Why I Love Goats

1 Jul

I threw a skinny little Saanen buckling that I brought home from the sale barn in with Millie.  She’s old and her bones ache.  The last thing she really wanted was some kid hanging around, but I bribed her with peanuts.  Peanuts help about anything.  That was two months ago.

They’ve been together through moves from the greenhouse to where they are up north and back and forth.  They’ve had other kids thrown in with them to be weaned, and most recently, I added all of my girls that had babies in June.

Millie Sam phone w

I was really joking when I referred to Millie as his “nice honorary grandnanny,” but she’s lived up to that and more.  Sam curls up with and sleeps with Millie, and I’ve seen her step in when those young strong moms wanted to hurt Sam.  She’s shown him the love and devotion every kid deserves.  Goats really are amazing creatures that we could all learn from.

I’m also saddened to share that Scarlet is no longer with us.  At the age of nine, she succumbed to the CAE in my herd.  She was Marley, Maggie, Casey and Cookie’s mom.

Scarlet Fiona O'Boera 2006 - 30 June 2015

Scarlet Fiona O’Boera
2006 – 30 June 2015

Sharing with Alphabe-Thursday for the letter G.  G is, not surprisingly, for goats.

40 Responses to “Why I Love Goats”

  1. Jan July 1, 2015 at 4:12 pm #

    So sorry about Scarlet Fiona; precious picture. Love little Sam. I love goats alot. Had 4;down to 1. Keep those sweet pictures coming! You capture the most breath-taking pictures.

    • Teresa July 1, 2015 at 5:41 pm #

      Thanks so much, Jan. I love sharing my goats with everyone.

  2. Tracy July 1, 2015 at 4:44 pm #

    So sorry to hear about Scarlet Teresa 😦 That damn CAE…

    • Teresa July 1, 2015 at 5:42 pm #

      Thanks. They will all eventually die from something, and I have to say, the CAE has not been a bad as I thought it would be. Not that it isn’t hard.

  3. Rocky Mountain Woman July 1, 2015 at 5:05 pm #

    So sorry to hear about Teresa.

    I think goats are adorable. I understand the fascination.

    • Teresa July 1, 2015 at 5:42 pm #

      They really are amazing creatures. I can’t imagine my life without them anymore.

  4. Mary Ann Yoder July 1, 2015 at 5:10 pm #

    I’m so glad Sam found a mom…. and so sorry about Scarlet.

    • Teresa July 1, 2015 at 8:05 pm #

      Thanks, Mary Ann. Sam does adore Millie. He’s been good company for her too.

  5. Jeanne July 1, 2015 at 5:26 pm #

    The picture of Millie and Sam is precious!! I’m so glad for him that she stepped in to be his “grandnanny”! I’m so very sorry about Scarlet.

    • Teresa July 1, 2015 at 8:06 pm #

      I am amazed at how protective she’s been of him. It’s sweet. Thank you so much.

  6. Patty Leonard Woodland July 1, 2015 at 6:09 pm #

    Millie is a sweetiegoat. I am so very sorry about Scarlet

    • Teresa July 1, 2015 at 8:07 pm #

      She really is Patty. Thank you.

  7. Pat July 1, 2015 at 7:02 pm #

    I’m sorry about Scarlet. Little Sam looks very happy with Millie. What a treasure she is.

    • Teresa July 1, 2015 at 8:07 pm #

      Thank you. He absolutely adores her. She’s grown fond of him too.

  8. artmusedog July 1, 2015 at 7:41 pm #

    I love your goats too! Lovely photos of dear goats ~ Love the ‘granny goat’ story and so sad you lost Scarlet ~ lots of loving hugs to you and your wonderful loving goats!

    Happy Weekend to you,
    Happy Fourth of July to USA
    artmusedog and carol

    • Teresa July 1, 2015 at 8:08 pm #

      Thank you, Carol. I have a lot of old goats, so the next few years could be rough, but I do adore them. Hope you have a great holiday weekend too.

