Birds from Tonight’s Walk

12 May

On my way out to see how Llenny was doing with the goats, I found this bird.  It kept flirting with me and staying just out of range of getting a good shot.  Finally, it sat still in the field.  It didn’t help me figure out what it was though.  Anyone know?

Bird_9256ew

I did see the goats and llama looking pretty content eating all that grass, but they came when they saw me.

herd in pasture_9263ew

Since I was right by Mrs. Canada Goose, I decided to see if she was still there.  I’m hoping she’s used to me keeping my distance, so she won’t be freaked out and attack me when I want to take pictures of her babies.

Canada Goose_9284ew

When I turned around, I startled another bird.  I don’t know what it is either.  Anyone? Anyone?

bird_9285ew

Bird_9286ew

Bird_9288ew

Finally, when I was coming back to the house, I saw a bright flash of blue.

Bluebird_9301ew

I certainly know a bluebird when I see one.

bluebird flying_9309ew

Love seeing that bright blue flash across the sky and pasture.

Sharing with Wild Bird Wednesday.

28 Responses to “Birds from Tonight’s Walk”

  1. Anonymous May 12, 2015 at 8:02 pm #

    I enjoy your adventures every evening. How is Bud no mention lately. Keep your pictures and commentary coming.

    • Teresa May 12, 2015 at 8:13 pm #

      Bud is doing well. I guess that’s a good thing that I haven’t had any bad news to focus on. I’ll have to make sure to get some photos of him up soon.

  2. Freda Mans May 12, 2015 at 8:13 pm #

    No idea what that first bird is, but it’s pretty!

    • Teresa May 12, 2015 at 8:14 pm #

      I thought so too. I like the white outlining it’s tail.

  3. TexWisGirl May 12, 2015 at 8:35 pm #

    first one’s an eastern kingbird. i think the flying one is a meadowlark.

    • Teresa May 12, 2015 at 9:04 pm #

      I wondered if it was a young meadowlark because it wasn’t flying well. I didn’t see the bright yellow belly either. I knew you’d know! Thank you!

  4. Jan May 12, 2015 at 8:48 pm #

    Beautiful pictures of the birds. Love the birds.Yes on getting pictures of baby geese! 🙂

  5. Squidtea May 12, 2015 at 9:20 pm #

    I didn’t know what the first bird was, but I would definitely say that the second one was a young meadowlark. How cool!

    • Teresa May 12, 2015 at 9:50 pm #

      I knew it was where I had seen so many of the adults, but I’ve not seen a young one before.

  6. pattisj May 12, 2015 at 9:31 pm #

    I thought E. Kingbird for the first, glad to see TexWis confirmed. Clueless on the second. It’s surprising how that blue shows up so well.

    • pattisj May 12, 2015 at 9:34 pm #

      Oh, and I forgot–I love how the entire herd comes to greet you. You are loved!

      • Teresa May 12, 2015 at 9:51 pm #

        It’s mutual. I adore them too.

    • Teresa May 12, 2015 at 9:51 pm #

      It’s hard to miss those bluebirds! I thought the first one might be a kingbird, but I really was just guessing.

  7. Margaret May 12, 2015 at 10:40 pm #

    I love how your herd comes to greet you when they see you. Glad the llama is getting on with the goats.

    • Teresa May 13, 2015 at 8:01 am #

      Llenny seems really happy, and the goats are adjusting to him being with them as well.

  8. Adam May 12, 2015 at 11:52 pm #

    Some very nice birds. Like the Bluebird.

  9. Eileen May 13, 2015 at 3:15 am #

    Great birds and images. I agree with Tex on the id’s.. The Eastern Kingbird and a Meadowlark are great birds.. Have a happy day!

    • Teresa May 13, 2015 at 8:02 am #

      I am so glad you ladies can help me with those bird identifications! Thank you.

  10. Latane Barton May 13, 2015 at 7:06 am #

    I have no idea what your bird is. Nice to see the bluebird, though. I don’t get to see many of those.

    • Teresa May 13, 2015 at 8:02 am #

      I always like seeing the bluebirds. They are so cheerful!

  11. Anonymous May 13, 2015 at 12:03 pm #

    I think the first bird might be a black capped Chickadee

  12. Jeanne May 13, 2015 at 2:47 pm #

    Never having seen an Eastern Kingbird, I had no clue. I’m surprised your Meadowlark young ones would be so large already! That’s so great, the way your goatie friends come to greet you! Did Llenny come too? I’m so glad it’s working well for him and the goats. I forgot to mention that I was a little surprised that you’re thinking of getting him a girfriend. When I’ve seen the llamas here in our area, it’s always only one, with the sheep. I love reading about your walks!

    • Teresa May 13, 2015 at 8:32 pm #

      If he had been raised as a livestock guardian animal, I probably wouldn’t think of it. He wants to be part of a herd, but I’m not sure he’ll truly bond with the goats at his age. My last llama always seemed a bit lonely. He was about the same age when he came to the farm.

  13. Marie-AZ May 13, 2015 at 5:07 pm #

    Great birds! I actually knew the meadowlark…shocked myself. 🙂

    • Teresa May 13, 2015 at 8:34 pm #

      I can see it after everyone told me, but when I was out in the pasture, I didn’t see the yellow.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

