Another Summer Project

3 Jun

I don’t want to jinx this by telling you about it before everything is confirmed, but I’m pretty sure I’ve found a contractor to rebuild my garage.  It’s definitely a necessity before winter.

Garage_0833ew

By the way, the thing sticking up is a board.  There used to be one on the other side too.  My son nailed them there to make his own goal post because, you know, you want people kicking footballs at where the electricity comes into the building.

There’s a lot of extra light that comes in from the roof.

garage_0836ew

No window is left in good shape, and there’s also not a single door that I can really shut and keep it shut.  Well, except the one in the boys’ pen that I can’t keep open, so they have to be able to pull it open to get in when it rains.  Yep, that one I could shut.

Garage_0839ew

Boeris, Fionn and Lucy

 

You’ll also notice that I have a Lucy goose sitting in there (clear back by the tarp covering the broken doors).  She somehow managed to get a nest in there when I didn’t know it.  I’m a bit worried about that.  Hopefully, by the time the contractor meets with me (he said it would be June) and I get permits and all that stuff, she might be done on her nest.

The front part of the lean to where the boys are is in no better shape.  The roof leaks and the doors don’t close.  That means the hay and straw I put in there is no good.  The electricity does work though, and when I came to get the drop cord I plugged the heated bucket into when we were kidding in March in the middle of the night, I scared the daylights out of a raccoon, who then scared me.  I might have screamed and stepped back off the bale of hay and fallen on my butt.  Yep.  That’s another good reason for doors and windows that shut.

Garage_0841ew

As you can see, the garage is fairly big.

Garage_0842ew

I’d like to do a few little changes.  I want concrete floors on the lean-to.  And I want to build the front half of the lean-to up, so it’s on the same level as the garage.  The back half I want to clean out and lower so I don’t have to use concrete blocks as steps for the goats (and me).  If I change it so there isn’t a lean to, it should raise the roof.  I’m hoping that will mean a loft where I can store a few bales of straw.  Then I can use the front part as a Ranger garage.  I also want to take a space out of the back of the garage to make a soap making room.  Finally, I want to add a bit of a lean-to on the north side and put in a small milking room.

Hope all of that doesn’t scare my contractor off because I had a dumpster delivered yesterday, and I’m starting to clean up.  I also plan on cleaning up a lot more than the garage while I have a dumpster.  I’m even going to get rid of the satellite dish in the barn.  Yippee!

Dumpster_0898ew

Sharing with Alphabe-Thursday where the letter is C. C is for contractor.

43 Responses to “Another Summer Project”

  1. Mary Ann Yoder June 3, 2015 at 5:26 pm #

    I bet you only have that roll-off for a week, so you are going to be a busy farmer. We are under water again, here, by the way.

    • Teresa June 3, 2015 at 5:27 pm #

      I didn’t ask. I might have to call and see.

  2. artmusedog and carol June 3, 2015 at 6:22 pm #

    Wow! What a project and love the photos of your ‘kids’ ~ so lovable!

    I thought I was taking on projects but none that compare to yours! Lots of work!

    Happy weekend coming to you,
    artmusedog and carol

    • Teresa June 3, 2015 at 7:55 pm #

      It will be so nice when it’s finished. I really am excited!

  3. Sarah June 3, 2015 at 6:49 pm #

    Great that you found a contractor to build you a new garage. ‘-)

    • Teresa June 3, 2015 at 7:56 pm #

      I am thrilled! Can’t wait for this project to be completed.

  4. pattisj June 3, 2015 at 7:12 pm #

    How exciting to be making plans for a new garage space, and tweaking it to better fit your needs. I wonder how many times electricity was lost to the garage during football practice. 😉

    • Teresa June 3, 2015 at 7:58 pm #

      This new building will really be wonderful when it’s finished. I can hardly wait!

  5. Pat June 3, 2015 at 7:14 pm #

    Quite a project. Glad you found someone to take it on.

    • Teresa June 3, 2015 at 7:59 pm #

      I’m pretty sure he’ll do it. Since he’s a farmer with sheep (and previously goats) and geese and peafowl, he certainly will understand my requirements.

  6. TexWisGirl June 3, 2015 at 7:43 pm #

    clean-up is good. repair and renovate is even better. good luck!

    • Teresa June 3, 2015 at 7:59 pm #

      Thanks. I’ve been waiting for this project for 16 1/2 years. It’s about time!

  7. Anne June 3, 2015 at 10:27 pm #

    You have a big project ahead of you. I wish you well. It is good to know what you want so you have that clarified up front. I always enjoy your photos. Have a great week.

    • Teresa June 4, 2015 at 7:39 am #

      I’ve been dreaming about this for about 16 1/2 years when I first moved in. Of course, it’s changed over time, but I think I know what I need.

