Darling Does

10 Jun

I do want to mention that Coffee’s milk is looking pretty perfect.  I’ll keep separating hers for a little while yet, just to keep a close eye on it, but she seems to be well on her way to completely healed.

I did decide to wean a couple more kids.  I weaned Haley’s three girls so I can milk Haley.  Helen is another milking doe, so I weaned her girls.  Also, she doesn’t want to walk well on her back passenger leg.  I think her hips are bothering, so not having kids nursing will be a good thing.  Finally, I weaned Reva’s doe, so I could try to train her to be a milking doe. That’s six darling doelings that I put with Millie and the two young boys up north.

Haley and her three girls

Haley and her three girls (Fay, Tina and Amy)

It’s a bit loud.  When I walked out to check on the little girls, I heard all kinds of yelling.  It wasn’t the kids though.  Haley and Helen were standing around yelling because they wanted to take their girls to pasture with them.  (video HERE)

Helen with Hilda and Hazel

Helen with Hilda and Hazel

Where was Reva?  She was already out in pasture.

Reva

Reva

Poor Rainie seemed to wonder why her mom wasn’t there.

Haley and Rainie

Haley and Rainie

I finally got Haley to follow me out to pasture to join the rest of the herd.

red doe goat_1586ew

No such luck with Helen.  I finally gave in and brought her some hay.

weaning kids_1655ew

Everyone is doing well, and it will quiet down in a few days.  Hopefully, Reva figures out how awesome it is to be milked.  She loves food, so I think she’ll love being milked.  If not, I’ll probably give her daughter back to her.  But I’m going to keep trying to milk her for a while first.

Sharing these Darling Does with Alphabe-Thursday where the letter this week is D.  I’m also sharing with Good Fences; although, my fence isn’t too good because I had to re-wean Hazel after she escaped.

42 Responses to “Darling Does”

  1. moondustwriter June 10, 2015 at 4:24 pm #

    Oh I love this life you share with us – it is so full of the cycle without the complexity of society. Hope the separations go well

    • Teresa June 10, 2015 at 4:29 pm #

      Thanks. I’m glad you enjoy my story. I love sharing it.

  2. Jan June 10, 2015 at 4:25 pm #

    I’d love their noise;but you probably are use to it,ha! Always something to keep you busy;but to enjoy at the same time!

    • Teresa June 10, 2015 at 4:30 pm #

      Sometimes it does make me come running to make sure nobody is stuck, but it is all a part of weaning.

  3. Mary Ann Yoder June 10, 2015 at 4:39 pm #

    They ARE darling does!

    • Teresa June 10, 2015 at 4:40 pm #

      Try petting them. They certainly aren’t sweet. 😛

  4. Pat June 10, 2015 at 5:11 pm #

    Watched the video. It is a pretty noisy process. I like the way the goose chimes in also.

    • Teresa June 10, 2015 at 5:13 pm #

      The geese always chime in. Always. 🙂

  5. Jeanne June 10, 2015 at 5:14 pm #

    They certainly are darling! I’m wondering if they get hoarse from all the noise they’re making! I hope they settle down soon.

    • Teresa June 10, 2015 at 5:18 pm #

      Sometimes they do. Pebbles pretty much completely lost her voice when she was weaned.

  6. artmusedog and carol June 10, 2015 at 5:16 pm #

    Your ‘kids’ are so adorable and great photos and love your post but wow! do you work hard!

    Happy Week to you,
    artmusedog and carol

    • Teresa June 10, 2015 at 5:18 pm #

      Farming is work that I love!

  7. Freda Mans June 10, 2015 at 5:24 pm #

    Praying for the best with Helen and the weaning.

    • Freda Mans June 10, 2015 at 5:25 pm #

      PS I love the pic of Haley in the pasture… so pretty!

      • Teresa June 10, 2015 at 7:09 pm #

        Thanks. I think Haley is really a beautiful girl.

    • Teresa June 10, 2015 at 7:08 pm #

      The weaning will go well. Helen is the one I worry about. I hope she feels better without the girls nursing.

  8. Sarah June 10, 2015 at 8:38 pm #

    Fun to see your girls.

