Garden Progress

5 Jul

I haven’t been able to spend much time in the garden with all the wet weather we’ve had, but it seems to be thriving on the lack of attention.

Garden_3172e

catbird by pepper plants

catbird by pepper plants and pie pumpkins in the back

cabbage, onions and garlic

cabbage, onions and garlic

beets

beets

zucchini

zucchini

tomatoes

tomatoes

tomato blossoms

tomato blossoms

basil

basil

I did manage to cultivate and do some weeding since these pictures were taken on Friday, so it looks better now. Sadly, my first picking will probably be zucchini while I’m gone.

15 Responses to “Garden Progress”

  1. Jan July 5, 2015 at 4:01 pm #

    yes, with all the rain & humid weather;weeds thrive! Been hard to keep up here also. You have a huge garden. 🙂 Enjoy your time away!

    • Teresa July 5, 2015 at 4:13 pm #

      Thanks. Not sure taking a class when everything is crazy at home is really something I’ll enjoy, but I’ll get through it. Thankfully, I have a great family and friends.

  2. Mary Ann Yoder July 5, 2015 at 4:41 pm #

    The zucchini does look ready!

    • Teresa July 5, 2015 at 4:42 pm #

      It’s very close. I might actually get to pick that one before I leave, but that’s just not fair. LOL

  3. Pat July 5, 2015 at 9:03 pm #

    YOur garden looks good.

    • Teresa July 6, 2015 at 8:14 am #

      That’s a perk of living in Iowa. Great soil!

  4. Jeanne July 5, 2015 at 11:20 pm #

    Yup! Your garden is doing well! Especially the tomatoes! Our tomatoes are NOT doing as well as yours! In fact, one of the Early Girls doesn’t even have any fruit on it! Your zucchini looks like just the right size for us! Our garden plot is only about 12′ x 12′ !! If you have a small yard you have a small garden!

    • Teresa July 6, 2015 at 8:16 am #

      I love having my big garden. I get to can a lot of my food and keep having that garden goodness all winter long too.

  5. Eileen July 6, 2015 at 3:28 am #

    Your garden looks awesome. I love the zucchini. I can not wait for my tomatoes. I hope you get to enjoy the harvest. Have a happy day!

    • Teresa July 6, 2015 at 8:17 am #

      Thanks, Eileen. There’s nothing better than food from your own garden!

  6. Mrs M R Adamson Adamson July 6, 2015 at 1:57 pm #

    HI Theresa Nature is quite good at taking care of itself for a whike without humans so go away and enjoy your teaching week knowing that friends and family are going ot look after things for you.

    • Teresa July 6, 2015 at 2:13 pm #

      Thanks. I would always prefer to be home, but I am grateful for the wonderful help I have.

  7. Freda Labianca July 7, 2015 at 11:27 pm #

    Looks like it’s growing nicely!

    • Teresa July 8, 2015 at 7:50 am #

      Thanks so much, and congratulations on your wedding!

    • Teresa July 8, 2015 at 7:50 am #

      It is! I can hardly wait for that first tomato.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

