could give goats Pepto, too…We give it to our dogs when they need it.

    • Teresa July 12, 2015 at 4:29 pm #

      It is one that works well for goats with an upset tummy and doesn’t interfere with rumen function.

  3. Margaret July 12, 2015 at 4:50 pm #

    Oh dear you could have done without that drama before leaving. Hope all is well now.

    • Teresa July 12, 2015 at 4:57 pm #

      He seems to be doing better this evening.

  4. Patty Leonard Woodland July 12, 2015 at 4:57 pm #

    Poor little dude

    • Teresa July 12, 2015 at 5:13 pm #

      I feel so bad for this rough start, but he seems to be much better tonight.

  5. Pat July 12, 2015 at 5:25 pm #

    Poor little guy. He’s all confused.

    • Teresa July 12, 2015 at 6:03 pm #

      He is. It’s like being weaned at three weeks. Poor boy.

  6. Karen Seek July 12, 2015 at 5:35 pm #

    Hope things will be ok — he is really a cutie patootie goatie!

    • Teresa July 12, 2015 at 6:03 pm #

      He is doing better this evening. It will take him a couple of days to adjust and decide to hang out with the other goats in the yard.

  7. Mary Ann Yoder July 12, 2015 at 5:40 pm #

    Welcome home!

  8. Anonymous July 12, 2015 at 5:58 pm #

    Oh no! Hate that he isn’t feeling good!

    • Teresa July 12, 2015 at 6:03 pm #

      Me too. We’ve had such horrible weather it’s amazing more aren’t sick.

  9. Eileen July 13, 2015 at 5:47 am #

    Aww, I feel sorry for the sweet Fozzy Bear! I hope he is ok now and drinking his bottles. Adorable photos of all the goats! Have a happy day and new week ahead!

    • Teresa July 13, 2015 at 8:19 am #

      He’s back to being a sweet bouncy boy this morning! Amazing the difference a day can make.

  10. Freda Labianca July 13, 2015 at 2:20 pm #

    Poor lil guy. I hope his tummy feels better soon.

    • Teresa July 13, 2015 at 2:53 pm #

      He seems to be fully recovered today. He’s bouncing on the patio furniture. LOL

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

