Deer(e) Scavenger Hunt

4 Jul

This week’s Scavenger Hunt Sunday items are:  down the street, beneath my feet, faceless, blurry, and red, white and blue.

As I said last night, I’ve been very busy getting ready for the garage to be torn down and leaving for Iowa City.  Part of what had me busy was seeing this come down the street.  It’s what they are going to use to tear the garage down.  Inspector Bob gives it his approval.  Can you even see him sitting on that thing? You can click the image to enlarge it..

Track hoe_3229w

I also started tearing out the fence in front of the Love Shack.  It’s a lame red, white and blue shot: red of the rusty posts, white of the paint and blue tarp.  They’ll use those panels to build the temporary fence around where the garage is. Otherwise, everyone would be able to just walk off the farm; although, they’d be back at feeding time.

DSC_3251w

While I was finishing removing the fence today, I heard a noise in the Love Shack.  When I investigated, I saw the faceless side of the goose.

Geese_3230ew

I also saw an adorable face.  I guess it’s a good thing I didn’t kick her out and throw the eggs like I had planned.  She’s only been sitting for about 80 days to hatch eggs that take 28 days to incubate.  That’s why I hate throwing them, though, because the others come in and lay in their nests.  I never know how long an egg has actually been in the nest.

Gosling_3234ew

I’m also hauling grain for people to do chores for me.  I swear, whenever I do chores, I have a chicken beneath my feet.  Poor girls get stepped on when I’m not careful.

Chicken_3210ew

Finally, I think a deer had a close call with a car when it jumped the fence into my yard.  I thought I might catch a shot of her in the bean field, but I was surprised to see her still in my yard.

Deer_3205w

Deer_3206w

I hadn’t even changed the setting on my camera yet, so they are blurry.

I’m also sharing with Bird d’Pot and Saturday’s Critters.

30 Responses to “Deer(e) Scavenger Hunt”

  1. Margaret Birding For Pleasure July 4, 2015 at 3:18 pm #

    80 days to hatch an egg! Wow, I am glad you did not thow them out but at least now you can move the geesse soon.the little chich is so cute. Well it willbe all action s go next week when the garage comes down.

    • Teresa July 4, 2015 at 3:19 pm #

      This isn’t even Lucy who was delaying the garage job. This is a different group of geese in the Love Shack that also needs torn down.

  2. Anni @ I'd Rather B Birdin' July 4, 2015 at 3:18 pm #

    Super….I like the play on words with your Deer[e] also. And the wee ones just hatched…so darned cute.

    • Teresa July 4, 2015 at 3:20 pm #

      It was still finishing drying off when I took the pictures. So stinking cute when they are little and don’t yet hiss.

  3. Jan July 4, 2015 at 3:25 pm #

    You’re an amazing hard worker! Love your ambition! I fractured 2 ribs on my right side;boy it’s been tough, but I still do what I do! Your pictures are really great. Good luck in Ia. City.

    • Teresa July 4, 2015 at 3:55 pm #

      Oh no! So sorry to hear about your injury. Wishing you speedy healing.

  4. Eileen July 4, 2015 at 5:11 pm #

    What a cute chick! I love the chickens and the pretty deer. I know you will be hapy when the work is done. Thank you for linking up and sharing your post. Have a happy 4th of July weekend!

    • Teresa July 5, 2015 at 8:02 am #

      The goslings are adorable. I am very excited for this to be completed.

  5. TexWisGirl July 4, 2015 at 5:46 pm #

    lovely running deer. adorable gosling! good luck with the garage tear-down!

  6. Coloring Outside the Lines July 4, 2015 at 9:39 pm #

    Cute little chick- it’s amazing to think about sitting on an egg for that long- wow! Good luck with the tear down.

    • Teresa July 5, 2015 at 8:03 am #

      There is one goose that has been there for that long. The white one closest to the baby only joined in sitting on the nest a week or so ago. There’s also a third one that has been in there too. Community nest.

  7. ifthethunderdontgetya™³²®© July 5, 2015 at 10:01 am #

    So do they take turns sitting, or the first goose has to hatch everyone’s?
    ~

    • Teresa July 5, 2015 at 10:45 am #

      It’s pretty much a free-for-all. One sits; another joins her on the nest; someone goes to get and drink and her nest has been taken. It’s pretty much nesting chaos.

  8. Tamar July 5, 2015 at 10:59 am #

    Look at those deer! Love the baby chick, too – great shots!

    • Teresa July 5, 2015 at 2:48 pm #

      The goslings are the sweetest babies! Of course, I saw that about all babies.

  9. Pat July 5, 2015 at 9:01 pm #

    Sweet little gosling.

    • Teresa July 6, 2015 at 8:14 am #

      They are adorable babies!

  10. Jeanne July 5, 2015 at 11:38 pm #

    Good job on the choices! The gosling is adorable! It’ll be interesting to see how many there will be when all are hatched.

    • Teresa July 6, 2015 at 8:17 am #

      Thanks, Jeanne. I don’t think there will be more from that nest area. They have pretty much quit sitting now that this one hatched.

  11. Hannah July 6, 2015 at 5:51 am #

    It’s great you are getting a new garage, that sounds really exciting, though a lot of work and mess. The baby gosling is adorable, worth waiting for.

    • Teresa July 6, 2015 at 8:18 am #

      I have been waiting for the new garage for about 16 years. It’s certainly past time to get this done.

  12. Marie-AZ July 7, 2015 at 7:33 pm #

    Such wonderful photos! Sweet baby duck (glad you didn’t throw out the eggs), and I love that chicken shot!

  13. Freda Labianca July 7, 2015 at 10:54 pm #

    Wonderful collection!

  14. Sherrie July 12, 2015 at 10:31 am #

    Hi!
    Great Shots! All the “critters” are adorable. Have a great day!

    • Teresa July 12, 2015 at 10:35 am #

      Thanks, Sherrie. Hope you have a great week!

  15. Pieni Lintu July 12, 2015 at 1:56 pm #

    Love these nature shots!

  16. Lea July 12, 2015 at 2:54 pm #

    I never thought of that as being the faceless side of a goose! We call it ‘the part that went over the fence last’ – Love the deer!

    • Teresa July 12, 2015 at 3:02 pm #

      Well, you’ve got to be creative for scavenger hunts sometimes. LOL

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

