Some Monday Randomocity

11 May

My beans were planted yesterday before the rains came.  That’s a good thing.  I’m not looking forward to a good farming year because prices are way down, but I hope it will still make my farm payment.  With the beans getting planted before the rains came sweeping across the plains, it makes me think Oh What a Beautiful Morning.  I don’t want to make light of the severe weather that passed through my state and elsewhere yesterday.  I’m very grateful that we did not receive any damaging storms here.

Jeremy Farmer ew

planter collage w

Last night, I had to have the (new) vet come out and look at Bambi.  She ripped her udder.  It’s much better after being stitched up.

udder injury

dairy goat_9040ew

Llenny seems to think it’s fun out in pasture.

llama collage

Last night, I heard a noise and figured out he was sounding the alarm.  When I went to check out what he was upset about, I found it was a deer.

llama

I’m going to quit listening to that boy if all he gets upset about is Stella and deer.

Sharing with The Good. The Random. The Fun., Song-ography where the song of the week is Rodgers and Hammerstein’s Oh What a Beautiful Morning from Oklahoma!, and Mosaic Monday.

49 Responses to “Some Monday Randomocity”

  1. Mary Ann Yoder May 11, 2015 at 6:02 pm #

    Oh, gosh… I think it’s so good he alerted you! Wait to go, Lenny!

    • Teresa May 11, 2015 at 6:04 pm #

      I’m amazed at how quick he is to sound the alarm, and he was very concerned about Bambi when the vet was here working on her.

  2. Freda Mans May 11, 2015 at 6:42 pm #

    At least he knows what to do. 🙂

    • Teresa May 11, 2015 at 6:48 pm #

      Yep. I had my last llama for 11 years and never heard him do that alarm sound.

  3. Donna@Gardens Eye View May 11, 2015 at 7:15 pm #

    Glad you did not have severe storms…we have been getting lots of thunder and lightening but no hail so far here….beautiful pastures.

    • Teresa May 11, 2015 at 7:22 pm #

      Thanks, Donna. Hope you stay safe!

  4. Tamar May 11, 2015 at 7:32 pm #

    Poor thing and her udder – bet that was painful!!

    • Teresa May 11, 2015 at 7:35 pm #

      I’m sure it was. She was so good about us working on it.

  5. pattisj May 11, 2015 at 7:39 pm #

    I’ll have to see if there’s a You Tube video of a llama alarm. Now I’m curious. Just thinking of a torn udder hurts! Hope Bambi is OK. Glad you got the beans in, and the severe weather missed you.

    • Teresa May 11, 2015 at 7:48 pm #

      I posted a link to Llenny sounding the alarm when he saw Stella yesterday. HERE

      • pattisj May 11, 2015 at 9:06 pm #

        Thanks, I’ll check it out! I’m behind–again.

  6. DeniseinVA May 11, 2015 at 8:08 pm #

    Lenny is such a handome guy, he can come and sound the alarm in my place any time he wants to. Mind you, I don’t think he would be happy with the size of our yard. Hope it doesn’t take Bambi too long to heal. Everything looks so green out there, not a bright golden haze on the meadow, not a bright golden haze on the meadow, but I think I can see an elephant’s eye, or something like that. Sorry, couldn’t resist.

    • Teresa May 11, 2015 at 9:03 pm #

      He might think he’s in llama heaven with the whole Back Forty to call his own.

  7. TexWisGirl May 11, 2015 at 8:08 pm #

    glad he’s sounding the alarm, though. we missed the worst of the storms and it hit just a bit east of here last night. so sad for so many.

    • Teresa May 11, 2015 at 9:04 pm #

      Glad you’re safe. We had tornadoes not too far from us too. Scary.

  8. Nicki May 11, 2015 at 8:12 pm #

    So glad you didn’t suffer the horrible storm and glad Bambi is doing better (and might I add “ouch”!).

    • Teresa May 11, 2015 at 9:04 pm #

      Bambi appreciates the “ouch.” I’m relieved we didn’t have damage.

  9. Jan May 11, 2015 at 8:55 pm #

    Sorry about Bambi;hoping she gets along alright. So happy Llenny is doing his job & staying put for certain! So very happy you got him! Glad you got your beans done too. Not much I like about this wind & cooler weather,but we could have had alot worse & I thank God we didn’t!

    • Teresa May 11, 2015 at 9:05 pm #

      Bambi is doing quite well. I’m amazed at how well Llenny is doing. Now I need to find him a girlfriend. With all the severe weather, I’m not going to complain about this wind and cooler temperatures (but frost chances. really?)

