Birds and Fences

4 Jun

The first of the week, I walked up the road to see if my nephew had disked the pumpkin patch yet.  On my way, I saw a very noisy and social red-winged blackbird.

Blackbird on fence_0776ew

I got so close, then he took off and made a big circle around my head.

Blackbird_0778ew

Then he landed about two posts away from where he started.

Blackbird on post_0781ew

When I was up at the pumpkin patch, I also saw an eastern kingbird sitting on the post where I used to have a fence.

eastern kingbird_0792ew

Of course, seeing the dirt disked up ready for the pumpkins to be planted was my favorite sight.

Sharing with Good Fences, and I’ll share with Bird d’Pot on Saturday.

37 Responses to “Birds and Fences”

  1. TexWisGirl June 4, 2015 at 3:47 pm #

    nice fence sitters! 🙂

    • Teresa June 4, 2015 at 4:34 pm #

      Very cooperative too. 🙂

  2. Mary Ann Yoder June 4, 2015 at 4:06 pm #

    Pumpkins!

    • Teresa June 4, 2015 at 4:34 pm #

      I know! I’m so excited!

  3. Margaret June 4, 2015 at 4:45 pm #

    Love the birds on the posts.

    • Teresa June 4, 2015 at 7:08 pm #

      Thanks. They were pretty.

  4. Freda Mans June 4, 2015 at 5:57 pm #

    Looks like the red-winged black bird was messing with you. 🙂

    • Teresa June 4, 2015 at 7:07 pm #

      I was being buzzed by the red-winged blackbirds through most of the walk. Don’t know why.

      • Squidtea June 4, 2015 at 7:17 pm #

        Possibly a nest is nearby? I don’t know when their nesting season is, but I never rule it out. I’ve heard Blackbirds can be quite territorial.

      • Teresa June 6, 2015 at 7:41 am #

        It is quite possible.

  5. Squidtea June 4, 2015 at 7:15 pm #

    Beautiful action shot of the Red-Winged Blackbird flying! And how cool to see a Kingbird! (I’ve never… Though I’m always looking!)

    • Teresa June 6, 2015 at 7:40 am #

      Thanks. The kingbirds seem to be quite happy to be seen around here this year.

  6. Jan June 4, 2015 at 7:15 pm #

    Maybe a nest or babies nearby;great pictures!

    • Teresa June 6, 2015 at 7:41 am #

      It’s very possible!

  7. Ida P. Krause June 4, 2015 at 7:47 pm #

    Great shots of the blackbird and the fence. That 2nd shot was my favorite. Good thing he didn’t dive bomb you.

    • Teresa June 6, 2015 at 7:42 am #

      Thanks. No dive bombing, but lots of circling and scolding.

  8. Pat June 4, 2015 at 8:19 pm #

    Love those showy Red-winged Blackbirds.

    • Teresa June 6, 2015 at 7:42 am #

      They were always my favorite when I was a girl.

  9. treadway June 4, 2015 at 9:53 pm #

    I always love seeing the redwinged blackbirds return in the spring…

  10. pattisj June 4, 2015 at 10:22 pm #

    Good thing you had your camera ready for the red-wing flash!

    • Teresa June 6, 2015 at 7:42 am #

      I always try to have my camera ready. 😉

  11. Anne@GritandGiggles June 4, 2015 at 10:51 pm #

    What a pretty red-winged blackbird. It is good that he put on a nice show of colour for you. I think the pumpkins here are finished and after a few frosts recently the vine certainly will be. Now it is time to watch the oats grow and to plant winter veges. Mind you up north where I live now is the time to plant anything you want to try growing because this is the mildest the weather will be before spring comes and the heat of the sun will be back.

    • Teresa June 6, 2015 at 7:43 am #

      We don’t have any opportunity for winter gardens around here. Once we’re done in the fall, we’re done until spring.

  12. Jeanne June 5, 2015 at 12:42 am #

    Wow! I love that second shot of the red winged blackbird! They are so flashy and beautiful! Looks like your pumpkin patch will be a reality very soon! Yay!

    • Teresa June 6, 2015 at 7:43 am #

      They really do have lovely color.

  13. Eileen June 5, 2015 at 5:02 am #

    Pretty birds! I agree the fence sitters are perfect for your Good Fence post.

  14. bettyl - NZ June 5, 2015 at 4:40 pm #

    What lovely colors you caught! I do hope the pumpkins are all big and gorgeous!

    • Teresa June 6, 2015 at 7:44 am #

      Thanks! I do too. 🙂

  15. janicead June 5, 2015 at 7:11 pm #

    Nice shots! The question I have is why is there a stuffed olive on the fence?

    • Teresa June 6, 2015 at 7:44 am #

      It’s the flower of the thistle about to bloom. I guess it does look like a stuffed olive though.

  16. Lavender Dreams June 6, 2015 at 7:46 am #

    Wow! What beautiful color! We have these at the pond near us but it’s hard to get just the right angle to show the color. I’m showing off my ‘signs’ today that I KNOW you will love! Happy weekend! Hugs, Diane

    • Teresa June 6, 2015 at 7:48 am #

      He took off while I was taking the shot, so it was very lucky timing. They do stand out!

  17. Anni @ I'd Rather B Birdin' June 7, 2015 at 5:20 am #

    Terrific!!! I love the one where it circled around just above your head with the beautiful red showing on its wings.

    And that kingbird…they’re kinda elusive around here….so, real nice addition.

    • Teresa June 7, 2015 at 11:05 am #

      I’ve seen a lot of the kingbirds this summer. They’re such sleek, pretty birds!

  18. Marie-AZ June 7, 2015 at 2:40 pm #

    Two gorgeous birds! Love your shots.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

