Why I Llove Llenny

14 May

I wasn’t sure I’d get another llama after losing Djali.  I still miss that cranky guy, but this spring, I realized how much we needed a llama.  I was hearing coyotes closer and closer to the farm and my barnyard.

coyote at sunrise

old photo from my files

One voice in particular began to stand out.  Each night I’d lay in bed and hear the yipping.  One voice didn’t really fit.  It was more like a dog, but it wasn’t a dog that belonged around here.  It was running with the coyotes.  I began to wonder if it was a mix of coyote and domestic dog, commonly called a coydog.  I was worried about a possibly less shy coyote with my animals, especially with kidding.

Goat and kid_8960aw

It was right about the time we were kidding that I lost a goose from the small pasture where my bucks are.  That’s way too close for comfort.

Gander_8650ew

Shortly after kidding, I woke up one night to Stella barking.  Another dog was barking back, and I recognized it as the same dog that was running with the coyotes.  It was here by itself.  It’s bark is higher and sharper than most dogs.  I dressed quickly, ran downstairs and into the yard.  Under the moon, I could see Stella standing in the northeast corner of the yard, right against the fence.  When I turned on my flashlight, I caught the flash of the other dog’s eyes just on the other side of the fence about fifteen feet away from her.  It disappeared when my light hit it.

Stella

Stella

It was a couple of nights later that this scene repeated.  It kept coming back.  I was afraid that it would continue to grow bolder and actually come into the yard and attack Stella or come into the barnyard and attack the goats.  That’s why I was is such a hurry to find a llama. The dog was back a time or two in that first week that Llenny was on the farm and locked in the greenhouse.  My son even came to try and shoot it (long story).  No luck.

Llenny

Llenny

llama_8461w

llama_8564w

Last Sunday, we moved Llenny north, close to where the dog was challenging Stella.  I heard the dog the next night.  But it was gone before I could even get out of bed.  I haven’t heard it since, and the whole pack of coyotes have not been coming near as close.  I just hear them in the distance.

llama_8767ew

llama_8868w

That’s why I llove Llenny.  I just hope they keep to the wild places instead of coming up to my barnyard and house.

Sharing with Good Fences.

36 Responses to “Why I Llove Llenny”

  1. Mary Ann Yoder May 14, 2015 at 5:15 pm #

    I love coyotes, even though they got some of my chickens… but…. I would be afraid of a coydog… I admit it. My vet told me one time it was a dangerous mix.
    Lenny is beautiful, by the way!

    • Teresa May 14, 2015 at 5:20 pm #

      I don’t mind the coyotes too much. They are pretty shy and don’t hang around, but this one was challenging Stella.

  2. TexWisGirl May 14, 2015 at 5:23 pm #

    glad he’s already a good deterrent!

    • Teresa May 14, 2015 at 5:24 pm #

      His presence is enough to keep them safe!

  3. Pat May 14, 2015 at 5:49 pm #

    He’s beautiful.

    • Teresa May 14, 2015 at 10:15 pm #

      I certainly think so.

  4. Freda Mans May 14, 2015 at 6:02 pm #

    Perfect policing from Llenny! You might get peace now.

    • Teresa May 14, 2015 at 10:15 pm #

      I am sleeping much better!

  5. Jan May 14, 2015 at 6:08 pm #

    Oh, I love your Llenny too. He is just gorgeous! And hoping he keeps away any predators. Great pictures!

    • Teresa May 14, 2015 at 10:15 pm #

      He has been doing a great job at keeping them away!

  6. Patty Leonard Woodland May 14, 2015 at 6:09 pm #

    He is a magnificent animal. I just love how llamas look so superior. Glad he’s doing his job. We have wolves across the river. We hear them howling in the night.

    • Teresa May 14, 2015 at 10:16 pm #

      If they stayed across the river, that would be fine. Challenging Stella at the fence is not acceptable.

  7. Claire Moxon May 14, 2015 at 6:33 pm #

    Stand-out performance, Llenny! Keep it up! (and keep on growing that gorgeous fleece!)

    • Teresa May 14, 2015 at 10:17 pm #

      I have someone that is supposed to come shear him. I’m just not sure when.

  8. hedgewitch May 14, 2015 at 6:55 pm #

    Hopefully you will be able to sleep a little sounder, Teresa, now that Llenny is on the job. So glad he is working out–he is so noble-looking!

    • Teresa May 14, 2015 at 10:17 pm #

      I am sleeping much better!

  9. LaVoice May 14, 2015 at 7:12 pm #

    They are interesting animals and pretty in their own way.

    • Teresa May 14, 2015 at 10:18 pm #

      They are certainly interesting looking, but I’m very pleased to have him here scaring away the predators.

  10. Jeanne May 14, 2015 at 8:26 pm #

    YAY Llenny! Keep up the good work, lad! I, too, am glad you got him! When you have him sheared, does the shearer keep the fleece? Our daughter spins all kinds of fibers. Her faves are merino, llama and alpaca. I can wear those, but not a lot of other types.

    • Jeanne May 14, 2015 at 8:34 pm #

      Oops! I made a booboo! #1 Daughter has NOT spun any llama fleece! But she said she would surely love to have some of Llenny’s fleece to try!! 🙂

      • Teresa May 14, 2015 at 10:18 pm #

        Well, his fleece is already sold when/if the gentleman actually gets here to shear him.

    • Teresa May 14, 2015 at 10:18 pm #

      I’ll get the fleece. I believe I already have it sold.

  11. S. J. Qualls May 14, 2015 at 10:41 pm #

    Lenny seems like he’s earning his keep! Keep up the good work, fella!

  12. Margaret May 14, 2015 at 11:25 pm #

    Well done Llemy

  13. Pat @ Mille Fiori Favoriti May 15, 2015 at 12:08 am #

    The coyotes here have plenty of voles and rabbits to eat in the open space grasses, so they mostly stay away from populated areas, although I did see one run throughg my backyard once ! Llenny is beautiful! What gorgeous fur he has!

    • Teresa May 15, 2015 at 11:35 am #

      I am in the country, so this is their territory. I just don’t want them in my barnyard with the geese and goats. They can eat all the little critters out of the pasture. 🙂

  14. Eileen May 15, 2015 at 2:20 am #

    Kudos to Llenny! I hope the coyotes and the Coydog stay away now that Llenny is there.. He is beautiful. Happy Friday!

    • Teresa May 15, 2015 at 11:36 am #

      I hope so too. Stella’s too old for that kind of stress.

  15. Mama Zen May 15, 2015 at 8:10 am #

    I didn’t know llamas scare off coyotes!

    • Teresa May 15, 2015 at 11:36 am #

      They make excellent guard animals!

  16. Texan May 15, 2015 at 9:53 am #

    Llenny is quite the handsome fella! Beautiful actually. Coyotes are worrisome for sure, we have a lot of them here as well.

    • Teresa May 15, 2015 at 11:36 am #

      You need a llama! 😉

  17. Karen Seek May 15, 2015 at 10:03 am #

    Would Llenny fight with them? or does he just look like he would kill them? He is really an awesome animal — glad you are sleeping better !

    • Teresa May 15, 2015 at 11:36 am #

      A lady that lives near me actually had her llamas kill a coyote that was in with her sheep. They are tough!

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