  9. Margaret Birding For Pleasure July 2, 2015 at 2:52 am #

    it must be very sad when you lose a goat even though you have many.

    • Teresa July 2, 2015 at 8:39 am #

      It is hard. These goats are my family. I also know that I have quite a few that are getting old.

  10. Eileen July 2, 2015 at 6:09 am #

    I am sorry about Scarlet, I hope she RIP! I love your goats too! MIllie is a great granny, so loving. Enjoy your day and have a happy 4th of July!

    • Teresa July 2, 2015 at 8:39 am #

      Thanks. Millie is a sweet girl. Don’t think you could find one any sweeter.

  11. SarahBeth ~ Along Magnolia Lane July 2, 2015 at 9:36 am #

    Sam and Millie look very happy together — hope she shared her peanuts with him!
    So sorry about Scarlet — our animals are hard to lose, whether working animals or house pets. They all become part of our family. I know it’s hard, I just lost Oliver a week ago Sunday.
    However, on an up-note…. have a great Fourth!

    • Teresa July 2, 2015 at 4:07 pm #

      She does not share peanuts, but I’ve tried to sneak him some oak leaves occasionally. So sorry to hear you’ve lost your Oliver.

  12. Gattina July 2, 2015 at 10:30 am #

    What a sweet story of Millie, I think we underestimate some animals ! How sad that Scarlet died. I have no idea how long a goat can live.

    • Teresa July 2, 2015 at 4:07 pm #

      Animals truly are amazing.

  13. lmkazmierczak July 2, 2015 at 12:38 pm #

    Thank you for sharing your goat stories…they are amazing; my sister has goats♪ http://lauriekazmierczak.com/google-it/

    • Teresa July 2, 2015 at 4:08 pm #

      I’m glad you enjoy reading about my goat family.

  14. Freda Mans July 2, 2015 at 5:39 pm #

    My deepest condolences for the loss of Scarlet.

  15. Jeanne July 2, 2015 at 10:09 pm #

    I think Millie is going to have to be known as the Granny Nanny! 😃

    • Teresa July 2, 2015 at 10:18 pm #

      I think she would like that title.

  16. Betty July 3, 2015 at 5:38 pm #

    I’m sorry about Scarlett. I’m not sure what CAE is, but I hope you don’t lose anymore.

    • Teresa July 3, 2015 at 5:58 pm #

      Thanks, Betty. It is a virus that has no cure and is likely in all my goats; however, they are getting old. It hasn’t been as big a deal as I initially thought it might be. I will keep losing some just because the herd is aging.

  17. jesh stg July 3, 2015 at 10:15 pm #

    Sorry Scarlet is gone. Have been told that animals are like having kids. Wishing you a happy Fourth! Hopefully for you no fire works closeby!

    • Teresa July 3, 2015 at 11:00 pm #

      They truly are my family. I already had people shooting them off not too far from here.

  18. Su-sieee! Mac July 5, 2015 at 6:36 pm #

    I enjoy reading about your goats. It takes me back to when the Daddy raised goats in our backyard. That’s sad about Scarlet. I have no doubt that she lived a wonderful life with you.
    The View from the Top of the Ladder

    • Teresa July 6, 2015 at 8:13 am #

      Thanks. I do try to give them a happy life.

  19. Anonymous July 6, 2015 at 6:26 pm #

    I am sorry for your loss with scarlet Fiona. Such a pretty girl. It is funny how animals are kind hearted. Makes me sad sometime because often people are not! I love your stories here. Keep writing them and showing off your critters! They are wonderful!

  20. Jenny Matlock July 15, 2015 at 11:55 am #

    I’m sorry to read about Scarlet. It’s been interesting to read about her over the years of this meme!

    I can understand why you like goats! What personalities they each seem to have!

    Thanks for sharing their fun and goodness with us for the letter G.

    A+

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