  8. Karen Seek June 3, 2015 at 10:49 pm #

    He will take the old down? You can probably sell that precious barn wood –so many contractor’s want them now for thing’s inside a house — like on a fireplace wall or a sliding barn door to section off a room etc

    • Teresa June 4, 2015 at 7:40 am #

      I actually have someone with a big machine that will just come and take bites out and put in the dumpster. There’s nothing much good in it. It isn’t even true barn wood.

  9. Gattina June 4, 2015 at 12:38 am #

    Your garage indeed needs a facelifting ! Excellent plans ! Hope that Lucy will have finished her nest !
    Thank you for all your comments !

    • Teresa June 4, 2015 at 7:41 am #

      It’s going to be totally demolished and start over new! I hope so too. Wish I’d known she was making a nest in there, and I’d have tried to stop her.

  10. Eileen June 4, 2015 at 5:12 am #

    I love seeing your goats and the geese. Great plans and I wish you good luck!

    • Teresa June 4, 2015 at 7:41 am #

      Thanks, Eileen. It’s exciting!

  11. Margaret Birding For Pleasure June 4, 2015 at 6:05 am #

    WOW! A lot of work ahaead but it will be wonderful to get the garage in better shape

    • Teresa June 4, 2015 at 7:41 am #

      Luckily, I mostly will be writing the checks. I don’t have to do the heavy work (or it would never get done).

  12. EG CameraGirl June 4, 2015 at 6:07 am #

    Such a lot of work but won’t it be great when the new garage (and other spaces) are done! A super project that will make you feel so good!

    • Teresa June 4, 2015 at 7:42 am #

      I am really looking forward to it, especially the nice roof, and soaping room and milking room. Heck, I’m just thrilled with the whole project!

  13. Leovi June 4, 2015 at 7:00 am #

    I love following their life on the farm, always new things to do!

    • Teresa June 4, 2015 at 7:43 am #

      There’s always lots to do on a farm!

  14. SarahBeth ~ Along Magnolia Lane June 4, 2015 at 8:27 am #

    Sounds like you’ve got your (and the contractor’s) work cut out for you!!

  15. Rocky Mountain Woman June 4, 2015 at 11:46 am #

    Isn’t it just wonderful to get rid of junk? I find it therapeutic – bet you’re going to love your new garage/milking room/soap making studio!!!

    • Teresa June 4, 2015 at 11:50 am #

      I already do, and it hasn’t been started.

  16. itsallaboutpurple June 4, 2015 at 12:47 pm #

    well, i have to be honest, i LOVE a dumpster project!! a good cleansing, is good for the soul!!!!

  17. Betty June 4, 2015 at 2:45 pm #

    I feel tired for you! Sounds like a lot of work, but I’m sure you’ll enjoy the new garage.

    • Teresa June 4, 2015 at 3:19 pm #

      Well, I’m not doing most of the work on the garage. I have some of the cleanup, but the rest is contracted.

  18. Jan June 4, 2015 at 7:20 pm #

    Great plans do fall in place! Happy for you;and it’ll give you much satisfaction indeed! 🙂

    • Teresa June 6, 2015 at 7:41 am #

      I hope so! It’s been such a long time coming.

  19. lmkazmierczak June 5, 2015 at 2:54 pm #

    All the best with your new project….will be interested to see the transformation♪ http://lauriekazmierczak.com/garden-delights/

    • Teresa June 6, 2015 at 7:43 am #

      I’m very excited for it to become a reality.

  20. Su-sieee! Mac June 5, 2015 at 8:12 pm #

    What an exciting project. Best wishes on it. Please give us a look-see when you’re done. 🙂
    The View from the Top of the Ladder

    • Teresa June 6, 2015 at 7:44 am #

      I’ll certainly give a grand tour when it’s completed!

  21. Jeanne June 6, 2015 at 2:20 pm #

    Have you heard from the contractor yet? I’m anxious for your project to get going!! As I’m sure you are! 🙂

    • Teresa June 6, 2015 at 3:54 pm #

      I haven’t yet. I’m really anxious to start, but I’m also kind of not wanting to do too much until Lucy is off the nest. Silly goose had some bad timing.

  22. Jenny Matlock June 13, 2015 at 2:57 pm #

    I’ll keep my fingers Crossed that the Contractor Comes through! I love buildings with Character. Still chuckling over the goal post and the electricity!

    Thanks for the Chuckle.

    A+

    • Teresa June 13, 2015 at 8:27 pm #

      I’m still waiting to hear from him, but I’m still waiting for Lucy to get off the nest, so it’s all good. 😉 Thanks so much for stopping by.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

