Garden Song

26 May

Garden Song by Peter, Paul and Mary

seeds_0417ew

Chorus:
Inch by inch, row by row, gonna make this garden grow
All it takes is a rake and a hoe and a piece of fertile ground
Inch by inch, row by row Someone bless these seeds I sow
Someone warm them from below
Til the rain comes tumbling down

hoe_0433ew

Pullin’ weeds and pickin’ stones,
we are made of dreams and bones
I feel the need to grow my own cause the time is close at hand
Grain for grain, sun and rain I’ll find my way in nature’s chain
Tune my body and my brain to the music of the land
celery_0419ew
Chorus
zucchini_0429ew
Plant your rows straight and long,
Temper them with prayer and song
Mother earth will keep you strong if you give her love and care
An old crow watching hungrily from his perch in yonder tree
In my garden I’m as free as that feathered thief up there
celery_0420e2w
Chorus

tomato_0430ew

Sharing with Song-0graphy where we got to choose our own song this week.  I chose Garden Party because I spent time yesterday planting my tomatoes, peppers and a few other plants right before the rains came.  I’m glad I got them in and they came through the rains looking good.  I just don’t know when it’s going to dry out enough to let me plant those seeds.

I’m also sharing with Ruby Tuesday and Black and White Wednesday.

34 Responses to “Garden Song”

  1. Jan May 26, 2015 at 8:05 pm #

    Love these pictures;and the one of the hoe is really neat;believe that! I still have things to plant too; so hopefully soon. 🙂

    • Teresa May 26, 2015 at 8:40 pm #

      I’m afraid it’s going to take a while to dry out enough to make a row. Hope you get yours done.

  2. Jan May 26, 2015 at 8:06 pm #

    Forgot to add: I love the verse alot!

    • Teresa May 26, 2015 at 8:41 pm #

      Mom raised me on Peter, Paul and Mary. 😉

  3. Mama Zen May 26, 2015 at 9:33 pm #

    I love these pictures! A hail storm flattened my garden, so I’m living vicariously.

    • Teresa May 26, 2015 at 9:41 pm #

      So sorry to hear that. I was worried when we had storms come about two hours after I finished planting them, but they survived! Hope you get a chance to re-plant at least some of your garden.

  4. Jeanne May 26, 2015 at 10:10 pm #

    Very nice pictures! I hope your garden turns out really well!

    • Teresa May 26, 2015 at 10:16 pm #

      Thanks. I’m already planning on all the canning I’m going to do!

  5. Gattina May 27, 2015 at 1:20 am #

    Yard work is the horror for me ! I just spent 3 days digging out weeds ! I am exhausted !

    • Teresa May 27, 2015 at 9:00 am #

      It is hard work! And it’s never done!

  6. Leovi May 27, 2015 at 2:05 am #

    Delicious song of Peter, Paul and Mary! Beautiful photos!

    • Teresa May 27, 2015 at 9:00 am #

      I do love their music, and this song seems to suit me quite nicely.

  7. tomthebackroadstraveller May 27, 2015 at 4:53 am #

    I hope that your garden produces well for you.

    • Teresa May 27, 2015 at 9:01 am #

      It usually does, but I really need to get things planted.

  8. Eileen May 27, 2015 at 5:14 am #

    Love the song and your garden images. I hope your garden does well!

    • Teresa May 27, 2015 at 9:01 am #

      I thought it was a perfect song for this time of year!

  9. EG CameraGirl May 27, 2015 at 6:20 am #

    Great photos to accompany these lyrics!

  10. TexWisGirl May 27, 2015 at 7:28 am #

    a good song choice. 🙂

    • Teresa May 27, 2015 at 9:02 am #

      I was raised on Peter, Paul and Mary, so this was an obvious choice this time of year.

  11. itsallaboutpurple May 27, 2015 at 7:35 am #

    awwwww, here too!!! i love starting with seeds, it’s so much more rewarding!!! fingers crossed for just the right amount of rain and sunshine!!!!!

    • Teresa May 27, 2015 at 9:03 am #

      I admit to buying the plants. With kidding and working, I don’t have time to tend to those seeds inside anymore. Hopefully, I’ll get the rest of the seeds planted soon.

  12. artmusedog and carol May 27, 2015 at 9:00 am #

    Fun song and great garden shots! A feast planted ~

    Happy Week to you,
    artmusedog and carol

    • Teresa May 27, 2015 at 9:04 am #

      I can already imagine how much I’ll enjoy the produce next winter once it’s been canned.

  13. kmcblackburn May 27, 2015 at 9:27 am #

    This is just perfect! The song, the photography….brilliant. I REALLY like the photo in BW of the hanging hoe(?) .Yes, I do NOT know my gardening tools. BUT…I sure know a photo that I like :). Thanks for joining in at Song-ography.

  14. Karen S. May 27, 2015 at 11:08 am #

    best time of the year, enjoy and good luck with all!

  15. Margaret May 27, 2015 at 12:54 pm #

    Love the words and photos to go with them.

  16. Pat May 27, 2015 at 9:50 pm #

    Wonderful garden photos. I love the muddy hoe against the brick wall.

    • Teresa May 27, 2015 at 9:58 pm #

      Thanks. I had just finished using it. 🙂

  17. Stewart Monckton May 29, 2015 at 4:43 am #

    Nice post – I always prefer seeds to seedlings – there is something so magical about see seeds start to germinate.

    Cheers – Stewart M – Melbourne

    • Teresa May 29, 2015 at 9:07 pm #

      I enjoy seeds too, but I’ve not had time to start my plants inside the last few years. It might have something to do with kidding.

  18. pattisj June 3, 2015 at 6:28 pm #

    This is my first year of seeding a wildflower bed. Day 3 is in the books, and we got rain so I didn’t have to water today. Yours is looking good! Green is a wonderful color to see poking through the soil.

    • Teresa June 3, 2015 at 7:56 pm #

      That’s quite a task! Hope you have a lot of success with it.

      • pattisj June 3, 2015 at 10:39 pm #

        Oh, it’s not very big! It’s a section of the backyard/flower garden that had a lot of bare patches after a couple harsh winters. It’s just new to me.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