  10. judith@Lavender Cottage May 11, 2015 at 9:10 pm #

    Haha, I had to come back because I got sidetracked watching YouTube cuteness of your goats – and to hear Lenny.
    Poor thing with the torn udder hope it heals soon.
    Thanks for linking to Mosaic Monday Teresa.

    • Teresa May 11, 2015 at 9:15 pm #

      Glad you enjoyed the videos. 🙂 Bambi is doing much better. Thanks for hosting!

  11. Karen S. May 11, 2015 at 10:57 pm #

    Oh no ouch, hope it’s all better quickly! Great photos of all!

    • Teresa May 12, 2015 at 7:40 am #

      She’s doing better, but the stitches will be in for quite a while.

  12. Margaret May 12, 2015 at 12:04 am #

    Pity about the udder but it looks like it is getting better. Llemy is doing good and are you really going to get a female for him?

    • Teresa May 12, 2015 at 7:41 am #

      If a female fell into my possession, I would certainly take her. It’s not a high priority for the farm, but it would be nice.

  13. Gattina May 12, 2015 at 1:23 am #

    I think I should take a llama the best alarm ever ! On top the burglars would be frightened !

    • Teresa May 12, 2015 at 7:41 am #

      I think he intimidated the vet when he was trying to get in where we were working on Bambi’s udder. I certainly want to stay on his good side. 😉

  14. Leovi May 12, 2015 at 2:23 am #

    Yes, I wish you a good harvest, pretty pictures!

  15. buckeroomama1 May 12, 2015 at 3:36 am #

    Lenny is the quite a character, isn’t he? ;p

    • Teresa May 12, 2015 at 7:41 am #

      He is. I’m lloving my Llenny!

  16. tomthebackroadstraveller May 12, 2015 at 4:14 am #

    Tes those cows don’t turn their heads as they see you ride by!

    • Teresa May 12, 2015 at 7:42 am #

      No head turning here.

  17. Eileen May 12, 2015 at 4:44 am #

    I wish you a happy harvest.. Llenny takes his job very serious and is great at sounding the alarm.. He is so cute..Have a happy day!

    • Teresa May 12, 2015 at 7:43 am #

      Thanks, Eileen. He’s very quick to sound the alarm.

  18. itsallaboutpurple May 12, 2015 at 8:05 am #

    what a beautiful farm…..lenny sure is an asset. it’s amazing how smart they can be!!!!

    • Teresa May 12, 2015 at 10:29 am #

      He really is a great asset to the farm, keeping the goats safe.

  19. Karen Seek May 12, 2015 at 10:27 am #

    llenny is just so cute but apparently noisy lol– your place is looking so green now– the pasture is beautiful– how many acres do you have there??? Love the goats !!

    • Teresa May 12, 2015 at 10:30 am #

      He can be noisy. I have 75 acres; they have close to 40 acres of pasture.

  20. EG CameraGirl May 12, 2015 at 12:03 pm #

    Llenny is just doing his job. lol

    Glad none of the bad weather has affected you negatively.

    • Teresa May 12, 2015 at 12:07 pm #

      We’ve been very lucky weather-wise. Llenny is awesome!

  21. Sallie (FullTime-Life) May 12, 2015 at 3:35 pm #

    Poor Bambi — that hurts to think about. Your llama is absolutely beautiful and I hope he learns to distinguish between the normal and the real dangers.

    • Teresa May 12, 2015 at 8:12 pm #

      I’m sure his idea of danger and mine are a bit different. LOL Bambi is doing quite well.

  22. Pat May 12, 2015 at 6:39 pm #

    I don’t think I’d want to tangle with Llenny.

    • Teresa May 12, 2015 at 8:12 pm #

      I know I wouldn’t want to.

  23. kmcblackburn May 13, 2015 at 7:37 am #

    Glad to hear you’ve been spared the horrific weather that has been happening. Thanks for sharing at Song-ography.

    • Teresa May 13, 2015 at 8:02 am #

      It has certainly been a wild weather week.

  24. Jeanne May 13, 2015 at 2:15 pm #

    OWIE! Poor Bambi! I hope it heals up well! And I hope you have good crops this year! YAY for Llenny! I wish I could borrow him to keep the stray/or neighbor’s cat out of our yard!! I’ll bet his alarm call would do the trick! Of course, the people of the City of Oakridge would NOT like having a llama in town! I’m so happy you got him, and that he’s doing such a great job. I got a chuckle out of the thought of him being so concerned about the vet working on Bambi!

    • Teresa May 13, 2015 at 8:31 pm #

      Llenny doesn’t seem to mind cats. Glad that he’s okay with mine, but I have neighbor cats that I’d like to keep out too.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