  9. Squidtea June 10, 2015 at 9:57 pm #

    Fay, Tina, and Amy? Do I sense a trend? 🙂 The little kids are so cute, and hope that the weaning goes well!

    • Teresa June 10, 2015 at 10:03 pm #

      Good thing she didn’t have a fourth one, huh?

  10. Margaret June 11, 2015 at 12:41 am #

    I am glad everything is going well with the goats this year. They are all lovely and a enjoyed the video clip

    • Teresa June 11, 2015 at 7:34 am #

      Thanks, Margaret. I like it when things go well, too.

  11. Eileen June 11, 2015 at 5:18 am #

    Seems like everything is going well with the weaning and milking. I enjoy seeing and hearing your goats. Have a happy day!

    • Teresa June 11, 2015 at 7:34 am #

      Well, Reva is in training, but she did much better last night.

  12. Gattina June 11, 2015 at 9:21 am #

    Never thought that goats are so noisy ! I always wonder how you can remember all these names and recognize each goat ! I always forget the names of my girls in the painting course and I know them for years !

    • Teresa June 11, 2015 at 6:51 pm #

      They can be quite noisy. I guess I remember their names because they are family. And like family, I often use the wrong name. 😉

  13. Claire Moxon June 11, 2015 at 12:46 pm #

    Catching up on quite a few posts here….really sorry to hear about Clover’s kids. But, I’m glad you caught them early and nobody else ended up with the illness. Also glad to hear that Coffee is on the mend. Her Xerxes sure is a handsome boy. When I look at the pictures, in a way, it feels like I was there just yesterday. Can’t believe how big all the kids are now.

    • Teresa June 11, 2015 at 6:51 pm #

      They are getting big. After the fact, I remember you saying they were a bit slow to get started. I’m thinking any slow to start kids might get antibiotics from now on. I am so grateful that you were here to help me. Coffee’s milk is perfect again. I just won’t let Xerxes beat her up anymore.

  14. Sherry June 11, 2015 at 4:53 pm #

    They are ‘darlin. Glad you got Haley to cooperate. Thanks for sharing on Letter D. My post is up too. Enjoy your Friday.

    • Teresa June 11, 2015 at 6:50 pm #

      Haley will be much better once her girls leave the farm. She’s just a good mom.

  15. Jeanne June 11, 2015 at 6:49 pm #

    I keep thinking of what you said about Helen and her back “passenger” leg! Can you please explain that one for me? I was hoping someone else would’ve asked, but if they did, I missed it!

    • Teresa June 11, 2015 at 6:50 pm #

      Her back right leg. In a car it would be the passenger side. Sorry.

  16. TexWisGirl June 11, 2015 at 7:37 pm #

    good luck with the new milkers!

    • Teresa June 11, 2015 at 9:20 pm #

      Reva is doing much better! A couple more days, I might try it without Mom reminding her there’s a pan of food in front of her.

  17. Betty June 11, 2015 at 9:18 pm #

    In a way it’s kind of sad when you wean them. I guess they all adjust after a while, but it must be difficult at the time.

    • Teresa June 11, 2015 at 9:21 pm #

      It is hard, but I tell them that everybody has to be weaned sooner or later. For some moms, sooner is better for their health. The kids are all doing well.

  18. Su-sieee! Mac June 12, 2015 at 10:33 pm #

    I enjoy reading about you and your herd, and seeing photos of them. I’m beyond the point of wanting to raise goats, so I shall live vicariously through you. 🙂
    The View from the Top of the Ladder

    • Teresa June 13, 2015 at 8:25 pm #

      They really do steal your heart.

  19. Abrianna June 13, 2015 at 8:05 pm #

    They are lovely, Such sweet photos of your little ones 🙂

  20. Jenny Matlock June 17, 2015 at 12:37 pm #

    It’s so cute to think of them yelling just like any other kid!

    Thanks for the smile!

    And thanks for linking.

    A+

    • Teresa June 17, 2015 at 2:06 pm #

      They do certainly yell for their moms quit a bit (and their moms yell for them too).

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

