Red-bellied Woodpecker

9 Jun

I caught a flash of wings and started taking pictures.  I was kind of happy with how they turned out, since I wasn’t even sure what kind of bird it was when I started.

red bellied woodpecker_0987e2w

red bellied woodpecker_0988ewSharing with Song-ography where I chose The Woodpecker Song by Glenn Miller (not the theme from Woody Woodpecker) because this little guy was happily tick-tick-ticking away in the shady tree.  You can check the song out HERE.

I’m also sharing with Wild Bird Wednesday and Ruby Tuesday Too.

28 Responses to “Red-bellied Woodpecker”

  1. Eileen June 9, 2015 at 3:39 pm #

    I love the redbellied woodie shots. I am not familiar with this song though! Enjoy the rest of your day and the week ahead!

    • Teresa June 9, 2015 at 3:43 pm #

      Thanks. It is a rather old song, but it fit the photos. Might be a backwards way of doing the prompt.

  2. Mary Ann Yoder June 9, 2015 at 3:53 pm #

    I have not seen “ours” for weeks now… I need to check the suet, I bet it’s gotten bad. They are all busy feeding young, I’m sure.

    • Teresa June 9, 2015 at 4:00 pm #

      This one was out in pasture. I’ve been horrible and not put out any bird feed at all this summer.

  3. Margaret Birding For Pleasure June 9, 2015 at 4:05 pm #

    Well captured

  4. S. J. Qualls June 9, 2015 at 4:06 pm #

    Nice shots! Ours is a daily visitor, yep, heads for the nest then comes back for more. I mostly see his back. Yours has a pretty ‘belly’. 🙂

    • Teresa June 9, 2015 at 4:14 pm #

      This one was way in the top of the tree. I had to really crop it to get it this close.

  5. Freda Mans June 9, 2015 at 4:13 pm #

    So pretty!

    • Teresa June 9, 2015 at 4:15 pm #

      They are really pretty woodpeckers!

  6. Jan June 9, 2015 at 4:21 pm #

    Very pretty bird & I enjoy hearing them too. Great pictures!

  7. TexWisGirl June 9, 2015 at 5:40 pm #

    nice to see his reddish belly. 🙂

    • Teresa June 9, 2015 at 9:22 pm #

      Easy to see the belly when they are in the top of the tree. 🙂

  8. kim June 9, 2015 at 7:07 pm #

    He’s a handsome fellow!

  9. Pat June 9, 2015 at 8:41 pm #

    Your photos really show his red belly, which is not always easy to see.

    • Teresa June 9, 2015 at 9:23 pm #

      He was so high in the tree, I got a good look at his belly.

  10. Adam Jones June 10, 2015 at 2:08 am #

    What a wonderful looking Woodpecker. You captured it very well indeed.

  11. Jeanne June 10, 2015 at 5:04 pm #

    Beautiful! I’ve never seen one. I always enjoy your bird photos!

    • Teresa June 10, 2015 at 5:12 pm #

      Thanks, Jeanne. I like the birds, but I don’t know a lot about them.

  12. kmcblackburn June 10, 2015 at 7:45 pm #

    Wow, great capture! And perfect song to go along with it. Thanks for sharing at Song-graphy.

  13. Marie-AZ June 11, 2015 at 4:10 am #

    Very nice captures!

  14. Neil June 13, 2015 at 6:33 pm #

    Interesting bird.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

