Betty Lou’s Beard

28 May

Betty Lou is a pretty girl, and when I was walking in pasture last night, I noticed that she’s actually grown a pretty respectable beard.

Betty Lou

Betty Lou

That’s why tonight I wondered where on earth she had been while I was at work?

Doe goat_0634ew

Her beard is rather full of burrs, and there aren’t any in my pasture (the goats eat the plants before they can make those burrs).

Burr Beard_0635ew

My nephew sent me a text that he had to put the goats back where they belonged because they were in the bean field.  (Notice the paths where they were walking.

panel fence_0638ew

The grass is flattened where the panel was knocked down.

panel fence_0639ew

I did hobble it together a little better, but I’ll need to set a couple of new posts this weekend.

panel fence_0640ew

This poor lane fence has seen a lot of rough times, mostly due to some Maxine nameless cow.

Sharing with Good Fences.

26 Responses to “Betty Lou’s Beard”

  1. TexWisGirl May 28, 2015 at 6:59 pm #

    busted by beard burs! 🙂

    • Teresa May 28, 2015 at 9:34 pm #

      Yep. The weeds always give them away.

  2. Pat May 28, 2015 at 7:26 pm #

    I love the freckles on her nose.

    • Teresa May 28, 2015 at 9:35 pm #

      Me too. She’s a pretty girl.

  3. AndysLens May 28, 2015 at 8:00 pm #

    Evidence of the crime in the beard! Much like when I eat cookies, lol.

    • Teresa May 28, 2015 at 9:35 pm #

      Hahaha! Very much like that. 😉

  4. Tuesday May 29, 2015 at 5:05 am #

    Oh my, such sneaky goats!!
    I love the beautiful beards some of our goats have. I met a lady that cuts them off her does – and for the life of me can’t figure that one out.
    About a month ago, I finally made super good friends with our herd queen and now she pushes her way to the front of the group to get her beard stroked and her chin scratched – it’s SO soft!!!

    • Teresa May 29, 2015 at 9:07 pm #

      That is a bit odd to cut their beards off. I always think they look so cool, especially blowing in the breeze.

  5. Eileen May 29, 2015 at 5:52 am #

    OH no the beard does give her away, she is busted. Cute photos! Happy Friday and have a great weekend!

    • Teresa May 29, 2015 at 9:08 pm #

      The weeds stuck in their coats always gives it away when they’ve been someplace they aren’t supposed to be.

  6. Marie-AZ May 29, 2015 at 11:20 am #

    An important fence…always such farm fences are! I’m not sure I’d want to be a Betty Kou with a beard! 🙂 Just saying.

    • Teresa May 29, 2015 at 9:08 pm #

      Well, if she didn’t stick it where it wasn’t supposed to be, there wouldn’t be burrs in it.

  7. Dawn May 29, 2015 at 12:55 pm #

    Great post and photos, smart little goats they are. Have a happy weekend!

    • Teresa May 29, 2015 at 9:08 pm #

      They are generally smart enough to get in trouble.

  8. Karen Seek May 29, 2015 at 2:06 pm #

    Love your goats so much– they are darling– loving and funny– very entertaining !!!

    • Teresa May 29, 2015 at 9:09 pm #

      They are certainly entertaining!

  9. Freda Mans May 29, 2015 at 4:42 pm #

    Poor thing. Those burrs probably are not hurting her but will be a pain to get out.

    • Teresa May 29, 2015 at 9:09 pm #

      She won’t let me pull them out, so she’s on her own. Maybe someone will nibble them out for her.

  10. Jeanne May 29, 2015 at 5:46 pm #

    Will you be able to get those nasty looking burrs out of her beautiful beard? Such naughty goats! I love them!

    • Teresa May 29, 2015 at 9:09 pm #

      Probably not. She wouldn’t let me try last night. I’ll see if I can get them out this weekend.

  11. Ida P. Krause May 29, 2015 at 11:20 pm #

    Looks like Betty Lou got out tonight! Hope you get the reference to a Bob Seeger song. That fence seems to be in need of repair for sure. Always something to do on a farm, right!

    • Teresa May 30, 2015 at 10:12 am #

      There’s always fences to fix around here. Of course, it’s not so much new stuff now that Maxine isn’t here.

  12. Jan May 30, 2015 at 5:19 am #

    Yep; the burrs gave it away! Ha! Hoping someone can eat them or rub them out for her. Good shots!

    • Teresa May 30, 2015 at 10:13 am #

      Those weeds will give you away every time!

  13. pattisj June 3, 2015 at 6:31 pm #

    You need to add video cameras to keep an eye on them! Stinkers! The nameless cow must have trained them well in fencery. 😉

    • Teresa June 3, 2015 at 7:56 pm #

      I did catch a couple of goats climbing the panels. They can do that since it was tipped out. I did go out and fix it up today.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

